We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours

Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours
23 Ivy Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1PJ, Scotland
+44 7740 869359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Foodies walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops, taste dishes specially prepared for you. Sample individually selected drinks (beers, wine and whisky), talk to the chefs/owners and discover the history behind the properties. The Old & new town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with two wine tastings and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great start to the Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A weekend break to Edinburgh was made even better by this tour. it is a good way to start things off. There were only two of us and tho we were late arriving (delayed flight) Alan didn't rush us anywhere to get us back on track time-wise. His knowledge is excellent and all the places we visited and food/drink we tried were lovely (personal favourite - rhubarb vodka). It is a good way to get your bearings on your visit and also see places that you might otherwise have not found. Well worth the money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hi

Thank you for this lovely review.

You arr one of many who seem to like the Rhubarb vodka at Demi Johns which is also one of my own personal favourites.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    42
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Private Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

As it turned out, we were the only two on today's tour. Alan was very charming and took us on a great walking tour of Edinburgh. We sampled wonderful food and drink. It was a wonderful afternoon. I am happy I planned the tour on our first day, as there are many places I want to revisit. My highest recommendation. Skip jones

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hi

Thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the tour.

We guarentee the tour to go out once booked so even if only one person books we do take them on the tour if they are happy to do so.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour--excellent food, drink and history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I could not have enjoyed this tour anymore. Alan was an excellent guide and he really has picked out some great places for this tour. I expected we would do some walking from one place to another but he really takes your EVERYWHERE! We were blown away by everything we saw and learned in such a short period of time with Alan. He knows so much of the history and told some really great stories about the region from past and present. He didn't rush us at all either, he let us sit and enjoy ourselves and entertained all of our questions. Highly recommend this tour if you want to learn more about Scotland's history and try some great food and drink along the way. It also helped us plan out things we wanted to see on the rest of our trip as well. We returned to the Scotch Malt Whisky Society the following day to buy the bottle we had tried (you can usually only do this if you are a member but you receive return access through the tour) and purchased other gifts for family from another store we stopped at that had Rhubarb Vodka! Two more things we were really impressed with was the map we received at the end showing everywhere we'd been (so we could find our way back!) and the earpieces so we could listen to Alan as we walked around and not miss a word as we stopped to take pictures, etc. Such a fun experience, thank you Alan!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.

I am glad you got time to return to places we visited to make some purchases.


Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found this tour through google and thought it sounded great. We really enjoyed it. It was a great way to get a different experience of Edinburgh. The tour guide was very knowledgable. We had lots of fun and got to see things we wouldn't have otherwise. Highly recommend it!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hi

Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed the tour and the parts of Edinburgh we got to show you.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way of seeing the real Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This tour is a fantastic way of seeing parts of Edinburgh that you may not get around to on the normal tourist track. As we were only coming from Manchester for a mini break , after reading the reviews of the tour on trip adviser I was sold ! Alan was great, he has such a fantastic knowledge of the history of Edinburgh and the places we stopped were amazing. I even really liked the haggis ! If your going to Edinburgh as a couple its a great way of meeting a few like minded souls and having a really entertaining afternoon !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Hi

Thanks for the review grealty appreciated.

The tours are in part a success due to those going on them bonding and adding to the occassion.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Walk Edinburgh - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.