We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, comfortable, convenient - Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staycity Serviced Apartments West End

Save Saved
You added Staycity Serviced Apartments West End to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AS, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments by stayEdinburgh) (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Peaceful, comfortable, convenient - Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

It was the perfect place to relax after a long flight and to explore the wonderful city of Edinburgh from. It's convenient for all your sightseeing needs - though I noticed there's also a bus stop close by if you don't want to walk. The staff are very nice & helpful. It was very quiet, clean & comfortable and the photos advertised are exactly what my apartment looked like - it's always nice to get what you sign up for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    150
    50
    29
    18
See reviews for
180
52
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

myself and three friends went to edinburgh for a good drinking session. we are in our mid 20's and stayed in the stayedinburgh apartments. we stayed in a one bedroom apartment. 2 single beds and two sofa beds in the living room. plenty of room on the sofa beds but the single beds in the bedroom were quite small. kitchen was fully equipped. staff were very pleasant and helpful. location was a bit away from things. 15-20 mins walk away from grass market the lively drinking area. 30 mins from princes st if its shopping you are after. there is a tesco express 10 mins walk away. there is a phone in the reception that connects you to a taxi company that are very efficient. it is approx £7 in a taxi to grass market.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Can not fault it for value, all clean and comfotable. Although quite hard to find initialy (lack of sighs!) location was good within walking distance of main attractions! Have used the company at other locations and have always been happy and will continue to use again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

we travelled to Edinburgh and booked two appartments for ouselves and family. (four adults two young children and a baby) and we were more than happy with our appartment. It was extremely spacious. Separate bedroom, bathroom and loung/dining/kitchen. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything that a traveller would need. the bedroom was lovely with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. the quality and standard of the bedding was second to none. The bathroom had state of the art modern fittings very new and very clean. In fact the whole appartment was exceptionally clean as were the communal areas. the location was also good and only 10/20 minutes walk to the centre of the city. If we visited Edinburgh again we would certainly use the appartments again and would also recommend them to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The location was much better than I had thought; only 10 mins walk to Princes St, Grassmarket and 15mins to Modern Art Galleries. The apartment was very clean, the bedroom was a good size and the sofa bed comfortable. Overall it was a lot better than a hotel room which is what I was hoping for. Above all it was quiet, which was my main concern with 2 children. I had been a bit worried about noisy groups but there was no problem at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was that the lift was out of order when we arrived and I had to carry bags up to the 3rd floor! You can leave your bags in a locker for £3 if you arrive early, as we did. Tesco, Sanisburys and lots of sandwich/coffee shops nearby. I would certainly recommend it for families and I would go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here mid April 2012.

These apartments are clean, tidy and comfortable. They have everything you need to enjoy a weekend or a week's stay - glasses, crockery, cutlery, dishwasher, washing machine, toaster, kettle, fridge freezer and some teabags, coffee sachets, milk and dishwasher tablets, TV, DVD, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

There is a thermostat to control the heating, but we didnt need it on - the apartments were roasting, at times too warm but there are nice big windows to open to get in some fresh air and cool done. Location is peaceful and there was no noise at night, set in the west end its a 20 - 30 minute walk into the city centre. Taxis completely vary in rate, but somewhere between 8 - 12 pounds to get into city centre.

The staff are great here, really friendly and so efficient at their job, any questions we had they went out of their way to answer e.g looking up a bar we had booked cocktails in and getting us directions, just fab service!

I would really recommend this place to anyone from hen/stag weekends to business stay over to families.

Room Tip: ask for apartments with balconies, all the roomas are larger in these than ones without and they als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staycity Serviced Apartments West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Serviced Apartments West End

Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AS, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments by stayEdinburgh)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Serviced Apartments West End 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Staycity Serviced Apartments West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.