We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Outside City Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Salisbury Hotel to your Saves list
The Salisbury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Outside City Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights on our trip to Scotland. It appeared to be a duplex that was converted into a hotel. We stayed in the room Pleasance, which is right on the main floor. The room was large and spacious and nicely decorated, high ceilings and large shuttered windows, comfortable bed (despite being 2 twins put together), good water pressure in shower. It has a partial view of garden but the garden didnt have much to see (looked like a typical back yard to me). The front desk (Adam) was very helpful with ideas and directions. Breakfast was continential, and was good for what it was (cold meat, cheeze, cereal, fruit, yogart, toast, etc.). The only negative was the hotel is about a 10 minute bus ride to the city, so it is outside of all the action, and a bit to far to walk (unless you want to walk 30 minutes each way plus walk to all the sites - a bit much after a long day). Bus service is good though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our establishment.

The Salisbury Hotel is made up of two former Georgian Townhouses located in the quiet residential suburb of Newington. Our rooms offer a bright and spacious environment in which our guests can relax. All of our bedrooms have been recently decorated and offer a selection of mod cons and comfy beds. An excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet is inclusive of all room rates, and Cooked Breakfast items are also available for a small additional charge.

Our knowledgeable and friendly Front of House staff are always on hand to help our guests with whatever they may require. No request is too big or too small and we are always available to offer recommendations of sights to see, activities to do and places to eat and drink.

The Hotel is located a mere 20-minute walk from the historic Royal Mile and the City Centre. For those guests that would prefer to use public transport, a bus stop is located 100 metres from the Hotel and is frequented by no less than ten speedy services to the City Centre.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the capital on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    205
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
94
274
34
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovly hotel... We had a excellent one night stay mid August for the Edinburgh tattoo left really late booking so wasn't sure what to expect. Few parking spaces available at hotel... non vacant when we arrived but a staff member offere to move his own car for us to have his space. Hotel is typical old style town house but i would say quite recently decorated (last 5 years maybe) room with en suite was very homely, comfortable, and most importantly clean. If I was to be at all picky our double bed was a two singles stuck together but this happens a lot in hotels and we were not offered a cooked breakfast just continental, but I am sure it would have not been a problem had we asked for it. Staff all very friendly and will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the Salisbury Hotel.

We are happy to be able to offer our guests a free limited parking service – a rarity in Edinburgh. We offer ten spaces for 18 rooms, available on a first come first served basis. Double Parking may be required but reception can move cars for guests if necessary.

All of our bedrooms have been recently decorated and offer a clean and comfortable environment in which to relax. Our King-Size beds are topped with an extra Silent Night memory foam topper to further increase their comfort and afford our guests an excellent night’s sleep.

All of our room rates are inclusive of an excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet. Cooked Breakfast items are available on the menu for a small additional charge.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The quality of the rooms in the hotel cannot be faulted and the hotel is a convenient walk away from the centre of Edinburgh. Sadly, the breakfast did not live up to expectations. The information in our room stated that a continental breakfast was served with the option of local cooked breakfast too. There was no sight of a cooked breakfast at all however. Attention to detail lacked somewhat with the breakfast that was served which was a shame as everything else was excellent .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Salisbury Hotel.

We are happy to learn that the quality and convenience of the Hotel, its rooms and the services on offer were up to your expectations and standards. The Salisbury Hotel aims to ensure each and every single one of our guests leaves us having had a memorable, relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Each of our room rates is inclusive of an excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet that offers a wide range of pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruits, compotes, fruit juices, teas, coffee and toast. An equally excellent menu of Cooked Breakfast items is available to all of our guests, offering a delicious hot breakfast for a small additional charge. Menus are available on the breakfast tables each morning for guests to select from and our waiting staff are always happy to help with any requests guests may have.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great couple of nights at the Salisbury. Our room was clean and spatious, and we had very good wifi strength. The staff were welcoming and very willing to provide assistance and local advice. The availability of parking was a definite plus for us, even though the number of spots was limited. We were able to walk to the city in less than 30 minutes and found it an ideal base for the Edinburg festival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your two night stay at the Salisbury Hotel. All of our rooms offer our guests a clean, spacious and comfortable environment in which to relax. All of our rates include a Continental Breakfast Buffet, complimentary WiFi and refreshments.

Our helpful Front of House staff are always on hand to ensure our guests receive whatever guidance required to enjoy their stay in Edinburgh. From restaurant recommendations to tour bookings, no request is too big or too small.

The Hotel is happy to offer our guests a free limited parking facility (a rarity in Edinburgh); we have ten spaces for 18 rooms, available on a first come first served basis. Double parking may be required.

The Hotel is located just a 20-minute stroll from the historic Royal Mile that boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location was great. the staff nice.the rooms were really dirty.dust in each corner ,on every shelf. bathroom was really dirty as well.so if u expect a 4star standard dont go there.rooms are of decent size tho.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay at the Hotel. With regards to any issues that you experienced, had any mentioned them to our Front of House Staff during your stay they would have been investigated and rectified immediately. We would advise all guests to inform Front of House of any problems that may unfortunately arise instead of waiting to comment on them after their departure.

