We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cassis

Cafe Cassis
43 - 45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh eh16 5aa, Scotland
+44 131 667 8991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,825 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Cassis is an exciting,family orientated bistro with a fantastic enclosed garden to the rear of the restaurant.Alison &Denis welcome you to Cafe Cassis where you can enjoy fantastic food in a friendly and relaxing surroundings. The menu at Cafe Cassis is varied with a French influence and offers food made from the best locally sourced ingredients,guaranteed to tempt and stimulate your taste buds. Join us for lunch or an evening meal, or just a coffee which you can enjoy in our relaxed seating area or outside in the garden
Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Enjoyed my evening meals so much I had to go back for lunch. Three courses and a glass of good white wine for less than sixteen pounds. Terrific flavours of Salmon, cod and prawn roulade with a fromage frais dip. Mediterranean style poulet Basquaise with the warmth of paprika accompanied by rice and vegetables.
The menu tells you everything you need to know before your senses confirm that this is food of the highest quality. All cooked and served by the owners. My feeling is that what they have to offer is divine and affordable. Try it for yourself!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    264
    60
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tres bien!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Chose this as I'd heard it was the best French restaraunt in Edinburgh. Wasn't disappointed. The market choice menu is superb value, and quality isn't compromised through the price!! Sampled the goats cheese tartlet, the Toulouse sausage, and the bread and butter pudding. All superb and extremely tasty! Well worth a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a party of 16 celebrating a family occasion, and Cafe Cassis offered us a 2-course menu for £12.95, plus a 3rd course for £3 extra. Starters were soup, or pâté, or crepe, or salmon. Mains were fish (trout), beef (bourguignon), chicken, or a vegetarian risotto. Desserts were meringue, mousse, bread and butter pudding, or cheese. I had pâté, beef, and cheese, and they were all superb. The beef was delicious (although I had to take out the bay leaf myself), and I have paid more than twice the price for cheese elsewhere, and been given a smaller portion! All things considered, it was a wonderful occasion. The young children were offered burgers, as were the teenagers, although they were not on the menu. There was a play area for the young children out in the back garden. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant - shows you don't have to stick to the city centre for top class food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a disastrous day at the Champions of Tennis we were looking for somewhere to bring a smile back to our faces - we certainly found it at Cafe Cassis.

This is a top class restaurant, slightly off the beaten track - which suits me just fine!

Food is just superb, oozing scrumptious flavours and presentation is very well done.

Staff are an absolute joy - and don't forget the chef - who actually makes a point of visiting tables and asking for feedback.

This was our first visit, but it certainly won't be our last!

Thanks Cafe Cassis for a superb evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located in Edinburgh's south side this restaurant is well worth a visit. The menu is French providing a good selection of hearty favourites alongside an excellent array of daily specials which included slow cooked beef cheeks or lamb cutlets. All dishes were perfectly cooked and nicely presented without being overly fussy. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cassis also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cassis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.