We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
46 Dreghorn Link | A720 City Bypass, Edinburgh EH13 9QR, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #133 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I had stayed here previously prior to an early flight from Edinburgh Airport and found it very reasonable for the price. This time was no different. We've stayed in a number of Travelodges and, with a few exceptions, have found them to be of a decent standard. We know that the standard is basic and we take our own toiletries, hair dryer etc. The room was clean with a clean and comfortable bed. The room was situated at the rear of the hotel but we were not conscious of any road noise from the adjacent bypass. We had no problems at all with the room.
We must make a special mention of the Irish lady at the reception (sorry, didn't catch her name), she was extremely friendly and helpful, even offering us a choice of rooms, very good customer relations.
All in all we know what to expect with Travelodge and had no complaints with this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    58
    57
    68
See reviews for
87
74
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booked to stay 5 nights on business - first room offered didnt even have a sofa - asked for the quietest room in the hotel because of proximity to Edinburgh bypass traffis noise - i thught i was sleeping on the central reservation. Checked out the next morning and the receptionist said - let me see if i can find you a quiet room - maybe she hadn't heard the my request when i checked in because of all the traffic! Scruffy hotel in need of major clean up. Little Chef next to it was not much better !

Room Tip: got a great lastminute deal at Edinburgh Capital Hotel - stay here instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After booking this Travelodge I then read the reviews - not a great idea. Having stayed at Travelodges before I assumed they all maintained a similar standard. The reviews were not great and we went expecting the worst and armed with cleaning products! Overall our stay was not nearly as bad as anticipated. On the plus side the bed was clean with lovely pillows/duvet. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. The shower was great. Location was very convenient - 10 min walk to the bus stop where the No. 16 takes you into Princess Street. The greatest negative is definitely the standard of overall cleanliness. Our carpet was very stained and needed to be replaced. The bathroom was very dated and full of stains. The room itself felt quite bare and bleak with bare walls and no curtains. The corridors did not look like they had ever been hoovered and this gave an overall impression of this being a run down place to stay. The staff obviously try very hard with what they have but this Travelodge needs a complete refurbishment. I am only amazed that this has not been considered following on from all of the negative reviews!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

good points NONE......Bad points here goes....... Arrived no communication from girl on reception handed the key and that was it .........opened the room door it was like a jungle the windows had been left open all day was freezing cold and the light had been left on!! room was over run by bugs not good when u have a small child i rang up the week before to make sure the correct amount of beds were made up i was assured this would be done wasnt checking in till late and needed to get my child straight to bed no beds were made up went back to reception to ask to be moved no appology and was given another key to room 11 again had to wait 15 mins for extra bedding the carpet had never seen a hoover a big iron burn at the end of the bed tea spilt all over vanity unit and down the wall dirty cups bathroom had hairs all over it floor never been mopped for what looked like months and only one bath towel between 3 people didnt bother complaing again as thought it would be a waste of time ........ forgot to mention on arrival there was a hoover left in reception with the wire across the floor anyone could of tripped on this......next morning i asked for some exta tea bags to wich they were slammed down on reception didnt get much sleep as the door opposite wich i think was a laundry room or office was been slammed shut right through the night......no uniform was worn from the receptionist when we booked in.........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst travelodge I have ever stayed at.

The place is not clean, the corridors and decor are tired and dirty. They obviously don't know how to operate a hoover - room was in need if that. The shower curtain was mouldy, and cleaning products or someone else's shower gel all over the tiles!

Bed was bowed in the middle - no complimentary toiletries!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Good points-clean comfortable bed, good shower
Bad points-not clean, sticky stain on table top, dusty kettle and TV, grouting brown in the bathroom, broken light. I asked for the sofa bed to be made up when I booked online but it was not done. When my husband went to the desk to enquire, he was handed the sheets-expected to make the bed himself. Beds were made on the 2nd day but rubbish not emptied. Our door was also chopped as if someone had tried to break into the room.
Really disappointing for a travelodge. I did not read the reviews in advance as I assumed that travelodge would maintain a certain standard. Obviously I was wrong.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Agency picked this travelodge for me, so I didn't have any say in where to go. It's far too close to the city bypass thus I was kept awake during the nights regularly by traffic speeding by. Poor wifi reception, couldn't even pick up the signal that I'd have had to pay for.....

Prefer not to stay in Travelodges or Premier Inns as everything is extra on top of the room price. £5 for 1 hr of wifi is extortionate. Even a breakfast is about £8, not that I was able to have any as the adjacent Little Chef didn't open till 7 am and I was away to work by that time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn

Address: 46 Dreghorn Link | A720 City Bypass, Edinburgh EH13 9QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn is a non bar cafe site, offering 72 bedrooms set on ground & first floors. The site is situated just off the Edinburgh Dreghorn A720 bypass. Room types: 58 Family Rooms 10 double, 3 twin disabled and 1 Double disabled with additional Z bed if required. All rooms have bath showers including disabled rooms. Facilities: 24 hour reception (Doors locked between 22:00 - 06:00) intercom system to enter after hours Vending machine products. Boxed cold breakfast. Tea, coffee products in room, with additional items available upon request as reception. Equipment available at reception include hair-dryers, irons & ironing boards, cotts, (first come, first serve basis). Local bus services: Lothian buses. Local amenities: Shell Garage on services site. Morrisons supermarket - approx 15 minute walk. Adjacent Little Chef closed since December 2014. New Travelodge DREAMER beds installed. REFURBISHMENT DATE : SPRING 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.