We would like to point out your review does contain several positive aspects:

The Hotel is in a great location for guests wishing to come to Edinburgh and enjoy all the sights and attractions on offer. Located in the quiet residential suburb of Newington, the Hotel is located a mere 20-minute stroll from the historic Royal Mile that boasts Edinburgh Castle, St. Giles’ Cathedral, the Scottish Parliament and Holyrood Palace.

Our Front of House staff are always available to ensure that our guests receive all the guidance and help they require when visiting Edinburgh. No request is too big or too small. We are happy to help with tour bookings, restaurant reservations and recommendations of what to see and do in and around the City. We are here to help our guests with whatever they need.

Our rooms are all a good size and offer our guests a luxurious and relaxing environment in which to rest between bouts of shopping and sightseeing. Our high standards and rating are invigilated and awarded by Visit Scotland and the Scottish Tourist Board; a vigorous annual inspection ensures we maintain high standards and services offered.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope you enjoyed Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A short 2 night stay to go to the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. On arrival reception was friendly and professional, having seen the reviews that mentioned no lift it was no surprise but my case was quite heavy as this was just part of a longer trip. The receptionist offered to carry my case but she seemed such a slight little thing I said that I could manage, (my son was carrying his and his family's belongings). I wonder why the owners have not investigated some way of getting bags upstairs, is there nothing out there? The rooms were good, my son, daughter-in-law and 2 grand children had a family room, I had a double room to myself. It was adequate for me, cozy had there been 2 of us. The shower room had a drain like smell, I thought that if I left the door open it would dissipate but when I got back the whole room smelled funny. The following day after the room had been cleaned it was fine, I think that the trick was to leave the stopper clsed in the wash basin. The continental breakfast was okay ,the coffee I found to be awful both mornings but I suppose that is a matter of taste. On the second morning I had a cooked breakfast that was very nice. However my daughter-in-law demonstrated the robustness of her croissant by tapping it on her plate, it sounded as though she were tapping with a gavel. Also on the second morning the staff cleared vacated tables with an unwarranted sense of urgency that resulted in an intrusive clatter. This may sound like I'm nit-picking but it really was very loud in an otherwise subdued ambiance, I remarked that it seemed as though the staff were angry. I'm sure that they were just so task oriented that they had no idea how very intrusive the noise was and had it have been a large noisy bustling cafeteria instead of a gentle breafast room I probably wouldn't have noticed. To be fair there was nothing that I would've felt the need to complain about there-and-then. I would stay there again but only for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Salisbury Hotel. Our Front of House Reception team are always on hand to offer a friendly, knowledgeable and professional service. We are always happy to help our guests with whatever they require, from restaurant reservations to sightseeing recommendations to helping them with their luggage; no request is too big or too small.

All of our spacious bedrooms offer our guests a clean, comfortable and peaceful environment in which to relax. All rooms are cleaned to a high standard daily and should guests have any particular requests with regards to cleaning they can contact a member of staff who will be happy to help.

Inclusive of all of our room rates is an excellent Continental Breakfast Buffet that offers a large selection of freshly prepared items. A Cooked Breakfast menu is also available and items are charged at a small additional cost.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel had a perfect location with free parking which is always a bonus. We had booked it online and upon arrival the hotel looked lovely from the outside.. We were welcomed at reception and shown to our "superior" room. My husband and I were looking forward to a rare night away from home. The room was "ok" to be honest could do with a lick of paint in places and the walk in shower leaks across the bathroom, which is surely a design floor.. The room was clean, we were confused with the bed.. It's standard we know to connect two beds together, but then to place a layer of foam on top and have sheets that then don't properly fit this set up was a shame as during the night we were adjusting the sheets etc.. Saying that, we were only using the hotel as a place to crash as we planned on spending most of our time exploring the city.. Breakfast was basic but ok. Perhaps you need a greater selection of herbal tea as not everyone wants tea or coffee.. The waitresses has to scramble round in a draw looking for a tea bag. I think if the paint work in the room and in the main landing could be dealt with, as clealry there has been a leak.. and perhaps the sheets for the beds were looked at this would improve things. Location was great and we enjoyed out walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Salisbury Hotel.

Boasting spacious, clean and comfortable rooms that guests can relax in between bouts of shopping and sightseeing, the Hotel is in an ideal location for those guests wishing to explore the City and visit all the amazing attractions that Edinburgh has on offer. All of the bedrooms in the Hotel have recently been redecorated.

Each room that holds a King-Size bed has a Silent Night memory foam mattress topper to add an extra layer of comfort for our guests. All rooms use 100% Egyptian Cotton bed linen to complete the luxury of an amazing night’s rest.

Complimentary refreshments are supplied in each room and available at breakfast including tea, coffee, mineral water and a large selection of herbal and fruit teas.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Salisbury Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Gabbro bistro provides excellent quality Scottish cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salisbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.