We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Salisbury Hotel to your Saves list
The Salisbury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Found this hotel on hotels.com after arriving in Edinburgh a day earlier than planned and this was a great find. Great location and easy access for local transport to the Castle and Royal Mile. Has off road parking which is fantastic and friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay here again. Fab breakfast. Wish we had stayed here the whole time we were in Edinburgh as this hotel was better than where we were booked for the rest of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our Hotel.

The Salisbury Hotel is a mere 20-minute walk from the majestic Royal Mile which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. The Hotel is also an excellent location for access to a selection of Edinburgh’s other attractions such as the Pollock Halls of Residence and the main Edinburgh University campuses, the Royal Commonwealth Swimming Pool and the beautiful Arthur’s Seat.

An outstanding bus service provided by Lothian Buses will take guests around Edinburgh with ease and efficiency, and there is a bus stop located a 30-second walk around the corner from the Hotel. Serviced by no less than ten frequent services to the City Centre, guests can be shopping on Princes Street in no time at all.

Edinburgh can be an expensive city for guests to park their car in, so we are incredibly happy to offer our guests a free limited parking facility. Spaces are allocated on a first come first served basis, but it is very, very rare we have to ask guests to park on Salisbury Road.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    221
    49
    23
    15
See reviews for
99
308
38
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great to have free parking so close to the centre of Edinburgh. The receptionist was very helpful. We arrived early and were told there would be a 15-20 minute wait for our room. The receptionist took our bags and guided us down the the bistro for a drink while we waited. Lovely surroundings although a glass of wine was rather expensive. The receptionist came to tell us when our room was ready. The room was smaller than expected but the bed was huge and the bathroom was very clean and modern. We also had a free bottle of wine with the room. The room was cosy and the bed comfortable. It took us around 20 minutes to walk to Princes Street at a leisurely pace. There was confusion with breakfast. We had paid in advance for a cooked breakfast but we were not offered it. Once we had pointed this out our breakfast was ordered quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the Salisbury Hotel.

Edinburgh can be an expensive city for guests to park their car in, so we are incredibly happy to offer our guests a free limited parking facility. Spaces are allocated on a first come first served basis, but it is very, very rare we have to ask guests to park on Salisbury Road.

Our excellent Front of House reception team is always on hand to help our guests with whatever they require. Check in is from 3pm, but if we can accommodate our guests sooner we will. Luggage can be left with reception in the case of an early arrival and placed in the guest’s room for a later check in. All of our bedrooms have just been newly refurbished and offer a cosy and comfortable environment for our guests to relax in.

The Hotel houses Café Cassis; an excellent independently run bistro, offering guests and the public an excellent menu with Galic flair, serviced by a superb, knowledgeable and friendly team.

The Salisbury Hotel is a mere 20-minute walk from the majestic Royal Mile which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. An outstanding bus service provided by Lothian Buses will take guests around Edinburgh with ease and efficiency, and there is a bus stop located a 30-second walk around the corner from the Hotel. Serviced by no less than ten frequent services to the City Centre, guests can be shopping on Princes Street in next to no time.

Thank you again for your review of the Salisbury Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Looking for a last minute room on a business trip to Edinburgh. I came across this on a comparison site. It received fairly good reviews, yet after staying there I have NO idea why!!!

The cost was expensive, the room was tiny and dirty, definitely not 4* as quoted. The room was cold, yet there is nobody on reception after 10pm, and the emergency number was unavailable. Prior to this, there was a note left on Reception stating "Back in 5 mins", but when did he leave!? We waited half an hour and he never returned! The electric fan heater in the room kept switching off completely after 2 minutes...which was frustrating. The shower would not drain properly so we were stood in approximately 3 inches of dirty water which is disgusting! After telling the owner about this, all he said was that he would "look into it" (No apology or anything).

Breakfast was minimal, but we paid for it, only to have the several waitresses take it from under our nose, 5 minutes into eating which really annoyed me! It was bad enough that breakfast was suggested as though it was a cooked breakfast, not a continental one, which is what we half received!

