We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edinburgh Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Edinburgh Residence to your Saves list
The Edinburgh Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Absolute Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We just stayed one night but will be back -

Situated in Edinburgh's West End, Rothesay Terrace is close to both the city's main tourist areas and over looks the quaint Dean Village area of Edinburgh yet it is a peaceful yet central location and just a ten minute stroll from the City's Modern Art Gallery.

We cannot rate this amazing place high enough. The staff are absolutely first class, attentive, friendly but professional. Our suite was extremely well appointed, sumptuous, very tastefully decorated, absolutely spotless but equally relaxing. Very comfy bed, Jacuzzi (wonderful) - stunning view of a number of spires.

The breakfast was to die for - so nice and relaxing to have breakfast in the suite - very well presented, pristine linen, Just the treat to start a wonderful sunny Sunday morning .... and as it was Easter ..... we were greeted with a chocolate egg ......

A simple but lovely touch.

You can pick up a mid week treat incl dinner for a very reasonable cost for the 1st class experience.

This place is a must - a stunning place,

From entering the foyer, through to the reception lounge, afternoon tea in the drawing lounge - the Edinburgh Residence Experience is quite something - maybe even the description of Excellent doesn't quite cover how wonderful this place is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Budgetglobetrotters,

Thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation on TripAdvisor. To have one of our guests say that “maybe even the description of Excellent doesn’t quite cover how wonderful this place is” is simply fantastic - all of us here at The Edinburgh Residence take pride in helping our guests enjoy a memorable stay with us.

We are delighted to read that your cooked to order breakfast, served in the comfort and privacy of your own suite made a great start to your day. There is so much to discover in Edinburgh it is understandable that our guest’s would like to make the most of their time in the Capital city and arrive early or depart later on in the day, and as such we will happily store guests luggage for them prior to arrival/upon departure with no additional costs.

It is great that you hope to return to The Edinburgh Residence in the future, we very much look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break in Edinburgh.

With Kind Regards,

Celia Hague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    43
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
153
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from a week-long stay at the spectacular Edinburgh Residence. My spirits soared on simply opening the front door to be greeted by a cavernous and tastefully decorated lobby, complete with roaring log fire. I fully expected to be slightly disappointed by our suite (no. 28) as I couldn't quite believe anything could live up to that welcome...how wrong I was. The suite was simply beautiful and enormous! Panelled walls, "Victorian" tiled bathrooms - complete with brutally forceful showers! - and wonderfully comfortable beds with quality Egyptian cotton bed- linen. We are extremely picky and there were a few slightly shabby corners, but the overall splendour of this hotel more than made up for a couple of petty niggles, not to mention the achingly polite, friendly and efficient staff. Go.

Room Tip: Just give them a call, the staff will be delighted to recommend the most appropriate room for your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 186361Red,

Reading your review has been an absolute pleasure 186361Red, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Edinburgh Residence.

Your suite (suite 28) was one of our spacious Town House Suites which can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. Many of these beautiful suites have superlative features, such as an original fireplace, or an ornate period ceiling, or breathtaking views across Edinburgh, adding to the splendour of the hotel. Unlike larger branded properties, all of our suites are individual in design and atmosphere and, as you highlighted in your review, our friendly team are always happy to help you find the ideal suite for your needs.

Thank you very much for sharing your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Edinburgh Residence soon.

Best Wishes,

Celia Hague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speyer, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Edinburgh Residence and it was absolutely wonderful!
The Victorian terraced house is very beautiful and classy. It is situated in a very quiet residential area, yet only about 5 - 10 mins walk to the city centre.

Our suite was stunning and everything was immaculate and very clean! We had 2 huge bathrooms, both of them had a shower, one of them even had a jacuzzi bath tub. There was plenty of space, so even with 4 people staying in one suite, it was big enough!

We had breakfast one one which was served in our room. You could choose between continental and cooked breakfast (both including lots of choices) and it was very tasty. On our last day, we had ordered afternoon tea and had a lovely table reserved for us right next to the fireplace in the Drawing Room. From the large bay windows, you have a lovely view across Dean Village and the afternoon tea was a delicious and classy experience!

As I've mentioned, the suite was immaculately clean as was the rest of the residence - the cleaning staff do a great job!
Another special thank-you goes to everyone from reception! Everyone is very, very friendly and helpful, whether it comes to booking tours, taxis, restaurant reservations or anything else!

We can highly recommend the Edinburgh Residence and if we ever come back to Edinburgh, we will certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 5, which was absolutely amazing with 2 huge bathrooms. It was downstairs - so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Miss_Taylor_84,

Many thanks for sharing your experience at The Edinburgh Residence on Tripadvisor and for your great feedback. All of us here at The Edinburgh Residence are committed to ensuring all our guests enjoy a truly memorable stay with us and from your comments it appears that we hit the mark.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. We believe The Edinburgh Residence is the perfect setting for a traditional Afternoon Tea – built during the Victorian era as a series of townhouses in Edinburgh’s West End, it has seen many a polite tea part in its time. We have kept this ambience alive and serve Afternoon Tea on traditional three tier silver cake stands, in the peaceful and elegant surroundings of our Drawing Room.

