We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A star customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Salisbury Hotel to your Saves list
The Salisbury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A star customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Hotel well situated for the Children's hospital & City centre only a short bus ride away. Pleasant quiet room overlooking the garden with larger than average double bed. However pillows too firm for me & quilt very heavy making for an uncomfortable nights sleep. This said I would return if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that many aspects of your stay were positive. In regards to the pillow and duvet situation I can only apologise for this not being up to the standard that you required. We are currently looking into stocking different types of pillow to ensure that we can meet the highest standards possible for our guests. In regards to the duvet I will take this feedback on board and try to look for a resolution.

This said I do hope you will come back to The Salisbury.

Kind regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    205
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
94
274
34
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very nice, clean hotel - located close to city centre. Staff were very helpful and thoughtful. facilities were excellant and as advertised. w=Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit / stay in Edinburgh

Room Tip: just go with any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of The Salisbury Hotel. We are glad to hear that the hotel met with all your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

After having stayed in hundreds of hotels across the world the Salisbury is in now firmly in my top 10. Could you do better in terms of Georgian glamour? Sure, but this hotel goes the extra mile in terms of unbelievable customer service.

This well located hotel (1o minute bus trip or a good 25 minute walk) is intimate, rooms comfy, the bed sheets are magnificent and big, bright bathrooms all make this a great stay but it's the staff that put the Salisbury into a different stratosphere.

From the moment you walk through the door you feel at home, happy and welcomed. The gift of Tunnocks Teacakes (very Scottish) , everyone knows your name and we were personally welcomed by Kevan The General Manager, these things all combine into a lovely customer caring touch. All too often a hotel will kindly take your money and you feel like your just another sausage being spat out of the factory. At the Salisbury be prepared for a warm surprise. Imagine a hotel where your asked about your day!

I leave knowing I will be back. Thanks team Salisbury, take a bow, because anyone who has stayed here is or should be applauding.

Room Tip: We had a superior double overlooking the garden and the hotels very own log cabin! Garden view is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Salisbury Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have had such a good experience during your stay with us. I am very proud of my team and the excellent customer service they have shown. We at The Salisbury try very hard to ensure that our guests do feel at home and not just another "sausage spat out of the factory". All of our guests are very important to us and the reason we come to work each day!

We do hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alassio, Italy
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Bought a Four Poster room with Amex points, while had friends in other Superior rooms. Aesthetics on arrival (external + reception area) are a little dull. My room was right next to reception (there's no lobby in practice). Suitably large, with mock fireplace and indeed a comfortable four poster bed. Cleanliness so-so (e.g. drink stains on desk and bedside tables), also some untidiness with a mess of electric cables to a disconnected iPod player. Large tv with no international channels and even poor digital signal on main BBC channels! Large bathroom with open shower and bathtub, no hanging place for towels. Curiously, only one large size towel was provided in each double bedroom!
Breakfast ok, friendly service but modest choice.
Funnily (for our group of friends - but it's a serious security matter) any of my friends' keycard could unlock my room's door !
Overall, a relatively cozy place that needs some attention; for sure not a 4 star arrangement as claimed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Good Evening

With regards to this very negative and untrue review of the Salisbury Hotel I would like to take this opportunity to respond

1. Our reception areas are decorated to a very high standard using the best quality materials and furnishings, we are an 18 bedroom Townhouse Boutique Hotel and I find it strange that the guest should expect a reception/lobby like that of a larger hotel chain. The guests room was in fact not straight of reception as claimed but in a hallway off the main reception area.

2. The fireplaces in all of our Suites are not mock as claimed and are in fact Georgian originals.

3. Our housekeepers keep very high standards of hygiene and cleanliness in all parts of the hotel, the drink stains the guest mentions was brought to my attention by 1 of our junior housekeepers and were in fact red wine stains from the 8 bottles of wine their group drank in the room during their get together on the 2nd night of their stay. I should point out that these were cleaned the next morning when we serviced the room as we do on a daily basis.

4. The I-Pod docking station simply needs the power button to be pressed to bring it to life, again, this was not mentioned or brought to our attention at any point during the guests stay, why? Had the guest mentioned it we could have shown them how to operate it correctly.

5. The television signal is always very good and we have never had a complaint of this nature before, again though, this was never mentioned or brought to our attention during the guests stay. Why?

6. The claim the guest makes about the towels is quite simply untrue, for every guest that stays with us in our hotel we supply them with 1 bath sheet, 1 bath towel, 1 hand towel and 1 face flannel and every room is checked every day to make sure of this, if more towels are required all they had to do was ask but yet again did not mention this at any point during their stay. Why?

