We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Haggis Hostels to your Saves list
Haggis Hostels
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland (Princes Street and Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hostel itself is a pretty standard hostel, but the people running it is great and the location is really good especially if you are here for Fringe. It's bascally right down near the heart of the festival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    54
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
9
128
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I chose this hostel for my son's recent stay in Edinburgh because it was a very short walk to and from the train station, and to other interesting things downtown. The staff was friendly, the free breakfast was appreciated, even if it was simple fare. Room was clean and comfortable. It was in a bit of a dark alley, but it wasn't at all scary.... current construction made it a bit hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very friendly, very clean and comfortable place to stay during the festival. A great location just minutes away from Waverley station. Made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hostel is cheap, clean, breakfast is included and a they provide a soft bed to sleep in. The staff were very helpful, and for a minimal fee it's ok to store your bag after checking out. The stairs were a bit of a struggle though, it's a long haul with a heavy bag.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Other than nearly 100 stairs from G/F to the hostel, everything is fine with me. Actually, there's a notice written on the wall that I can call for help by taking a heavy luggage up to the hostel. Thus, it's good and staff are nice and helpful, they took my luggage down to G/F on the day I left. Besides, toilets, bathroom, kitchen are clean though my bedroom is small. People behave themselves, they clean utensils and dry the floor after shower. It's a nice place to stay and I stayed there for three nights (31st July to 2nd August). Unfortunately, people were drunk and chatted and shouted downstairs at around 3am or 4am on the first night probably the fridge festival but I guess it's not an usual case. One thing that I am not happy is I had to pay for Wifi in the hostel, towel for shower and the locker in the room (GBP$5 for three nights, GBP$4 for two nights).

Room Tip: Since there's fridge festival in August, you can choose 10-mixed room as you can see fireworks d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've been there 2 nights in July and my stay was quite good. The position is really good, located in Princes Street, just in front of the North Bridge. It takes almost two minutes to reach all the main city attractions. Then, it is very close to many cheap restaurants and just 5 minutes walking from a big Sainsbury's (the hostel is equipped with a kitchen, so you can cook your own food).

Upon my arrival, I was given clean bed sheets, but I had to make my bed by myself. I stayed in a 10-people room equipped with 5 bunk beds and with just a small window at the end. The space for luggage was not enough (not to mention that there is no lift and three floors to get on) and there is no room for your stuff, unless you rent a locker. Except few inconveniences, the room and the bed was comfy and okay.

The toilets are not enough for all the people, however there is a good number of showers. The breakfast is poor, just consisting of bread, croissants, butter, jams and some fresh fruits. The way you have to share butter and jams is totally unhygienic: big jars are placed in the tables and everyone has to serve himself with his own spoon. Then, you have to wash the stuff you used and there is no service.

The hostel charge you a £0.50 fee for every transaction with credit or debit card. I was quite disappointed because I had to pay an unauthorised deposit of 10% (even if it was not included in my reservation through Booking.com) with my credit card that I gave only as guarantee and an unauthorised transaction fee of £0.50, then another £0.50 fee to complete my payment with my UK debit card. In total, they charge me £1 without authorisation. Then, they ask a £10 deposit for the key and a £3 deposit for a bed lamp, refundable on departure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pro: Location is good, walking distance to train station and city center,
Shower room is excellent, with separate compartment of dry and wet space.

Con:I had very bad experience with the reception staff. He assigned me to 10-ppl dorm room instead of 4-ppl room i booked. I raised this issue few times but failed in arguement because the confirmation email did not state the room type details. LESSON LEARNT: Pls double confirm with them on room type.
Christopher (CEO of Haggis) responded to me after i filed the complaint after the trip. He made sincere apologize and i accepted it. I hope they will improve the booking system and staff attitude as promised.

Luggage storage fee: they charged 2pound per luggage, which is kinda absurb. I never see any hostel charge for keeping luggage after check out.

WIFI is not free. (UK hostels need to improve on this. hostels elsewhere in the world all free WIFI)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Address: 5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haggis Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.