We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
The Balmoral Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland (Princes Street and Gardens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed over New Year, for four days. It was fantastic, the staff were amazing, and truly make the hotel.
We went to the Hogmany Ball on New Year's eve as well - it was great fun, expensive, but worth every penny.
I would say that a Hotel of this quality should have a better gym, and charging for wireless seems a bit cheap, given the cost of the room. Not much to whinge about though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,715
    495
    128
    60
    30
See reviews for
451
1,129
101
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a treat arranged by my husband. From the arrival to the departure everything was elegant and relaxing. Our suite was superb and a lovely surprise. The Balmoral is unfaultable anyone who has the privilege to stay their will have an unforgettable experience. I'm thinking about treating my mum along with afternoon tea for her 80th birthday later on this year. Thank you to all the staff you helped to make our weekend a very special unforgettable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

3 times we were staying in Balmoral - The best place to stay! Service, stuff, quality - perfect.
Breakfast - Fantastic. Room - big, comfortable, bathroom - new, designed, very clean.
Stuff - friendly and very professional. Spa - very nice place.
Location - number one in Edinburgh. Its second year we spend here Xmas week - never disappointing. Its not cheap, but it worse it.
One small comment - wifi could be free..
Best regards to all stuff and I wish you a very happy New year!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your most recent visit to The Balmoral Hotel. I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your Christmas stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the peace and tranquillity of our Spa. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again during 2013.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited here with my missus to undertake a wee bit of Xmas shopping in Edinburgh.
First time we have stayed here and it was excellent, although we should have booked our evening meal at time of booking as all the eateries at the hotel were all fully booked so had to eat out at one of the restaurants in Edinburgh.
Will book again in the future and enjoy the gastronomic experience at the hotel that everyone has been craving....lol
Look forward to visiting again at around easter time, see you all then

Room Tip: Castle view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at The Balmoral in an inward facing room. It is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. At the cheapest rate, I expected the inward room but because I was on the top floor the room was bright and was overlooked by the iconic clock tower. The room itself was large, comfy, nicely finished and impeccably clean. The finer details were purely luxurious, it had the softest mattress and pillows (better than my own) and a huge marble surround bathtub. The rest of the hotel is beautiful, I only wish my stay was longer so I could have experienced more of it. The food I had was delicious and the spa was really nice.

The staff are the friendliest I have ever come across. They remembered me and acknowledged me by name every time I passed them, made conversation (because I was by myself) and nothing was too much trouble.

The location is perfect for a city stay or business trip. The entrance onto Princes Street from the train station is directly next to it, sight seeing buses are around the corner and the main shopping/eating areas are down the street or over the bridge.

I spent a second night in another hotel further down the street in a slightly more expensive room that didn't come close to the pure luxury of this hotel. It had the wow factor but lacked on the finer details.

There is no other hotel I would want to stay in should I return to Edinburgh, next time I will lengthen my stay and opt for a room with a view.

If you plan on visiting I recommend you ask for an inward room that is higher up or pay slightly more for a view if this is something you are bothered about; judging from other pictures my experience would have been slightly different if I was facing the kitchens or a wall. Also, be prepared to pay for the quality food they provide.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

stayed at this hotel with relatives for a hogmanay break and attended the Gala Ball. The whole experience was excellent and is something we will consider doing again.
The hogmanay event was excellent -- good food, good company, a variety of music to suit everyone and great views of the fireworks display. A most enjoyable and very relaxing way to bring in the New Year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are a bit quieter, especially at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in The Balmoral from the 4th-6th January. Great hotel. I will normally always find something to moan about and so would my partner. Couldn't find a fault with this hotel. Rooms where spotless and staff where very pleasant. Only disappointment was didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurtant, due to outside committements.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 146 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,021 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#12 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.