We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet days visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish National Gallery

Scottish National Gallery
The Mound, Edinburgh EH2 2EL, Scotland (Princes Street and Gardens)
0131 624 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$78*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off...
Ranked #20 of 475 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A quiet days visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Nice collection with representations from all the important periods. It was a quiet day which made the viewing more intimate, and made my impression more favorable. Not sure I would enjoy as much when busy

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,225
    707
    152
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“So cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The gallery was during our walk through town. The bagpipers playing in front of the gallery made it worth it!
The pictures are just amazing. Not a lot of the stupid modern art I hate, but real art from some of the best artists in the world. You can stay in for hours and hours and never get bored. Lots of places to sit as well. Loved it

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was impressed with the variety in the Scottish National Gallery. Poussin, Rubens, Botticelli, Rembrandt, Gainsborough.

The restaurant next door and gift store also worth checking out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A wonderful experience for all no matter you are 12 or 90 wonderful atmosphere which s helped by all the staff prepared to help and eXplain just take your time and let all the paintings come alive the only downside is student all sitting own stalls blocking painting while they study ,if you love art or just like it there is something for everyone

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I saw Catherine The Great's collection, and it was amazing. It was probably a "once in a lifetime" thing as I do not know how much that collection travels about the world. The museum is incredible.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish National Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Scottish National Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish National Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.