7. We offer an excellent and extensive complimentary continental breakfast for all guests which we get lots of positive feedback on, hot items can be purchased for a small additional cost, the guest and his party were aware of this as there was extras getting purchased on a daily basis at breakfast by their group.

8. The issue the guest mentions regarding our door entry cards is ridiculously untrue and I strongly oppose this. I was at the hotel for the full duration of the guests stay and I would like to set the record straight that, in fact, their bedroom door was never closed properly when they were in their room which allowed other members of their party to freely gain access, yet again, this was never mentioned at any point during the stay.why? Every time a keycard is used there is a record of it sent to our computer and each key is individually encrypted to operate only our front door and the door to a specific room, We at The Salisbury take security very seriously, we have 24 hour CCTV recording for the safety of our guests and of our hotel and every step is taken to keep guests safe on our premises.

9. We have been awarded our 4 star status successfully on an annual basis since 2006 and we have to adhere to strict guidelines to retain this.

10. The Guest and his party left at 5am on their day of departure but the previous afternoon I personally asked if everything had been ok with their stay, this was their chance to highlight any of the false claims that have been made on here and the guest simply said “everything has been very good”. I would like to point out that the guests have also left a note in our guest book based at reception which says “Great days. Thanks.”

I find this review very unfair and very untrue and have to stress if a guest has an issue with any aspect of our hotel or their stay with us they should speak with our front of house team who are always on hand and more than happy to assist in any way they can.

I do hope the guest and his parties visit to Edinburgh was productive.

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very impressed with our stay here. Staff were very helpful and hotel is in a good location. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the Royal Mile which is still close but means you can park easily and it is quiet at night. Bed in our room was amazingly comfy, and we had the best nights sleep!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and your stay at The Salisbury. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Short stay to watch the rugby. Booked this hotel as quite near Princes Street, 10 - 15 minute walk, and had parking. The man on reception was welcoming and after the formalities showed us to the room, which was a Superior double. Initial impressions were favourable as it overlooked the garden. The small table at the foot of the bed, which supported a bottle of wine that could be purchased, soon became an irritation and was nearly knocked over by a foot at the end of a long leg. The bathroom was a real disappointment. The shower was a large walk in but the fittings were loose and the water strayed beyond where it should have gone making the floor wet.
Breakfast was continental and adequate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Salisbury Hotel.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. With regards to your comments we would like to take this opportunity to respond.

Our Superior double rooms, one of which you mentioned has adequate floor space in the bedroom for a couple to relax in complete comfort, there is more than enough floor space for the table at the bottom of the bed to have been moved.

Our Front of House team are available at any time to help guests with whatever they require and to ensure that any issues that may arise are dealt with in an efficient and timely manner. you did not raise any points during your two night stay, in terms of your complaint regarding the excess water in the bathroom, structural measures were taken months before your arrival and these have proven to work. the shower head could have been fixed within 5 minutes had I been informed.

While we appreciate that you had one or two issues with your stay, we do feel it somewhat discourteous that instead of informing us at any point during your stay or indeed the time of your departure when I, myself checked you out and asked you if everything was ok, there was no negative feedback from you. Instead you have come on to Trip Advisor to post a rather negative review and mark us down for the above points. We would recommend to every guest staying in any hotel that if you have a problem, inform the Front of House staff; we are happy to help and serve you in anyway we can.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope you had a productive and enjoyable stay in Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Positive :
Luxury room , excellent breakfast ( there was a Jam and butter that we have not eaten before and I wish to try it again , Very clean room. , Free High Speed internet

Negative
Just a little far from city centre

Room Tip: Chose a room near their garden ( So beautiful )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Salisbury Hotel and also for your positive feedback.

With regards to your negative points which you marked us down greatly for, I would like to point out a few things in relation.

On our own website and all our 3rd party booking sites our location is clearly stated, we are around a 15 minute walk to the famous Royal Mile and a 25 minute walk to Princes Street/Waverley Station, if walking is not your thing then we are well served by Lothian Buses, there are some 11 buses from the end of our street that run towards the city centre, these run as frequently as every 5 minutes.

our Hotel is set on a quiet 1 way street in the leafy suburb of Newington, away from all the noise of the city and we believe this to be condusive to a great nights sleep.

Kevan Potter
General Manager



Kind regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Gabbro bistro provides excellent quality Scottish cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salisbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.