We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant - shows you don't have to stick to the city centre for top class food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cassis

Cafe Cassis
43 - 45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh eh16 5aa, Scotland
+44 131 667 8991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Cassis is an exciting,family orientated bistro with a fantastic enclosed garden to the rear of the restaurant.Alison &Denis welcome you to Cafe Cassis where you can enjoy fantastic food in a friendly and relaxing surroundings. The menu at Cafe Cassis is varied with a French influence and offers food made from the best locally sourced ingredients,guaranteed to tempt and stimulate your taste buds. Join us for lunch or an evening meal, or just a coffee which you can enjoy in our relaxed seating area or outside in the garden
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant - shows you don't have to stick to the city centre for top class food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a disastrous day at the Champions of Tennis we were looking for somewhere to bring a smile back to our faces - we certainly found it at Cafe Cassis.

This is a top class restaurant, slightly off the beaten track - which suits me just fine!

Food is just superb, oozing scrumptious flavours and presentation is very well done.

Staff are an absolute joy - and don't forget the chef - who actually makes a point of visiting tables and asking for feedback.

This was our first visit, but it certainly won't be our last!

Thanks Cafe Cassis for a superb evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    264
    61
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located in Edinburgh's south side this restaurant is well worth a visit. The menu is French providing a good selection of hearty favourites alongside an excellent array of daily specials which included slow cooked beef cheeks or lamb cutlets. All dishes were perfectly cooked and nicely presented without being overly fussy. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great atmosphere below stairs !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

In a quiet neighbourhood,under the Salisbury Hotel is a real find in Edinburgh. Really nice welcome,cosy atmosphere,very friendly staff(even when my wife ordered her steak to be "well done").Excellent specials..can I recommend the horseradish + sweet potato soup and the "divine" creme brulee.
We will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone looking for well cooked country French cooking

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A superb evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked online with no problems. Staff very friendly and attentive without being over the top. A lovely Bistro feel with good food and a relaxed and enjoyable evening. An excellent menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reviews don't lie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited Cafe Cassis twice this year in my first year at university and both times were exceptional. Before visiting Cafe Cassis I had done extensive research into the best french restaurants in Edinburgh at reasonable prices and Cafe Cassis stood out and the reviews really do not lie. The menu is fantastic, I would highly recommend the cheese brulee starter and array of desserts to finish. The service was brilliant, and both times the head chef came out at the end to ask how our evenings were and if we enjoyed the food, something I had never experienced before. I will be sure to return to this restaurant in the coming years!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cassis also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cassis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.