We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee?!?!really?!?!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Papii

Papii
101 Hanover Street | EH2 1DJ, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Greek, Continental, Healthy, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: This is a relatively new cafe in Edinburgh- opened last year. Not sure why it doesn't have its own page yet as it's very popular.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best coffee?!?!really?!?!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I read previous reviews and I went there to taste good coffee: well, if this is the best coffee in Edinburgh, you do not know Edinburgh or you do not know what coffee is! Staff is super nice and atmosphere is nice too. They are happy to please, which is always nice. Some savoury foods taste fairly good, nothing special but absolutely ok, but others like waffles (not crispy at all!!!!) are below the expectation and definitely coffees do not taste good!!!! I am really wondering where previous reviewers come from (by the way, here Italians blood speaks on coffee!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    169
    32
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best coffee in edinburgh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went here for breakfast/brunch. I had the smoked salmon bagel with cream cheese. Really fresh, healthy delicious food and lovely cafe setting. Easily the best coffee I've had in edinburgh, will definitely be back! Keep up the awesome work guys.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food - friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I recently visited Papii for a 'morning after the night before remedy' before having to get on a train to London. I couldn't have chosen a more perfect place. I had pancakes while my friend had the amazing, home-made spanakopita. The waiter told me that one of the owners is Greek and she makes all the authentic Greek food - it was delicious. As I was on the hunt for caffeine, the coffee was a priority and it was every bit as good as the food. Perfect bitter balance and beautifully made, it came to the table looking like a piece of art! Papii is a perfect oasis of mellow, friendly calm in the city. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tea break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here for a tea break in between our fringe events. Lovely tea and cake and service and reasonably priced

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice little breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped here after reading TA reviews...a couple of mins from Princes St. The food was good-hubby had a sausage bap and I had a breakfast pannini which was heavenly-the coffee comes like the one in the pic! The only criticism I have is that the guy is a bit of a perfectionist and when my first pannini slightly burnt (the girl was on her phone?!) he made her put another one on while the sausage bap just sat on the side. Would come back...a tourist in there said she's been in 8 times during the week!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papii also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Papii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.