We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #6 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed over New Year, for four days. It was fantastic, the staff were amazing, and truly make the hotel.
We went to the Hogmany Ball on New Year's eve as well - it was great fun, expensive, but worth every penny.
I would say that a Hotel of this quality should have a better gym, and charging for wireless seems a bit cheap, given the cost of the room. Not much to whinge about though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,270
    369
    94
    53
    24
See reviews for
332
844
82
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a treat arranged by my husband. From the arrival to the departure everything was elegant and relaxing. Our suite was superb and a lovely surprise. The Balmoral is unfaultable anyone who has the privilege to stay their will have an unforgettable experience. I'm thinking about treating my mum along with afternoon tea for her 80th birthday later on this year. Thank you to all the staff you helped to make our weekend a very special unforgettable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

3 times we were staying in Balmoral - The best place to stay! Service, stuff, quality - perfect.
Breakfast - Fantastic. Room - big, comfortable, bathroom - new, designed, very clean.
Stuff - friendly and very professional. Spa - very nice place.
Location - number one in Edinburgh. Its second year we spend here Xmas week - never disappointing. Its not cheap, but it worse it.
One small comment - wifi could be free..
Best regards to all stuff and I wish you a very happy New year!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your most recent visit to The Balmoral Hotel. I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your Christmas stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the peace and tranquillity of our Spa. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again during 2013.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited here with my missus to undertake a wee bit of Xmas shopping in Edinburgh.
First time we have stayed here and it was excellent, although we should have booked our evening meal at time of booking as all the eateries at the hotel were all fully booked so had to eat out at one of the restaurants in Edinburgh.
Will book again in the future and enjoy the gastronomic experience at the hotel that everyone has been craving....lol
Look forward to visiting again at around easter time, see you all then

Room Tip: Castle view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at The Balmoral in an inward facing room. It is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. At the cheapest rate, I expected the inward room but because I was on the top floor the room was bright and was overlooked by the iconic clock tower. The room itself was large, comfy, nicely finished and impeccably clean. The finer details were purely luxurious, it had the softest mattress and pillows (better than my own) and a huge marble surround bathtub. The rest of the hotel is beautiful, I only wish my stay was longer so I could have experienced more of it. The food I had was delicious and the spa was really nice.

The staff are the friendliest I have ever come across. They remembered me and acknowledged me by name every time I passed them, made conversation (because I was by myself) and nothing was too much trouble.

The location is perfect for a city stay or business trip. The entrance onto Princes Street from the train station is directly next to it, sight seeing buses are around the corner and the main shopping/eating areas are down the street or over the bridge.

I spent a second night in another hotel further down the street in a slightly more expensive room that didn't come close to the pure luxury of this hotel. It had the wow factor but lacked on the finer details.

There is no other hotel I would want to stay in should I return to Edinburgh, next time I will lengthen my stay and opt for a room with a view.

If you plan on visiting I recommend you ask for an inward room that is higher up or pay slightly more for a view if this is something you are bothered about; judging from other pictures my experience would have been slightly different if I was facing the kitchens or a wall. Also, be prepared to pay for the quality food they provide.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

stayed at this hotel with relatives for a hogmanay break and attended the Gala Ball. The whole experience was excellent and is something we will consider doing again.
The hogmanay event was excellent -- good food, good company, a variety of music to suit everyone and great views of the fireworks display. A most enjoyable and very relaxing way to bring in the New Year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are a bit quieter, especially at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in The Balmoral from the 4th-6th January. Great hotel. I will normally always find something to moan about and so would my partner. Couldn't find a fault with this hotel. Rooms where spotless and staff where very pleasant. Only disappointment was didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurtant, due to outside committements.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels' Balmoral is a luxury hotel in the true sense of the word. With its majestic clock tower, the hotel is a unique and contemporary luxury five-star property in the very heart of Edinburgh. While many Edinburgh hotels claim to have Edinburgh's landmarks on their doorstep, few can say their doorstep is a landmark. Located on Princes Street, in Edinburgh's main shopping area and next to Waverley Station, The Balmoral is close to the leading luxury department stores and within walking distance of many Edinburgh attractions.Edinburgh International Airport is just 25 minutes by car from the hotel, and its convenient location makes The Balmoral the ideal luxury hotel in Edinburgh for business or leisure, including the famous Edinburgh Festival and Hogmanay. There are also convenient transport links also from Glasgow or Prestwick Airports.The Balmoral offers 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms, many with views towards Edinburgh Castle and the Old Town. The Balmoral’s ten conference and banqueting suites, including the signature Sir Walter Scott Suite all enjoy natural daylight and can accommodate a wide range of events including: business conferences, intimate dinner parties, large receptions and weddings. The hotel and city also make for an ideal incentive destination with an abundance of history and culture readily available.When it comes to fine-dining, the choice of restaurants at The Balmoral matches the mood of the moment. With attentive but non-intrusive service, guests can choose from the hotel's Michelin-starred number one fine dining restaurant with outstanding cuisine provided by Chef Jeff Bland; Hadrian's for chic and informal dining; Palm Court for traditional afternoon tea or its very own Bollinger Bar. The newly refurbished and stylish Balmoral Bar is perfect for a relaxing cocktail or traditional whisky.For the ultimate in relaxation, the Balmoral Spa is an exclusive retreat in the heart of the city offering five treatment rooms with ESPA treatments, a 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and exercise studio. The Balmoral is the perfect choice for a luxurious city spa break.The Balmoral was named as the top Scottish hotel in the Telegraph Travel Awards 2012 and as the Top UK Business Hotel outside of London at the Condé Nast Traveler’s Readers’ Travel Awards 2012. Be it for a luxury romantic break or important business meeting; make The Balmoral your address in Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.