We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish National Gallery

Scottish National Gallery
The Mound, Edinburgh EH2 2EL, Scotland (Princes Street and Gardens)
0131 624 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$35*
and up
Edinburgh Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #17 of 315 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Free Entry and lots of wonderful things to see from internation and local artists. Doorman very friendly also! Recomend if your visiting the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Super_Sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cultured must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Loads to do in Edinburgh and most of it over priced, if your are there take advantage of something free of charge and improve your knowledge of the city and its people. Obviously not for most young families as a couple we thought we would be bored, this however was not the case and the pictures and sculptures certainly held our attention for a good hour. Decent surroundings, friendly staff a must for a cultured change.

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lots of well known paintings to view. The Rembrant self portrait is amazing. It was quite busy when we went round - a Friday and the problem was a lot of art students were gathering round particular paintings listening to their tutors.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for art lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Some lovely pieces but a few sections where getting changed, not suitable for children though as would be rather boring for them

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahamy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

would of been better without our kids as I was in constant fear they might damage something priceless! Lots of lovely paintings in a lovely building.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish National Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Scottish National Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing