We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent luxury hotel in central Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
The Balmoral Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent luxury hotel in central Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Balmoral for 2 nights during a short visit to Edinburgh, in a deluxe room at the top floor.

The room itself (corner) was huge, almost double the size of traditional rooms elsewhere with a very comfortable sofa, table and chairs (mini-living room) and a king bed. Bathroom was also of very high quality and spacious.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful, polite and efficient - Room was kept very clean and breakfast provided plenty of choice, though the croissants were not always of the same high quality.

Hotel is very conveniently placed next to the Waverley train station and a short walk to most places.

One minor nuisance - The water pressure in the shower was disappointing; not what you would expect for a hotel of this quality. Not sure if it had anything to do with our room being at the highest floor in the building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us at The Balmoral Hotel. We have recently completed considerable refurbishment of our guest rooms and I am pleased that you were impressed with the results. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the poor performance of the water pressure in your shower. I am sorry this was not detected prior to your arrival and I have now shared your comments with our engineer to ensure this is rectified.

My colleagues and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With our best wishes for a Happy and Prosperous 2013,

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    411
    104
    56
    25
See reviews for
361
941
87
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited the Balmoral and were very impressed with not only it's perfect location being on Princes street (right in the center of all things Edinburgh), but also of the amazing service we received. You would think a nice hotel like this would not accomodate kids, but they did a great job and accomodated our 11 year old, even with a complimentary hot chocolate upon arrival! Our funnest was staying in the JK Rowling suite - Yes the suite she actually finished the final Harry Potter book in!! The PalmCourt room is perfect for an afternoon tea, and the bar has great original cocktails - my favorite was the Prince Apre. Julie was so attentive, and delivered top-notch service. Highly recommend the Balmoral for families and couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Whoever is in charge of staff training should have a pay rise, I have never been in an hotel with mo pleasant and helpful staff, from the doorman to check-in , from bar staff to spa staff everyone we met was delightful. The location is also excellent at the end of Princes street and with valet parking there was no problem with leaving the car for the whole weekend. Hadrian,s brasserie was lovely for our evening meal and breakfast was a feast. Our first visit and certainly not our last

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed here and were very impressed by the quality of the accommodation, the facilities and the food. The location is excellent.
And although it was expensive, definitely worth treating ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here as a family member had got us a stay in Edinburgh as a gift.
This hotel is excellent, the service was some of the best i have had in a hotel. Check in was supposed to be at 3pm, our train got us in at 9am and as the hotel is right next to the train station we went in just to see if we could drop our bags off whilst we shopped..... They actually gave us our room though 6 hours before the check in time!
The bed was huge and very comfortable and tidyness of the hotel and the rooms was obviously high on the agenda as it was spotless.
The hotel knew that we were there as a wedding gift and because of that brought chocolates to our room as their gift to us and when we had high tea we were treated to an excellent atmosphere and a man playing the harp to create an atmosphere.
The following day we were due to check out at 12 and our train wasn't until after 2 and again the hotel looked after our bags even after check out.
The service from everyone we came across in this hotel was excellent, particually Jenny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us at The Balmoral Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that my colleagues took such excellent care of you. I am pleased that we were in a position to allow you early access to your room, and it will be a pleasure to share your positive comments regarding the high levels of service, cleanliness and comfort with the team.

With my warmest congratulations on your recent marriage,

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days as a birthday treat and what a treat it was. It's a beautiful hotel and completely gorgeous interiors. The room was perfect and overlooked Princes Street.Above average fixtures and fittings and a big flat screen tv. All the staff are super friendly and super efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. We had dinner the first night in the Michelin starred restaurant downstairs, The Number One. An experience I can recommend to anyone. The whole dinner service was like a carefully choreographed dance.Everything happened seamlessly and I can honestly say I have never experienced such brilliant service from the amuse bouche all the way to the lovely birthday petit fours served at the end of the night. We went down for breakfast the next morning which was a delight. Everything was completely freshly made and the service was first rate . I can't speak highly enough about this hotel and will be going back for sure. Delightful stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels' Balmoral is a luxury hotel in the true sense of the word. With its majestic clock tower, the hotel is a unique and contemporary luxury five-star property in the very heart of Edinburgh. While many Edinburgh hotels claim to have Edinburgh's landmarks on their doorstep, few can say their doorstep is a landmark. Located on Princes Street, in Edinburgh's main shopping area and next to Waverley Station, The Balmoral is close to the leading luxury department stores and within walking distance of many Edinburgh attractions.Edinburgh International Airport is just 25 minutes by car from the hotel, and its convenient location makes The Balmoral the ideal luxury hotel in Edinburgh for business or leisure, including the famous Edinburgh Festival and Hogmanay. There are also convenient transport links also from Glasgow or Prestwick Airports.The Balmoral offers 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms, many with views towards Edinburgh Castle and the Old Town. The Balmoral’s ten conference and banqueting suites, including the signature Sir Walter Scott Suite all enjoy natural daylight and can accommodate a wide range of events including: business conferences, intimate dinner parties, large receptions and weddings. The hotel and city also make for an ideal incentive destination with an abundance of history and culture readily available.When it comes to fine-dining, the choice of restaurants at The Balmoral matches the mood of the moment. With attentive but non-intrusive service, guests can choose from the hotel's Michelin-starred number one fine dining restaurant with outstanding cuisine provided by Chef Jeff Bland; Hadrian's for chic and informal dining; Palm Court for traditional afternoon tea or its very own Bollinger Bar. The newly refurbished and stylish Balmoral Bar is perfect for a relaxing cocktail or traditional whisky.For the ultimate in relaxation, the Balmoral Spa is an exclusive retreat in the heart of the city offering five treatment rooms with ESPA treatments, a 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and exercise studio. The Balmoral is the perfect choice for a luxurious city spa break.The Balmoral was named as the top Scottish hotel in the Telegraph Travel Awards 2012 and as the Top UK Business Hotel outside of London at the Condé Nast Traveler’s Readers’ Travel Awards 2012. Be it for a luxury romantic break or important business meeting; make The Balmoral your address in Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.