Thank you for your great comments regarding our housekeeping and reception teams, I will pass your comments onto them.

It is wonderful to hear that you would choose to stay with us again if visiting Edinburgh in future and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Celia Hague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have lost count of the number of visits we have made here--it really is superb!
Everything about it oozes class and quality and if oyu 'shop late' you may well get a very good deal. The receptioon greeting is first class and very professional. Room quality and size is amazing also. We got a free upgrade to a suite which was stunning.
Also the residence has 'free' parking behind the building which can otherwise cost you c£25 per day if parking on street or in an NCP
Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Leo93,

Wow Leo93! What a marvellous review and to have one of our regular guests describe us “superb” and “ooz[ing] class and quality” has made our day. Thank you very much for choosing to recommend us again, we are delighted that you continue to enjoy memorable stays at The Edinburgh Residence and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more enjoyable stays in the future.

Best Wishes,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Edinburgh Residence. The room was gorgeous and the bed was first-rate. The bathroom was beautiful and very spacious. Our room had a small sofa and a table which we used when we ordered room service one evening (which was delicious.) The room decor was very upscale -- I even took a couple of pictures of the ceiling moldings, they were spectacular! I love touches like that. The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, about a 15 minute walk from Prince's Street. Visited in the autumn when the leaves were turning; Edinburgh was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend; I booked here because of Trip Advisor ratings and wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Strathmerefan,

We are delighted to hear that you “truly enjoyed” your recent stay at The Edinburgh Residence.

The Edinburgh Residence is spread over three Victorian Townhouses. The property has retained a number of original period features, such as the decorative ceiling mouldings you have described in your review; sweeping staircases and wood panelled walls, which adds to the grand, elegant surroundings enjoyed at The Edinburgh Residence.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your Room Service meal during your stay. Our guests can order from our delicious Room Service Menu at any time of the day or night and unlike other hotels, we do not apply any additional tray charges. With all our luxury Suites being larger than your average hotel room there is plenty of space to enjoy your room service meal either at the dining table or on the sofa (maybe whilst watching one of the DVD’s from our DVD library).

Thank you Strathmerefan for taking the time to share your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Edinburgh Residence.

Best Wishes,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, and it was a really lovely experience. The service from the outset was excellent, the room was beautiful and the location perfect for getting to Princes Street on foot. There were two bathrooms, a bedroom and huge sitting room with some cooking facilities ie a microwave, kettle, coffee machine, some crockery and cutlery. There was parking, which in Edinburgh is a bonus, and we didn't need to move the car all. We had breakfast on one day, and it was super; £12. 50 per head. Highly recommended; we will go back.

Room Tip: Room at the back had a great view over the streets which were particularly nice at night when lit up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Seamus60,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Edinburgh Residence and that our elegant suites and the service you received from our team exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for recommending our breakfast in your review. Our cooked to order breakfast is served at a time suitable for our guests in the privacy of their own suite. We use local suppliers and fresh ingredients to ensure each breakfast served provides a great start to any day.

As you highlighted in your review, The Edinburgh Residence offers complimentary on site parking for our guests. We also offer complimentary valet parking so you can start to relax as soon as you arrive at the hotel, while we park your car and bring your luggage to your suite for you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Edinburgh Residence soon.

With Kind Regards,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Took afternoon tea at The Edinburgh Residence after quite a bit of research as needed somewhere which could accommodate for gluten free. Was warmly welcomed and treated as a staying guest. Very good email coresspondance.
Afternoon tea was delicious, beautifully presented and perfect. Every item was very yummy and the gluten free version looked identical to the "normal" version which was very much appreciated!
Highly recommended, with panoramic view out of the windows.
Service was top class.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Bee528,

To have our Afternoon Tea experience described as “exquisite” is truly wonderful and we are very pleased that you have chosen to recommend us on TripAdvisor.

Housed in a series of Victorian Town Houses in Edinburgh’s West End, The Edinburgh Residence was made for Afternoon Tea. Our Afternoon Tea is served in the elegant Drawing Room, which offers fantastic views over Dean Village and beyond. Presented on a traditional three tier silver cake stand and served with Twinings Tea or Brodies of Edinburgh Coffee, Afternoon Tea at The Edinburgh Residence is a relaxing and fulfilling experience.

As you have highlighted in your review, we are proud to offer a gluten free Afternoon Tea at no additional cost, we simply ask for 24hours advance notice.

We hope you will choose to enjoy Afternoon Tea with us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Edinburgh Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edinburgh Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.