We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day by the Zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland (Murrayfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #102 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A day by the Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ideal location -easy parking - next door to the Zoo.(check out the Pandas)
Regrettably only stayed 1 night but will be back for more.
Everything on offer was good but especially the staff - both friendly and helpful at every stage.

Food looked tempting but did not eat there this time.

Room very comfortable and quiet - despite being in the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I'm so happy to hear that you found our team so friendly and helpful. It sounds like the only disappointing part to your stay was that it wasn't long enough.

Next time you stay we will try and convert that temptation of the food into a wonderful dining experience in either Sampans Oriental Restaurant, where we serve Chinese, Thai and Malaysian cuisine, or Traders Restaurant.

I hope you enjoyed the view of the Pentland Hills while being in the front of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    582
    313
    89
    46
See reviews for
344
471
56
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This holiday Inn is in the main very good - I spend on average 2 nights a week in hotels usally hliday inn and without their inhouse chinese restuarant i would of given a 4 star as the service - clean rooms and quality of the rooms are second to none for the price you pay.
Now for the bad bit - Sanpans Chinese restuarant

I did eat here a couple of years ago and i remember it being much better. I started with crispy duck which i found over done and very fatty- The main - Chili beef was OK but nothing to rave about - Worst of all was the service - Very slow.

For the price I paid for a 2 course meal - Very Disappointing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It is great to see a loyal customer of Holiday Inn coming to visit and we're all very happy to hear that you found the cleanliness and quality of the rooms in such a high standard. I hope you have been collecting your Priority Club Rewards points during all these stays.

It is very disappointing to hear that we did not manage to exceed your expectations in Sampans Oriental restaurant. This is normally a highlight to most guests who stay with us and eat here, and I apologise for the service being slow during your meal.

I have passed the comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager who will use your feedback to continue improving our standards moving forward.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is right next door to Edinburgh Zoo, not far from Murreyfield Rugby Stadium, and a 10-15 minute bus ride into the city centre (the bus stop is right outside the hotel and we didn't wait more than 5 minutes for a bus, even in the evening). I would recommend this hotel for the location alone, because it is also on the Airport Express bus route, and it is much cheaper than hotels in the city centre. Ordinary buses cost £1.50 per adult per trip (exact money only, no change given, so save your change beforehand) and the airport bus (very comfy seats, lots of space for cases) is £3.50 per person per trip. The room was a typical Holiday Inn room, with an ironing board, iron, trouser press, kettle and fridge and a room safe. The room also had a large flat-screen TV. There is a fitness centre and pool which gets very busy during school holidays and you are advised to book. The hotel breakfast is 'award-winning' according to information at the hotel. It costs £15.95 per person if you don't pre-book, and £10.95 if you book the day before. It is the usual choice you get in hotel buffet breakfasts, and they offer soy-milk if you ask but didn't mention anything about gluten-free options in the information. They will also cook eggs to order if you ask. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, especially about buses and directions.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It certainly sounds like you utilised our location to your advantage. I hope you managed to enjoy our swimming pool and spa while you stayed, and found that the booking system over the holidays allowed you enough time to enjoy a swim without a huge crowd of people in the pool at one time.

The executive rooms have a number of benefits, including the bathrobes, panoramic views of Pentland Hills, chocolate, short bread, jelly beans, bottled mineral water and more. And, what's best is that even if you book a standard room you can always ask for an upgrade at check-in for only £25.

The team at reception are very happy to hear you found their service to be friendly and helpful and we all hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel has a very interesting location - right next to the zoo (that I didn't have time to visit.)

The rooms were small, but comfortable enough. The bathroom was also rather small.

Whilst the hotel is non-smoking, there was a strong stench of cigarette smoke in the bathroom of my mother's room. The hotel did a good job of removing it for it disappeared the next evening. My compliments to the hardworking staff! Strangely enough, the smell returned by night, leading me to conclude that it might have been something to do with the ventilation or air circulation.

The location is slightly off the heart of the city, but is near a large Tesco (3 bus stops away I think). The breakfast posters were boastful of the standard and quality, but the food (and variety) seemed to contradict them.

Room Tip: One that's non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It's a shame you didn't have time to visit the zoo while you were here, hopefully next time you can stay for a little longer and make use of the unbeatable location.

Sorry to hear that there was a smell of smoke appearing in the bathroom of your mother's room. While it is testament to our housekeeping team that they managed to remove the smell, it is disappointing to hear that it re-occurred. We do take our no-smoking policy very seriously and if a neighbouring guest was found to be smoking in their bathroom a fine will have been levied for the extra cleaning costs. I sincerely apologise that this affected your stay via the ventilation ducts and will ensure we do everything we can to prevent this happening in future.

