We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful alternative to hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staycity Serviced Apartments West End to your Saves list
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AS, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments by stayEdinburgh) (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful alternative to hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Been touring UK for 3 weeks (daughters spring break) and she suggested we try a serviced apartment. As we were used to staying in hotels, we were a bit apprehensive . But boy, oh boy, were we surprised!

The space is huge/spacious with a full facility kitchen (hubby and I had fun cooking), heated floors, free wi-fi (a must for my teenage boy), and secure entry/exit facilities.

Walking to the city center was a 15-20minute walk and was a simple way of burning off all the calories from munching all the time.

We thoroughly enjoyed Edinburgh and searched for "Nessie". The people are nice, friendly with a wonderful accent. After all the walking, it was nice to get home to this place - and just chill.

Will definitely stay again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    206
    62
    39
    21
See reviews for
254
81
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for one night, 8 girls on a birthday weekend, lovely and modern apartment was spotlessly clean, beds were comfy, bathroom spacious, kitchen facilities excellent, 5 mins in a cab from hay market train station, quite noisy early morning as revellers coming in and out but overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hotel: We (24year old married couple and 5 month old baby) had a pleasant stay at Staycity West End. We arrived before 3 due to our train times and were able to check in then, we were given a free upgrade to a two bedroom apartment and were told they didn't need our deposit, they trusted us. We requested a cot and a gentleman from housekeeping came up within the hour and he was very polite, could brush up on his English as he called the bedside cabinets wardrobes but because he was so friendly we found it quite sweet.

We were told that because we booked directly through the stay city website we could check out at 12pm, which is handy with a baby but we actually ended up paying £10 to stay until 1 (you can stay until 2pm at £10 per hour).

Area: Fountainbridge is a safe area, the walk to the apartments from Waverley station does look a bit shady as you get closer to the apartments but it's only because of some derelict buildings. We done it at night with our baby and didn't encounter any trouble. I grew up near Edinburgh and now live in London, it seems a lot more friendlier in Edinburgh than it was 6 years ago. Apartments are a 5 minutes walk from Haymarket station and about a 15 minute walk from Waverly station.

Restuarants: Cargo is just around the corner, we visited because I had done a few fashion shows in there so I wanted to re live some memories. Very glad we did visit - excellent service. I had seen an old menu online and wanted a haggis burger that was advertised. It wasn't on the new menu but they made a similar burger for me and only charged for a chicken burger. Very good service, would bend over backwards for you but not too much where it could seem patronising. High chairs are available and are suitable. Loudons cafe and patisserie opposite Cargo is great, you must visit it. Their quiche(I'm not a quiche lover) is delicious and we had chicken and coconut soup with the quiche as a lunch meal deal (think it was £8.95). Good selection of cakes and the normal coffees, chai, lattes, cappuccinos etc. Very baby friendly- there were a few mother and baby groups coming and going and they had plenty of high chairs(Stokke), our daughter is quite small and was very happy in that high chair, going to upgrade at home actually. If you fancy a Chinese buffet there is a restaurant next to Waverly station called Jimmy Chungs. I'm not a fan of chain restaurants but as it was my sisters birthday we took her to her favourite restaurant. I asked if they could put a candle on a piece of cake and it was no problem for them, they played Happy Birthday music too. They didn't charge any extra for that service either. Not my favourite food selection, I ate very little and still paid £12.99 for it as obviously it was a buffet but very good service, they also have plenty of high chairs.

Overall we had a very lovely stay and we had travelled up for my Fathers funeral so it was obviously a difficult time, but it was made easier by all the great service. I almost want to move back to Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Not too far to walk to The Royal Mile and all it's attractions, or for the terminally lazy, a bus for £1.50 just around the corner on Fountaingate.
Great serviced apartment and, unless you stay for a week or more you buy/clean for yourself. Towels, soap, washing up liquid, (one) dishwasher tab, and two bog rolls are provided, but then you're on your own - this I had no problem with - to be fair this is clear from the description.
There's also a cinema about 300m away, if it's pissing down and you've nowt better to do.
I thought that these apartments were great, and I thoroughly enjoyed Edinburgh

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in Edinburgh for 2 nights as part of a week touring Scotland. Upon checking in, we were upgraded from an apartment to a 'townhouse'. Although a short walk down a slightly concerning road, we were delighted with the 4-bed house we were given on the canal side - and we quickly worked out the nicer roads to walk down, including down the canal side to get to the main streets.

The property we stayed in was clean and well furnished. It was looking a tiny bit tired, but all in all it was very good for what we paid and expected. In terms of location, the apartments and townhouses are all about 10 minute walk from the grassmarket and maybe 15-20 minutes to the Castle. We had no issues with the distance to saunter in and we're not exactly ramblers! There is a Tesco express about 2 minutes walk away if you do decide to cater for yourselves in the apartment/town houses.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Absolutely fantastic stay in Edinburgh. Staycity provided a Perfect room (with complimentary upgrade), had polite staff, in an excellent location for exploring the city, cheap car parking, low priced accommodation. What else could we want??!! We travelled with our 16 week old baby as had a perfect stay - would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed in the apartment for 2 nights in the Easter bank holiday with three of my friends, we had a late flight on the Friday so arrived at the hotel around half 9 in the evening, we were pleased with our room but during the whole stay no one came in to tidy the room or change the towels, we ran out of toilet roll on the last day and were only given one dishwasher tablet, on the last morning we had breakfast and cleaned the room as much as we could and went to the reception at half 11, we were then asked to pay a fee of 10 pounds for late checkout, considering we were only half hour late because we were cleaning the room and checked in 6 hours after the room was ours to use, I think this is very poor service, when I tried to explain that our room hadn’t been ‘’serviced’’ as the apartments were advertised to be, the receptionist didn’t care and was very unhelpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staycity Serviced Apartments West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Serviced Apartments West End

Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AS, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments by stayEdinburgh)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Serviced Apartments West End 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Staycity Serviced Apartments West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.