The staff spoke loudly in their own foreign (perhaps eastern European) language in the breakfast area which was rude, and swept up rubbish from the floor around us. This is bad manners, I am sure this can be done AFTER we have left!?

And then there is parking, which can only be done on the forecourt, as street parking is not available on the tiny one way street. There are 6 spaces available, yet if all 6 cars are parked in the spaces, 2 will be blocked in until the other guests move. Frustrating!!!!

If cheapness is what you're after, go somewhere else. If you want quality, I'd suggest paying more! Though you don't pay for friendliness, that should come free...clearly not available here!

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our most sincere apologies that you believe your stay did not fulfill your expectations. At the Salisbury Hotel we always aim to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. While we appreciate you feel certain ‘issues’ required comment, we do believe that your review is somewhat unfair and rather over exaggerated.

The Salisbury Hotel’s 4-Star Townhouse Hotel status is awarded, inspected and maintained by Visit Scotland and the Scottish Tourist Board. This status means that we have undergone and continue to undergo a series of inspections to ensure that we meet and maintain the high standards required for this category of Hotel.

With regards to the issues you have raised:

• All of our rooms have been newly decorated and are thoroughly cleaned by our Housekeeping staff on a daily basis.

• Every room in the Hotel has a fully working and effective radiator and in addition each room has an electric heater. Additional radiators are also available from reception should a guest request one.

• Our reception area is manned from 8am to 11pm everyday and is never unattended for periods of ‘half an hour’ as you claim. Our Front of House team has a portable bell; if they are performing a task in another area of the Hotel they can return in a few seconds notice. Our Night Porter is always contactable between 11pm to 8am.

• Our Continental Breakfast buffet is inclusive of all of our rates - as is stated on our booking websites - and we have on offer an excellent selection of breakfast items including pastries, cereals, fruits, yoghurts, meats, cheeses, toast, fruit juice, tea, coffee, etc. Cooked Breakfast items are available for an additional charge and this is clearly visible on our menus and explained by Waiting staff. Guests who book direct may be entitled to Cooked Breakfast items.

• All of our staff speak English and are able to converse with and serve our guests effectively and in a polite and professional manner. All of our staff have a courteous and professional manner and are always happy to help our guests with whatever they may require.

• With regards to our parking: yet again, it is clearly stated on our booking websites that we have limited free parking available on a first come first served basis. On the very rare occasion that there is no car parking spaces available, Salisbury Road offers plenty of parking options. We do have four spaces that require double parking and when these are used, guests are instructed to leave their keys with the Front of House staff for ease. The Hotel staff will move any double parked cars happily. We are very happy to be able to offer our guests free parking, especially considering it is a rarity in Edinburgh.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope you had a nice time in Edinburgh regardless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I am from Edinburgh and have only stayed in a couple of hotels through necessity. This was a surprise find through the internet and I would recommend it highly. The location is brilliant and you would not expect to find free parking in that part of town but there are six spots and the option for double parking. The staff take your key and sort out any arrangements for car moving in your absence. All imaginable buses available and walking distance to most important places.The bistro downstairs with a French Chef is a great added bonus.

Final important thing for me was that it is a converted old property and does not have artificial air circulation with chemicals. For anyone who suffers from chemical sensitivities, the place is a gift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review of the Salisbury Hotel. We are located in the quiet residential area of Newington in the Southside of the City. The Hotel is a mere 20-minute walk from the City Centre and the historic Royal Mile, which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. We are close enough to the hustle and bustle for our guests to enjoy the great atmosphere Edinburgh has on offer, but far enough out for peace and quiet at the end of a long day’s sightseeing.

The Hotel does offer our guests free limited space parking, allocated on a first come first served basis. Edinburgh is a very busy and expensive city to park in so we are very happy to be able to supply our guests with this service. Should you be required to double park your car, all we ask is that you leave your keys with us for your own ease should your vehicle need moved. The Hotel is located just around the corner from a bus stop frequented by no less than ten services which will take our guests to the City Centre in 5- to 10-minutes.

Café Cassis is an independently run bistro which the Salisbury Hotel is very happy to house. Offering an excellent menu full of Galic flair, the friendly and knowledgeable staff will make sure that you have an excellent dining experience.

