We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our two night stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
Moto Service Area, A1 | Old Craighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #138 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Brandon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our two night stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We found u after the prem/inn let us down, After traveling up from brandon in suffolk eng/ld. Your trl/ldg was a welcome site as we did not know this part of scotland very well, The staff were very polite & friendly & provided us with all we asked for , The rooms were comf/tbl & clean & quiet
just what we needed. So i say thankyou to u & your staff. p.s you also saved us forty pounds.

mr & mrs R J SMITH

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    36
    46
    34
    47
See reviews for
55
61
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Literally 15-20 mins from central Edinburgh (We were driving in) this Lodge offers basically half price accomodation to similar hotels in central Edinburgh.
We found it clean, comfortable and quiet being located in a tucked away service station with a free car park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for one night en route to the Borders. Ran out of battery on my phone as I approached, in the dark, via the A1. I was glad I had looked at a map before leaving home in the morning, as it was not that easy to find. Perhaps easier to approach from Musselburgh. A warm welcome, hassle-free check-in. Comfy bed, TV worked, didn't bother using the Wi-Fi, as very expensive. The place was clean, but really in need of redecoration. Apparently this is happening in September this year, so I would advise waiting till after then before you visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Something needs doing about the disused service station the hotel shares a site with. It gives an awful first impression. It is a shame, because the overall stay was pleasant and we would definitely stay again. I, My wife and 15 month daughter had a great time in Edinburgh. The hotel is located in a quiet convenient location with an Asda super store and other shops close by. staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Travelodge at Musselburgh is on a shared site. Unfortunately the outside area is somewhat dilapidated as the restaurant that shares the site is closed down and boarded up. But don't be put off. We have stayed here several times and the staff are always friendly and efficient. The Travelodge has seen better days but it is value for money, comfortable and reasonably quiet. One wonders how long it will remain open but we will stay here again on our trips up to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Yes this hotel is on a roundabout in the middle of the edinburgh ring road, theres a little chef next to it which is average, by littlle chef standards!
Our first room smelt very strongly of cigarettes and had obviously been used by a heavy smoker the night before.
They did give us another room which still smelt of cigarettes but not as bad!
We ordered the travelodge breakfast bag, but it was stolen from outside our room 2 out of the 3 days we stayed there, when we did get it it was some very synthetic tasting croissants and some other bland bits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review DrKr1968. We expect our rooms to be cleaned and well maintained to meet with our high standards, however we can happily confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment scheme across all our hotels in which our hotels will receive a fresh new room design and layout. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stay at this Travelodge every time we visit family in Edinburgh. First appearances are not good but look beyond that. The staff are extremely friendly, towels are always clean, bed linen is clean. However we were told that they will be undergoing a refurb in September. This will be wonderful. The place is always busy even with the tired exterior. We look forward to seeing the new place later in the tear.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh

Address: Moto Service Area, A1 | Old Craighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Edinburgh Travelodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.