We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory Overnight Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland (Murrayfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #101 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reading
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Satisfactory Overnight Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight stop on business. Room was functional and comfortable. Clean and tidy and average Holiday Inn place. Decor was fine and reasonably modern. Handy location for the zoo and Murrayfield.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Edinburgh after your recent stay and for rating the service and cleanliness of the hotel so highly.

If you stay in Edinburgh frequently on business please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to look at preferential corporate rates for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    516
    289
    81
    40
See reviews for
298
407
49
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice property with an excellent location for us near the airport and on bus lines. Three buses serve the Zoo next door, the 12, 26, and 31. All three will get you to Prince’s St and the 31 will get you to North Bridge, which is a closer walk to Old Town. Short waits are the rule for the 20 minute trip.

The hotel’s double bed rooms are completely adequate in size, lighting, electrical outlets, comfort, and amenities, but if you want a view you must ask for a front location. We had a 4th floor room with zero street noise from Corstorphine Road and excellent views.

If you’re driving, parking can be a bit tight, but overnight parking is possible at the zoo lot. They do want you to move your vehicle by 10AM, so that might be a slight hassle. We never saw the hotel car park completely full during our four nights.

Staff is very helpful with directions and information. If you need a boarding pass printed, no need to use the business center, just ask, and staff will take care of it for you in a flash. They are a bit hesitant to allow free in room WiFi, however. Just be pleasantly persistent. They understand that free in room WiFi is the industry standard these days. Plus, IHG will start rolling out free in room WiFi system-wide in July. We stayed in four Holiday Inns in Scotland and this was the only one that slightly resisted free in room WiFi. (We even had free in room WiFi at local properties in Leven and Kirkcaldy as well as other chain hotels in Fort William and Dunfermline.)

We suggest you pass on breakfast and the restaurant as both are overpriced in our opinions. If you want to eat near the hotel, there are small local restaurants about a ten minute walk past the zoo, including a Wetherspoon pub called The White Lady which fit the bill for us one evening.

Overall, we would happily stay at this property again.

Room Tip: High front room for a view. Others will overlook the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It's great to hear the staff understood your needs and catered to your requests so quickly. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Hotel has an impressive frontage and is situated next to Edinburgh Zoo.
Inside it is starting to look tired. The rooms are ok, but nothing a Premier Inn doesn't do for less. If you are to the rear of the hotel you will need to have your window closed due to the zoo's inmates and if you are to the front because of the constant drone of traffic. Finally they have the cheapest pillows (foam) of any hotel I've stayed in, in the last 10 years. If you can get in on a deal, do it, if not don't!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, and especially for rating the service and cleanliness so highly, which we pride ourselves on.

At times, the animals can be heard from the zoo at such close proximity, and many see this as a unique and endearing feature of their stay. I'm sorry to hear that your pillow didn't suit you, we have recently replaced all the pillows in the hotel and even have a pillow menu with both foam and feather pillows offered in both firm and soft variety to find the one that is perfect for you. Our team will do everything we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We do hope to see you again.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have stayed here before due to proximity of Edinburgh office, so didn't particularly choose this hotel more a case of allocated it!

That being said, it ticks the adequate box quite easily.
I did chuckle when at check-in the girl said, 'as one of our Priority Club members, you get a free bottle of water'. Whoopee, really don't bother one thinks. Whoever came up with that idea in a meeting room is a little out of touch.

Room is ok, breakfast is ok, obviously wouldn't stay here if actually visting Edinburgh as a tourist since pretty far out from the City centre.

I haven't got anything bad to say about this hotel but then again nothing particularly good either.
You check in, you stay, eat breakfast and leave and it leaves no lasting impression on you either way.

Perfectly good hotel without any Wow factor.

Room Tip: Possibly not facing the Zoo at the back since I was awoken by some sort of noise kicking off around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review after your recent business trip staying at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. As a Priority Club Rewards member you are still able to collect points, even when staying on business.

I'm glad to learn you are a returning guest, and we hope we can welcome you again in future; whether for business or leisure.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very clean and good value for family of 4.
Only complaint would be the bedding for cot- one very scratchy tartan blanket. My daughter did not sleep at all as she has bad eczema and this just wasn't suitable!
However, good facilities and breakfast, handy location for zoo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.

Its great to hear you found the cleanliness of the room a highlight, and the whole team are delighted to see that you thought highly of the service we provided.

It is a shame to hear your daughter didn't sleep well, it certainly is not the norm to have a scratchy blanket in the cots and I'm surprised to hear this was used. We do have very soft bedding that we use for the cots and I apologise that this was not used for your daughter.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and I hope we can welcome you to the Holiday Inn Edinburgh again in future.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having stayed in a number of Holiday Inns in various countries (including England), we were very disappointed with this ageing hotel that also is too far from the city center to be convenient. The room, and in particular the small bathroom in what was supposed to an executive room (an upgrade for a platinum IHG card member) felt tired and you could hear the toilet flushing in the room above. Management need to invest in this hotel to bring into the modern era.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we always welcome and value the views of our Platinum Priority Club Rewards members.

While there are three frequent bus services from the hotel taking less than 15 minutes to travel the 2.5 miles into the heart of Edinburgh City Centre, I'm sorry to hear you did not find our location convenient for your visit.

Our team are always on hand to give you honest and accurate information ahead of your arrival to help you plan your visit, and I apologise if you were given the impression that were were closer the the city centre.

Many thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel, whether for business or leisure.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now, when visiting the zoo with our son. This time Grandma came along as well and like us, was impressed with the staff - very friendly & helpful( a member of staff was leaving as we came through the door, but still offered us help with our bags). The location is right next door to the zoo, and the bus stop directly outside makes travelling to/from the city centre very easy. Room was clean & bathroom facilities good - bath & shower and plenty of towels.
We used the pool on the last day and this was very quiet - lovely Jacuzzi spa too. Again staff were very helpful, checking on my son in the mens changing room ,without me asking, when I was changed before him. Only downside this time was the restaurant. We had booked dinner bed & breakfast as always - the childrens menu was disappointing as there was a child's buffet rather than a set menu - and it was very basic -chicken nuggets/fishfingers/chips/beans. In the past my son has either had the carvery(not on offer either night of our stay) or child's cottage pie/chilli, and it has always looked like a mini adult meal, tasty & nutritious. Not all children want fishfingers or nuggets!! The adult menu was lovely, however there were only a couple of choices included - everything else cost an extra £2.50 (same with starters & desserts).The price of the other dishes did not vary much from the included dishes so I don't understand why there was so little included. (We have just returned from the Chester Holiday Inn recently - priority club member!- and their restaurant choice was amazing and all included in the price!!) Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice as always but I would probably just book B&B in future so we can all have a good meal.

Room Tip: Never had a proble with room no matter where located
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review. We're all very happy that you were well looked after and that the staff were as helpful as ever in assisting with luggage and looking after your son, and Grandma, of course.

I'm sorry to hear the carvery was not an option during your stay, we normally offer that option over weekends. It seems that we did not make you aware of our full range of dining options during your stay, and I apologise for that. We do have an 'Eat Anytime, Anywhere' scheme which allows you to have a bit more choice for your inclusive meals, opening up options from Sampans Oriental Restaurant as well as from the Bar Menu.

We will certainly take your comments on board and use the feedback to continually improve our service and look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.