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked the hotel through a last minute website, one of the deals where you don't know where you are getting until it's booked. My only real issue with the hotel was the size of the room - although I booked a double, it was more a one person double as the bed was more or less up against the wall on one side...when the receptionist asked at check in whether the room was for one or two I really should have guessed! Que a very grumpy person being woken up by moving and kicking the wall!!!

We only stayed for one night and for all the time we spent in the room we decided it would be ok - we were right at the end of a corrider so no noise from people walking past, had an amazing view out over the Pentlands (sadly no zoo view) the bed was big and really comfy and there was a bath. The room was spotlessly clean.

There is free aprking at the hotel and we had no issues getting a space. The bus stop for town is right outside and there were loads of buses so perfect for getting in and out of the city.

All in all I would probably stay here again however would be careful to ensure prior to arrival that the room was meant for 2 people!

Room Tip: Room 212 has an excellent view and no noise from other guests as right at the end of a corrider! Mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We appreciate you submitting a review on your recent stay. We have so many guests loving the view into the Zoo from the higher floors and also a huge amount of requests for the panoramic view of the Pentland Hills to the south as well as the rather picturesque views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthur's Seat to the east.

The only unfortunate thing about the position of our accommodation, is that each room only has one of these equally amazing views. We are more than happy to allocate you a room with your preferred view subject to availability and I certainly hope that you decide to stay with us again, knowing that there is substantial parking free of charge and very close public transport links in and out of Edinburgh City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked an executive room, which was advised by reservations, however received a phone call, saying they would move us to a Family Room which would give us more room at no extra cost and they would make sure that the executive extras would be in the room upon arrival. (However they didn't state it was actually a cheaper room!! Found that out later)

Family of 4, was given one bath robe, 1 bar of chocolate, no soap, 2 bath towels and 1 bottle of water as part of the executive extras!! For a family of 4.

Room was dull, very dated and uninviting. Bathroom had a old stale smell and was not very pleasant. Hotel interior was the same, with the exception of the reception / bar area.

Ordered room service both nights, both nights they got it wrong. They state ' Kids eat free' check your bill very carefully!!!!!. Other meals had also been added to my bill!! So please check before paying.

On the plus side most staff were helpful and pleasant, breakfast was good (Just don't ask for anything that will make the chefs do anything different) reception / restaurant area very pleasant.

They did credit my account, after complaining about kids meals, and the type of room, however this hotel requires a major make over, and was a major disappointment.

I was speaking to a group of Americans, and I could not repeat what they thought of the hotel, lets just say they would not be back!!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel has lovely views, rooms out over the car park are long way from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Firstly let me thank you for writing a review of your recent experience at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. While it is very disappointing to hear that you encountered a number of challenges during your stay, it is certainly valuable feedback for the team and will ultimately help us in continuing to improve our service.

All of us at Holiday Inn Edinburgh pride ourselves with the service we provide, and being as helpful as possible for our guests to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. So thank you for highlighting how helpful and pleasant the team were during your visit.

I apologise that the extras placed in the room did not match the number of guests sleeping there, our housekeeping team did not intentionally under supply you with amenities and can say with confidence that we would have been more than happy to deliver the correct amount of bath robes and towels as soon as we learned of the mistake.

In addition, I am equally disappointed to hear of some errors with your room service orders and hope the quality of the food made up for any delays you encountered. Children under 12 years of age do eat for free when ordering from the 'Kids Menu' and I am sorry if we did not manage to explain this to you at the time; which may have been the reason for the meal your child had being added to the bill. I am glad to hear that we managed to resolve this before you departed so that you were not overcharged for any portion of your stay.

We do aspire to make every guest's stay one to remember, in a much more positive way than your experience. It saddens me to hear of the unfortunate chain of events that occurred on your visit and can only hope this hasn't marred your opinion of our hotel and friendliness of the staff to prevent you from visiting again.

I am confident that should you decide to return with your family we can show you that we are more than capable of catering to your needs and exceeding your expectations. Ensuring your next visit to Edinburgh is just as enjoyable while in the hotel, as it is exploring Auld Reekie itself.

Craig Small
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night while on business in Edinburgh. Checking in was quick rooms are clean and complete without any extras. Breakfast is ok. Long waiting times though while queuing behind 30 Asian tourists. They should find a solution for this. Staff is friendly. All in all value for money. If I would ever return here privately I would be looking for just the extra mile.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Edinburgh for your recent business trip to the city, and for taking the time to submit a review.

We do stagger the groups having breakfast as best we can so that it does not impact on our individual guests, I'm sorry to hear that you had to wait to be seated.

If visiting Edinburgh on business is a regular thing for you, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues again and look at opportunities to discuss any specific preferences you have.

Thanks again,

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.