We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite holiday inn of all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland (Murrayfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #102 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Fort William, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Our favourite holiday inn of all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after yet another brilliant stay in the holiday inn. We were welcomed in by Dawn who was very efficient but friendly at the same time. We then went to our room which was as usual spotless and the bed, well so comfy. We like the normal size double bed as we get lost in the kingsize. Had a lovely evening, chilling, in and around Edinburgh taking it all in. In the morning after a great kip went to breakfast. Here we were looked after by Agnieszka, who was lovely and nothing a problem. I wanted kippers but they weren't on the menu anymore so I asked Agnieszka if it would be possible. I in turn went to ask Magdal who then got Andy the breakfast chef if I could get any. He very kindly obliged and proceeded to bring me a pair of beautifully cooked kippers accompanied by two poached eggs. I appreciated this as the hotel was very busy and yet the staff still manage to pull out all the stops for their customers. I did miss seeing Hamish at breakfast but I'll see him the next time which will be very soon. I would and do recommend this hotel all the time. The parking is also good, the gym, swimming pool etc I've not made to them yet. The bus service is also regular and reasonable. Thank you x

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh,
We are very pleased to read that you have chosen to stay with us again and your stay not only was relaxing but our Team also ensured that everything you required was catered for.
I will ensure all the staff that you have personally mentioned are recognised for their efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    581
    312
    89
    46
See reviews for
344
469
56
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Plenty of car parking space and a friendly welcome at reception. We were on the 4th floor and our room was well appointed. Bathroom a little tired and in need of upgrading. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and lots of choices. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are pleased to read that you would stay here again after an enjoyable experience.
All feedback is gratefully received and we have many refurbishment projects that we are in the process of at the moment.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The gym is very nice! didn't use the pool or spa.
The food I did not like at all - it was set meals!!! Breakfast was the only time i had a choice of what I could eat. I've not been able to eat cheese cake since.

Went here with friends and it was very nice!
Very clean! no noisy / annoying neighbours!
Staff was nice and to them selves (they didn't disturb us).
Great view of the chimp enclosure from my room.
It's very nice waking up to the sounds of the zoo animals !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is great to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and out team looked after you well during your stay.
We are disappointed that the evening meal option was not to your liking and had we have know we could have organised something to your taste.
We do hope that we can welcome you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a family room. We booked through super breaks and got a really good rate that included breakfast and dinner on the first night.

The room was a decent size and at a quiet end of the top floor. The sofa bed was opened and made up to 2 single beds so perfect for our children.

I didn't have high expectations for the dinner but the buffet was pretty ok. Plenty of choice and fruit/vegetables for adults and children. The real surprise was the dining room for dinner and breakfast looked out over the edinburgh hills. Absolutely superb view and made it a lovely setting to start and end the day.
Breakfast was good, fresh and the pancake machine a hit.

We knew the location right next to the zoo was a short bus ride to the town centre. This was so easy and made it a cheaper stay than a hotel in the centre.
Children enjoyed the swimming pool and spa tub.

Only complaint was the prices in the cafe bar. £3.50 for a cup of tea really took the mickey. More expensive than an espresso for some hot water and tea bag??

Overall a good stay and would recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed this weekend with family , staff friendly and very helpful. Lovely hotel for the zoo , dinner was fabulous and breakfast plentiful but one SMALL niggle with breakfast which I hope the hotel will take on board.

Breakfast is self service EXCEPT the coffee and tea , no Urn/coffee machine in the breakfast area and you are left to rely on waiters coming with hot drinks , which when busy can be anything up to ten minutes , and when you have just woken up , this is not really satisfactory.

This is in no way a criticism of the waiting staff who are excellent , just the system the hotel operates.

Swimming pool and gym excellent,room was perfect for our needs , as others have said , chargeable wifi is just unacceptable in this day and age , I realise the hotel have addressed this concern in responses to others , but there is no reason why guests should wait until july for free wifi(just STOP charging for it NOW!)

Youngest daughter LOVED the family of bunnies living on the grass in front of the hotel! I hate to make small criticisms when such a great weekend was had , but really , 2 things so easy to fix , a lot of reviews on here complaining about wifi charges , yet the hotel cant just stop the charges before july? Makes little sense to me.

Would return in a heartbeat though , lovely weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that you and your family had a fantastic stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback with regards to tea and coffee service at breakfast and we appreciate that having a self service facility would eliminate the wait for tea and coffee however this is not the safest option and we need to ensure that one of our main focuses is to ensure prompt hot drinks service and I apologise that this has not been the case during your stay.
The WFI change over is line with the whole brand and we as an individual hotel are unable to bring this forward we can understand your frustration.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed 2- 4th May 2014

Just come back from a most enjoyable trip to Edinburgh. I came to this hotel with my husband when we were childless and enjoyed the experience then. This time we returned 2 children later and thought we would see if the experience would live up to our past visit 6 years ago. When we arrived after paying £12.00 + for a taxi from the station ( it's a lot cheaper to get to the hotel by bus at £3.50 per adult, buses 21,26 &31 thats if you are travelling light) we were pleasantly greeted at reception by a lovely team of staff, after a long journey it was just what we needed. We were informed of all the local amenities and every member of staff we encountered were so friendly as though we had been there on several occasions. Our room was a family room it had a double bed, single bed and a sofa bed, we requested a cot and this was very clean unlike hotels we had visited in the past. The room was clean and had everything we needed especially with 2 young boys aged 3 & 2.

Also we were informed that staying at the hotel gave us a 50% discount at the zoo with our key card after 3pm which was very good, especially when there are 4 of you.

The weekend fell on our 6 year anniversary which we mentioned to the hotel reception staff we were given a complimentary drink and a card was delivered to our room from the reception staff. We were very impressed. The staff that served us in the resteraurant paid attention to detail, on occasions bringing us things they knew we wanted but we did not need to request, for example my husband does not like tea or coffee and they remembered and brought him hot chocolate without requesting it, it was just the small things that made a difference.

The menu was great and there was a good variety for adults and children, the standard of food was excellent even for the children and the portion sizes were very good. The children were given activities to do at the table while waiting for their dinner (which was not a long wait by the way)

We took the boys swimming and the pool was very nice and warm but slightly busy at times. We made the most of the gym, sauna and jacuzzi I would recommend that you wear flip flops for the changing rooms.

We will definitely be returning to this hotel on a yearly basis and would recommend the hotel to any family with small children.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are absolutely delighted to read that your stay was as fantastic as it was 6 years ago.
We appreciate you choosing to stay here again and now a different experience with children.
I will ensure your lovely comments are passed on to our Teams.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.bortwhick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a wedding at the zoo. We had spoken to both head office and the hotel directly to ask if we could check in early as check in is usually 2pm and that was when the wedding started.

We were running late and got to hotel about 1.15pm. No rooms were available, so the supervisor authorised an upgraded room for us, which was really nice of her.

Room was fine, spacious, fridge, iron & iron board. Bathroom was small but sufficient, it really had all we needed. Room was clean. Only issue was with the noise - heard a lot from the corridor.

Hotel wanted £100 room only and we booked it as an expedia secret hotel at £60! Result!

Right next to the zoo and about 15 mins by bus to the airport - there is an airport bus that stops outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are pleased to read that you did get an earlier check in to enable you to get ready before attending a wedding and I am pleased that the Receptionist acknowledged your urgency and allocated an available room.
It is also great to read that you managed to find a great price for your stay and we hope to welcome you back again if visiting Edinburgh in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.