We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
46 Dreghorn Link | A720 City Bypass, Edinburgh EH13 9QR, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #133 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the Edinburgh marathon for two nights. We had two rooms overall, one disabled room (though no guests were disabled but think that is all that was left) and a room opposite, so was pleased our group were close together in hotel. Lovely man on check in. Room was ok, tea and coffee and old style tvs. En suite dated but ok. Double bed was fine and comfy, sofa for our children was uncomfortable though, the pull out bed needs to go as was like sleeping on railway tracks. could so with extra pillows in rooms. Road was noisy but not the hotels fault. No breakfasts but little chef next door was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    58
    57
    68
See reviews for
87
74
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Basic hotel accommodation (Bed and shower) for under £25 per night. Staff were friendly and helpful. On mentioning the noise outside our room, the staff quickly arranged a room move and ensured we had a pleasant stay. The hotel is located at the services on the Edinburgh by pass giving easy access to tourist attractions on the outskirts of Edinburgh but not so easy access to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Sunday 26th may. We booked 2 family rooms after been told by a member of the Travellodge customer service team the hotel was close to the centre of Edinburgh but in all true honesty it's a £15 taxi journey but there is a local bus the no. 16 & a day pass to travel all day is only about £3 but remember to have the right money, the bus drives don't give change! The hotel rooms are very basic, double bed, a sofa bed, tea & coffee facilities, tv & a bathroom. The bed was very comfortable but the sofa bed had to be dusted down for crumbs before my daughter could sleep in it. The bathroom was clean but had a smell of urine aboout it. The hotel is very popular with people traveling on the main motorways through Edinburgh. There is a petrol station & a little chef on the same site. The breakfasts in the little chef were lovely, plenty of choice & much better value for money then the Travellodge. Check in was 3 & check out is 12

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Dreghorn Link Travelodge on the 25th - 26th of May 2013. The hotel location was out of Edinburgh but had great access to the fantastic bus service that Edinburgh provides. The staff at the Travel Lodge were great - they were friendly, helpful and had a great knowledge of the surrounding areas and transport. I had travelled with my husband and in-laws who had a separate room and experienced the same issues as we did.
However, the cleanliness of the hotel was dreadful. There was mould round the window sills. The surfaces including the bedside tables were covered in dust and hairs. Some of the lights didnt work. The bathroom was terrible. The flush on the toilet was broken. There was disgusting mould round the sink and the bath. There was even human boogers on the shower curtain proving that it had not been checked. When we returned to the hotel on the sunday there was only one towel replaced in each of the rooms. When we entered the toilet our coffee cups from that morning were left in the sink still half full of coffee. While I was at reception asking for towels another guest was asking for toilet roll!
Also on return to the hotel at around 10pm on the Saturday night there was large trolleys outside in the car park with all the dirty linen.
For two nights we paid £110 per couple - NOT £19 a night. This is really not acceptable - even for £19 a night.
Earlier in the year we stayed at the Covent Garden Travel Lodge for 3 nights and paid £150 and it was wonderful - no complaints at all. The Dreghorn one needs a good Manager in to sort it out and check on the standards of cleanliness. I work in a hospital and I am frustrated at the standards that we have to maintain and that an establishment that accommodates families etc gets away with such poor standards.

High praise for the helpful staff but 0/10 for cleanliness!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fearn
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are just no words to describe how HORRIBLE this experience was. We had traveled down to EDI for a 3-day event, and we missed the whole event because the hotel was so appalling, and we had to turn around and head home. It was a bank holiday weekend, and most accommodations were booked, so there you have it. This place was noisy, filthy, and disgusting. Husband said Army foxholes were better accommodation. Everything was torn, stained, and filthy. Dead bugs everywhere. And that was what we found in the second, "better" room we took, after being shocked and horrified by the first room they tried to give us. All we can say is, DON'T STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

when the children were small they used to look forward to our travels round the country staying in travelodges. they were always clean,spacious and comfortable. Oh dear! what has happened. This hotel is disgusting and filthy. My room was bare with a stained couch which could not be used, a filthy carpet and they have even replaced the curtains with a ghastly plain blind. I had booked more nights in july and august but have rapidly cancelled. Premier Inn have got their act together. Why would anyone use a Travelodge? certainly not me.

Room Tip: don't bother even thinking of staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights when our dog was in the nearby animal hospital.
When we first arrived we were shocked at the cleanliness of the room we were first given so went straight back down to the reception. The guy working there was very apologetic and grabbed some keys then took us to some other rooms to see if they were any better, they were all just as bad but we chose the cleanest he had and stayed the night. The next day the manageress was working and when we asked her for a better room again she was very helpful and quite ashamed as she had newly taken over that hotel and had not had time to make any changes to the mess she had been given.
The whole place is in such a state of disrepair that I can hardly see how fixing it would be cost effective, as said in other reviews knocking it down and starting again may be a better option.
The thing that really annoyed me was how lazy the cleaners were, the filth throughout the whole hotel in and out the rooms was enough to confirm this but they seemed to be mucking about having a laugh and even sat outside in a group right at the main entrance smoking when we left one day.
It is a shame that the Manageress and the lad working at night when we arrived were so helpful and nice but they are stuck in such poor hotel and must have no control over the other staff who are clearly contributing so much to the demise of this hotel.
I did take photo's but looking at other ones I wont even bother uploading them as they are much of the same showing the filthy toilets, beds, windows. T.v's, kettels, you get the picture :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn

Address: 46 Dreghorn Link | A720 City Bypass, Edinburgh EH13 9QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn is a non bar cafe site, offering 72 bedrooms set on ground & first floors. The site is situated just off the Edinburgh Dreghorn A720 bypass. Room types: 58 Family Rooms 10 double, 3 twin disabled and 1 Double disabled with additional Z bed if required. All rooms have bath showers including disabled rooms. Facilities: 24 hour reception (Doors locked between 22:00 - 06:00) intercom system to enter after hours Vending machine products. Boxed cold breakfast. Tea, coffee products in room, with additional items available upon request as reception. Equipment available at reception include hair-dryers, irons & ironing boards, cotts, (first come, first serve basis). Local bus services: Lothian buses. Local amenities: Shell Garage on services site. Morrisons supermarket - approx 15 minute walk. Adjacent Little Chef closed since December 2014. New Travelodge DREAMER beds installed. REFURBISHMENT DATE : SPRING 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.