We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staycity Serviced Apartments West End to your Saves list
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AS, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments by stayEdinburgh) (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 weeks prior to getting a flat in Edinburgh.
We stayed in the studio and one bedroom apartments. They are ideally located in Central Edinburgh and have a Tesco within walking distance. There are a few bars, restaurants, Cinema, Bowling all within walking distance.
Apartments are clean and modern. Plenty of space and free wifi is an added bonus. Everything you need whether it's a one night stay or longer.
They can be noisier at the weekends due to hen/stag weekends etc but we were never bothered by the noise.

Staff on reception are extremely friendly and helpful.

We would definitely stay again if we needed to and have recommended these apartments to a few of our friends.

Room Tip: Higher up to avoid the noise from the street. Although even on the ground floor we weren't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    208
    64
    39
    21
See reviews for
258
82
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newscastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The apartments were very well cleaned & maintained. Staff were very helpfull. good central location, would def use these again. The only thing we did have a problem with was the lack of hot water. only enough for one shower then we had to used the kettle for a bath as there was 2 adults and one child, so not great on that point but everything else was great.

Room Tip: we had ground floor but next time we will ask for first floor as they had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms for 11 people for a stag party, when we arrived we were told we had been up graded free of charge to two townhouses, these were even further out of town and made it more difficult to get around. When we arrived we where also told, for the first time that we would have to pay £50 per head security fee which we could get back at the end, we were told we could not split the transaction over multiple cards and had to be done in one transaction, wiping out all funds I had for the trip. When we complained about it the receptionist said "it's tough, if you want to stay you have to pay it"
As I said before this was the first time we were told about it other wise we would have made arrangements to club together to cover it or most likely gone else where
When we arrived at the upgraded townhouses there was holes in the walls as black marks all over them
Terrible accommodation and service, I would not recommend to my worst enemy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the Staycity serviced apartments for around 7 weeks. I had come to Edinburgh on a business trip which got extended. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The Manager Lucy and the staff at reception was very good and helpful. Jaime (I think he is also a manager) was also very helpful.
There are different kinds of rooms. From a single room with bed and kitchenette to two rooms with a separate bed room and living room with kitchenette. Generally for one person they would try to provide the single room.
Room has all amenities including iron/ironing board, washing machine, dish washer, hotplate, oven, microwave, electric kettle and toaster. There is sufficient cutlery for two to four people at max. If you need anything specific and it is missing in your room then the staff would provide it.
The room cleaning happens once a week so it is important to maintain cleanliness.
I got the opportunity to stay in the two room set, which was good for me as I was there for a long time. The bedroom is small with very limited storage space. The living room with kitchenette was spacious. It was furnished with a 4 people dining table, a coffee table and a big three seat sofa and a single sofa. There was a wall mounted flat screen TV with a DVD player. The rooms were heated and a couple of times when I had issues they were promptly addressed.
The bathroom was also ok - not very small and not very big. Enough for one person to be comfortable.
Location is very good as it is near to the city center and all the tourist spots. For me, my office was also near by so it was a double whammy!
For a short stay it is definitely a good place though it may come out to be a little pricey. For longer stay one should try to get a good deal and definitely get the two room set.

Room Tip: Do not opt for ground floor rooms as you would be constantly disturbed by people movement. If you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for your comments and I will pass opn your feedback to both Lucie and Jamie. We look forward to welcomming you back in the near future.

Regards
Mario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location of the apartment is not overly attractive, but once inside the unit is well equiped, large, secure, clean & quiet. Buses are nearby & a 10 minute walk takes you to the main centre of Edinburgh. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks you for your review. It is appreciated.
Kind Regards
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed three nights when we were required to be close to Haymarket for an appointment. Picked the apartments from the net and walked in off the street. Surprised to be offerred the same internet price.
Offerred one bedroom studio apartment in block 7 on 4th floor. Surprised by the quality of apartment although a few faults with closer examination. The kitchen bench was badly marked and their was problem with curtain rod and window. However when we reported the latter problems they were fixed quickly.
Checkin was easy and staff friendly. Interesting to note £50 per person security deposit is taken by cash or card.
The bathroom was clean and the shower very impressive. The bed was a huge kingsize. The kitchen section is well equipped including a dishwasher, although we hardly used it.
We had 2 very good sleeps but Friday night was much noisier so would avoid on the weekend.
Location very good with easy access to several good restuarants, including excellent Vietnamese and good thai. Tesco is very close as are other shops.
A short walk to Princess Street and the castle and catch the 22 bus to Britannia, makes easy access to all the sights.
Parking is available across the road for £12 a day. As serviced apartments I would have expected to at least have had our bins emptied but we had no attention at all in three days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. The first Apartment we were given was in Block 9 I think. It was a nice clean one bedroom apartment, tiny but it did the job. Be aware that the bedroom is more like an alcove, so four people would be a squeeze I think. In the first evening we were suprised on how quiet it was and went to sleep without a problem. In the morning however, before 8am we were awoken by the noise of the builders across the street. So we asked in reception if we could change rooms for a room out the back. No problem, but we had to pack all our things and leave them in a luggagebox to check in again later the same day when a New room was available. We were promised a room facing the back of the bulding. When we came back the same evening we were given a New room key, for a room facing the front again. This time closer to the noise. So we asked for another and this time we were given a room facing the back. And it was also a larger one bedroom, with an actual bedroom and a large livingroom. This was also clean, a few things were broken though. The floorlight in the livingroom had to be leaned to the wall in a corner as it's foot was broken, the toiletroll-holder in the bathroom was broken and you couldn't hang the toiletroll on it, the trashcan was also broken and there was no light in the Mirror making the lighting in the bathroom poor. These are minor details in the end though, everything else worked fine. If you are picky about the beds and bedlinen and can advise you that the matress in the last room was wellused and the bedlinen was hard/scratchy.

Given the cleanliness, service and overall impression of the Apartments I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you need it ask for a room with an actuall bedroom and ask if there's still work going on opo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks you for you feedback. I can only apologise for the construction noise from the build works opposite the hotel. We have unfortunately no control of them, I have had a number of meetings with the builders and have only been able to delay them starting to work onsite until 8am. I am disappointed that your had issues in your apartment and can assure you that all the maintenance issues have been addressed. We also appreciate you recommending us.
Kind Regards
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staycity Serviced Apartments West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Serviced Apartments West End

Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AS, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments by stayEdinburgh)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Serviced Apartments West End 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Staycity Serviced Apartments West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.