We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely steak and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Argentinos

Los Argentinos
28 -30 West Preston Street, Edinburgh EH8 9PZ, Scotland (Cowgate)
0131-668-3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #321 of 1,825 restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cowgate
Ascot
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely steak and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Looked for somewhere to have an excellent steak for a special occasion and we were not disapointed. Good range of dishes as well as steak though and we were very impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    58
    30
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very , very, Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was at this restaurant a year ago and had a nice meal and a pleasant evening
My wife and I returned last Tuesday evening and she ordered a fillet steak and I had a sirloin steak. The steaks were cooked to the level we asked, medium rare, but did not look like any fillet of sirloin cut I had ever seen and were both as tough as old boots - bordering on inedible. The management assured us they were indeed the cuts we had ordered but I find this very hard to believe! I found the costs of the side dishes high for what they were. Although the staff were pleasant they had an annoying habit of hovering over us while we ate. ( There was only one other person in so I suppose we almost had their undivided attention) We have had much better meals at much less cost and had far superior meals for the same moneys at many of the restaurants in the south Edinburgh area. Cannot recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Steak Lovers' will enjoy this Argentinian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fabulous steaks for family celebration dinner in early evening. Service was excellent and there was something for everyone. And yes, while this is a Steak lover's haven, there are vegetarian options. Decor is simple, plain walls with massive cow hide on one wall and this means noise is amplified. If big groups are in the restaurant, conversations can be drowned out... its the chance you take but its the food you remember -fabulous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Most tender steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner here tonight. The service team were polite and informal. Gave us time to order drinks then gave us time to order food. Fillet steak very tender.

Menu is meat orientated. But has fish and chicken dishes.

Service team came over after each course to ensure everything was okay.

Ambience was just okay.

Top tip. Order the fillet steak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great steak in New Town Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a great steak place located right in New Town! While service is a little jumpy, the steaks are amazing and with three differ size options you'll be sure to find one that fits your craving. Good selection of starters and decent wine lists to accompany the menu of meat. Fantastic sides offered, although our 2 yr old demanded chips. Even the seafood was good, although I would have preferred the shrimp without their eyes, arms and legs. Can highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Argentinos also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Los Argentinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Argentinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.