With regards to guest’s special requests, such as using non-scented cleaning products in a room for example, the Salisbury Hotel is always happy to comply where possible. We want to make sure that all of our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Salisbury Hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner recently stayed with this hotel and found the room was smaller than expected, and our sheets hadnt been changed from the previous guests. The staff had that changed by the evening but there was still some maintenance issues with the room like the sink plug was broken and that all the coat hangers were falling off.

We where excited to learn that our breakfast was complimentary due to booking online. Our first trip there was excellent and I could not fault there professionalism but our following two visits made myself and my girlfriend feel like we were just a nuisance to them.

When my partner merely asked for more milk for her tea and toast (which had not been offered to us) the waitress walked away muttering "ugh again!" under her breathe. She returned to slam the milk on to the table. The rest of our meal felt very uncomfortable as the staff clears wanted to move us on. The next day we were all but ignored, weren't offered any menu's were given no pleasantries, just made to feel that we were nothing but an inconvenience. I have never been treated so poorly before and it would seriously make me think twice about staying with the hotel again.

We were not even asked how our stay was at the end of the trip and I can certainly see why.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that there were issues with your stay, but we are happy to see that there are also positive remarks in your review.

The Salisbury Hotel is situated in a good location for our guests to gain very easy access to the city centre. Located in the residential area of Newington, the Hotel is a 20-minute walk from the city centre and the historic Royal Mile. An excellent bus service is in operation in the city and a bus stop located 30-seconds around the corner from the Hotel is frequented by no fewer than ten services to the centre.

An excellent Continental Breakfast buffet is included in all of our rates, but guests who book directly with the Hotel receive complimentary Cooked Breakfast items also. Both options are a delicious way for our guests to start the day.

With regards to your issues with the Hotel, your claim that your bed sheets had not been changed between the room’s previous occupant’s departure and your arrival are simply not true. Our Front of House and Housekeeping teams are meticulous when it comes to keeping the cleanliness of the Hotel to a high 4-Star standard. If you thought your sheets were not clean, it begs the question, why did you not inform our Front of House team or Hotel Management at the time? Also, the sink plug in your room was not broken; its design merely required you pushed it in and out to operate.

Our Breakfast Waiting team is always on hand to offer our guests an excellent and welcoming service. Please accept our apologies if you felt they were ignoring you during a busy service, but again your issue was never brought to either our Breakfast Supervisor’s or Hotel Management’s attention. We have never had any major issues with our Breakfast Waiting team’s service or attitude towards guests in the past, but rather find a majority of our guests commenting favorably on the service they have received.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here mid February.
Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and excellent value for money.
The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile and a taxi will cost you about £5!
Make sure you visit the Jolly Judge pub!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our Hotel.

Our friendly and helpful waiting staff are on hand to help our guests with whatever they require and are always happy to offer advice on places to visit and establishments to eat in. No request is too big or too small.

The Hotel is just a 20-minute walk from the Royal Mile, which boasts both Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle. The Hotel is also in the perfect location for easy access to Edinburgh University, the Pollock Halls, Arthur’s Seat, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool and many other attractions.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Superb little hotel...we booked this hotel as a last minute deal and from start to finish we weren't disappointed,a beautifull four poster bed with a lovely queen sofa bed for my 2 kids.. Breakfast was included in the price and it was all fresh with lovely service!! Only a 15 min walk into the grass market,free parking was a bonus in Edinburgh a big bonus!!i would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our Hotel.

We are really happy to hear that you had such an excellent experience at the Salisbury Hotel.
Our Four-Poster Deluxe rooms are ideal for special occasions and romantic getaways, but offer a spacious, comfortable and relaxing environment for those travelling with children as well.

All room rates are inclusive of a Continental Breakfast buffet which offers a great selection of items including pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, toast, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffees. Cooked items are also available for a small additional charge.

The Hotel is just a 20-minute walk from Edinburgh’s historic and majestic Royal Mile, which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. The Hotel is also in the perfect location for easy access to Edinburgh University, the Pollock Halls, Arthur’s Seat, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool and many other attractions.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salisbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.