We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'est magnifique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cassis

Cafe Cassis
43 - 45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh eh16 5aa, Scotland
+44 131 667 8991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Cassis is an exciting,family orientated bistro with a fantastic enclosed garden to the rear of the restaurant.Alison &Denis welcome you to Cafe Cassis where you can enjoy fantastic food in a friendly and relaxing surroundings. The menu at Cafe Cassis is varied with a French influence and offers food made from the best locally sourced ingredients,guaranteed to tempt and stimulate your taste buds. Join us for lunch or an evening meal, or just a coffee which you can enjoy in our relaxed seating area or outside in the garden
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“C'est magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I returned to cafe cassis for the second time and boy was it amazing! I had the asparagus wrapped in smoked salmon with a zesty sauce and my wife and I both had the sea bass with caramelised onion and risotto. The food was exquisite, the service fantastic and the ambience very relaxing. The piste de resistance was the sharing dessert on a slate platter. For me, I thoroughly enjoyed the chocolate pear and my wife loved the taste of the liquorice creme brûlée. The flavours that Denis manages to balance in his dishes is amazing. The artistic presentation of each dish was truly spectacular. YOU MUST TRY CAFE CASSIS!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    67
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I looked for a restaurant that was suitable for a evening business meal and I also needed to have a gluten free meal for one of the party.
Alison and her husband were fantastic, we felt at home Immediately and the selection of food and wine was very good. If I am in Edinburgh again I will go back without hesitation.
Everybody in the party said they had fantastic meal. Thank you Alison.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best ever Mother's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the best Free-From restaurant in Edinburgh!! Everything is cooked from scratched. The owners are very personable and can accommodate any request. Thank you for a great Mother's Day luncheon. Lorna

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exquisite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been to cafe cassis three times and I loved it every time. Fantastic dishes, friendly staff, unassuming atmosphere, great value for money. What else is there to ask? Last but not least, the deserts: do not forget to try the creme brulee trilogy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Could not fault it. Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked one day ahead for a Friday lunchtime for the set £8.90 two course lunch. First impressions were pleasant welcome, immaculate restaurant, average decor and possibly a slightly older clientele. Well, our age and older, certainly no youngsters. We both had the goats cheese tartlet with salad Which melted in the mouth and was presented well. I had the seared coley and partner had the beef bourguignon as the chicken dish was gone. All three ladies at the next table had the last of it and it did look good. Portions for main course were small but perfectly measured for a lunch. We managed a third course at only £1.95. Nougat Icecream with creme anglaise and raspberry coulis - fantastic, I could have had a second one. Cheese and biscuits for partner, this would cost 3 times as much elsewhere. Staff were efficient and friendly. Chef spoke to us on our way out so we told him we would be back. A bit out of town but well worth the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cassis also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cassis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.