We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cassis

Cafe Cassis
43 - 45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh eh16 5aa, Scotland
+44 131 667 8991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,825 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Cassis is an exciting,family orientated bistro with a fantastic enclosed garden to the rear of the restaurant.Alison &Denis welcome you to Cafe Cassis where you can enjoy fantastic food in a friendly and relaxing surroundings. The menu at Cafe Cassis is varied with a French influence and offers food made from the best locally sourced ingredients,guaranteed to tempt and stimulate your taste buds. Join us for lunch or an evening meal, or just a coffee which you can enjoy in our relaxed seating area or outside in the garden
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A superb evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked online with no problems. Staff very friendly and attentive without being over the top. A lovely Bistro feel with good food and a relaxed and enjoyable evening. An excellent menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    264
    60
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reviews don't lie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited Cafe Cassis twice this year in my first year at university and both times were exceptional. Before visiting Cafe Cassis I had done extensive research into the best french restaurants in Edinburgh at reasonable prices and Cafe Cassis stood out and the reviews really do not lie. The menu is fantastic, I would highly recommend the cheese brulee starter and array of desserts to finish. The service was brilliant, and both times the head chef came out at the end to ask how our evenings were and if we enjoyed the food, something I had never experienced before. I will be sure to return to this restaurant in the coming years!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“saturday night meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked after seeing good reviews on trip advisor, the bistro is based in a hotel in the suburbs of edinburgh, but well worth the visit, it has only a small menu but with very tasty options. We would recommend this restaurant to anybody visiting edinburgh, good wine list and the food and drink is value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food excellent, and decent wine at reasonable price. Chef takes an interest in what you think about the meal. Out of the way - bit tricky to find - but worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I noticed the signs for this excellent restaurant on our daily work commute and one night on the way home we stopped off for an evening meal there. There are many good places to eat in Edinburgh but this, for me, was a cut above most of their rivals. The food was great but affordable, the portions more than generous enough for an ever-hungry diner, and the atmosphere friendly, warm and down-to-earth. The husband and wife team who run the restaurant were excellent hosts and their obvious love for good cooking and high quality service shone through. Go there now!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cassis also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cassis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.