We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kind of find that makes your day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Ettrick Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Ettrick Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The kind of find that makes your day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found this hotel while walking around the Granville Terrace area of Edinburgh. We noticed that this facility had a solarium area that looked like a restaurant and so we looked closer and low and behold it was the Royal Ettrick Hotel. We went into the bar/restaurant area and sat down for a break. I ordered a Bitter & Twisted Blonde Beer (tall) and sipped on it while I relaxed in the bar. My wife went off to find some reading material and came back with several vegetarian related magazines.
We had a look at the restaurant lunch menu and decided to stay for lunch, which was a great decision. I had an appetizer of haggis, meeps and tatties and this was my first try at haggis. It is not to be forgotten. I also had a brie dish that was out of this world. My wife had a wonderful entree as well and we even had a chat with the chef about the contents of haggis. All the staff were wonderful and we'd go back to the Royal Ettrick Hotel and restaurant if we are back in Edinburgh. It used to be a ship captain's estate and it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    23
    18
    14
See reviews for
26
53
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here 26-28th july for our anniversary. Lovely big room and clean. Bed really comfy with extra soft pillows. Met the owners Ann and Jim who were warm , friendly and helped us make the most of our stay with tips on buses and local knowledge. Breakfast was freshly made to order with a good range to suit everyone. Whatever we asked for was no trouble. Left the car at the hotel as the bus stop is practically on the doorstep. Will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is the place to stay if you are visiting Edinburgh.

The Staff are friendly, attentive and make you at ease.

Food is Great, and plenty of it, with a select menu.

The rooms are spacious, and well catered for, and the beds comfortable.

We would recommend this Hotel to anyone, and will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We paid £97 for 2 of us to stay a night at the Hotel Etterick, this was booked in January 13,
so it wasn't that they were given short notice.
On arrival booking in took quite a while for someone to appear at the reception desk.
We were allocated a tiny little box room on the second floor that only had a skylight window [which was closed and too high for us to reach it].
The temperature in the room was immense, and we were only supplied with a fan, which was of little or no use.
The room was tiny and cramped. The bathroom was little more that a broom cupboard size, fitted with a [noisy] saniflow toilet and sink that you constantly bumped into when trying to move around and a sliding door that had no internal handle and just by luck didn't shut properly.
There were no complimentry biscuits supplied with the tea & coffee.
I asked at reception to be moved but was told there were no rooms available.
The friendliness and helpfullness of the staff are their saving grace.
The breakfast was ok, but not what I would call a full scottish though! Although Haggis was offered on the menu we didn't get any or even offered an explanation as to it's absence. Overall I would not rush to recommend this hotel to anyone unless you are guaranteed a decent room with windows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown point, in
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel was clean. Outside of that it was a disappointment. When we went to check in, we waited at the front desk for about 10 awkward minutes before anyone came to help us. The decor was depressing and outdated. It appeared they went to local garage sales and randomly picked out the furniture. The carpet in our rooms had visible stains. The breakfast was okay but nothing to rave about. Overall we were not impressed and probably would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You'll get a good Scottish breakfast, cooked to order which you can enjoy in the conservatory style dining room. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Morningside, relatively far from Princes Street and the town centre for walking there, but within easy reach by bus. The staff are helpful and the gardens and hotel and well maintained. It is an old house, modified into a hotel, so the rooms are varied. Those on the first floor are the original rooms of the house and have muolded plaster cielings and some have great views across to Fife across the Firth of Forth but they'll cost you more. Executive rooms are in an extension and are more modern. Standard rooms are under the roof and will feel cramped if you are tall. If you are staying in one of them, take care to ask about what you are getting.

Room Tip: Ask about specific rooms when booking. Avoid rooms under the roof if you are tall or feel claustrop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had stayed here for just one night along with my friends. The location is good, convenient to reach and easy to locate. I liked the courtesy of Hotel staff, breakfast was good. They could just improve on the quality of locks. I was trying to lock the door and the knob itself came out of the door :(.

Room Tip: Quality of door could be improved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Ettrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Budget Places, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Ettrick Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.