We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haggis Hostel

Save Saved
You added Haggis Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haggis Hostel
5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Kunming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I like this hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great location in the city centre, very clean rooms, fully equipped kitchen, helpful staffs, friendly and funny roommates. I have no more requirements to this lovely hotel. If I still have a chance go back to Edinburgh, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    33
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
7
82
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

It's next to a major construction site and a 7 night per week night club. The free ear plugs only help so much.
The dorms and facilities are squeezed in. Very cramped.
You have to carry your bag up several flights of stairs.
Baggage storage after check out is 2 pounds.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Haggis Hostel was the first hostel I've ever stayed. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The travelers were nice and decent. The room with lockers was secure and clean. I like their kitchen a lot, well equipped and modern. I liked the location too, just off Princess st.. I flew in Edinburgh. It was easy to get to the hostel from the airport.

The only downside is rooms are quite small. However, it is very cozy which brings everyone closer.

The stairs were a bit of a work-out; however, if you travel with a backpack like what I did, you will be totally fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean place (greatest plus!) on 3rd floor (small staircase) of an old building, perfect location: very close to Waverley Station (where airport bus stops) and North Bridge, just one block off great shopping area Princes St.; Sainsbury (grocery store), McDonald's and other snack/ eating places just around the corner or within 5 minutes walking distance, area rather quiet, rooms pretty small but good bunk beds and very good bedding/ blankets, sufficient heat in the rooms, warm showers, clean toilets, very good breakfast for the price (!), kitchen for free use with good cooking utensils and 2 fridges, 2 public PCs incl. internet access available, very friendly and helpful staff, open 24/7 - fully refundable deposit for room 25 pounds, for room key 10 pounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent location close to bus station, train station and connection to the airport! Amazing staff always willing to help! Overall a great place to stay in Edinburgh! I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haggis Hostel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you Gaspar for your positive feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you are able to stay at Haggis Hostels again in the future.
Many Thanks from all the staff at Haggis Hostels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice hostel with friendly staff, clean rooms, and good facilities. The location on Princes St is easy to find from Waverley Station, and it's also a bit quieter compared to the Royal Mile yet still very much walkable to all the Edinburgh attractions.

Just be warned, however: it's a bit of a steep climb up the stairs with heavy luggage, and the metal handrail has a few sharp edges on it that can cut your hand, so be careful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haggis Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Haggis Hostels and hope you are able to return. We will look in to the issue with the handrail and are more than happy to assist yourself or any other travellers with there luggage should they need help with the stairs.
Thanks again.
The Haggis Hostels Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Location in the city centre, thats really good! I was surprised by the hospitalily of the guy working there. Very clean but small rooms. You have to carry your suitcase up the stairs yourself. So that might me heavy :) Coffee and tea for free and free WiFi for students (if you're not, £3 a day).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haggis Hostel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Christa,
Thank you for your positive feedback. When you return please give us a call and we will gladly come down stairs to assist you with your luggage. This goes for all of our guests. We understand that the stairs can be a struggle with heavy bags and are always happy to help.
So glad you enjoyed your stay!!!
Kindest Regards,
The Haggis Hostels Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haggis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostel

Address: 5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's newest hostel, and with the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh, we should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building, and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Haggis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haggis Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.