We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In Edinburgh....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Edinburgh to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay In Edinburgh....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Me and my partner decided for a last minute city break away in Edinburgh, and just got back from a great stay in this hotel.

Firstly, the room was very well decorated with all modern appliances and fittings. Even able to plug laptop, cameras etc into the TV set which was a nice touch. Excellently stocked complimentary mini-bar, with plenty of coffee, tea and hot chocolates to choose from.

The bed was excellent, very comfy with amazing Egyptian cotton covers, one of the best hotel beds i've ever had from my time in hotels from around the globe! The speaker in the bathroom didn't work, but it wasn't a big problem for us. The bathroom itself was amazing, lovely monsoon style shower, with plenty of toiletries and fresh towels....things you don't always get in hotels!

Finally, the staff really made the stay. All times very warm and welcoming with excellent customer service. Even let us check in an hour early which was very nice, and kept our bags after check-out the next day until out train.

Overall, an excellent stay, would defiantly recommend to anyone staying in central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Wardhaugh,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you and your partner have had a great stay with us. Although our check in time is 3pm we do try and check guests in as early as possible and should the room not be ready when you arrive we will certainly look after your luggage so you can venture out and explore our beautiful city.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed the warm welcome of our team and will certainly pass your comments on. I do hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon, maybe for a little bit of Christmas shopping.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    222
    52
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
410
35
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for a birthday surprise for my husband so booked an upgraded room to a king junior suite - the room was very impressive. Very modern and funky with nice touches such as the complimentary mini bar and dressing gowns. Also the Aveda toiletries are a nice touch.....The room was lovely and spacious and the bed comfy. The location of the hotel is good as it is nice and quiet but only a 10 minute walk from all the main attractions of Edinburgh. The staff at the hotel are friendly and welcoming. What I like about the hotel is that it is smaller and has more character than other big chain hotels. I would have no hesitation on recommending this hotel - if you want something a bit special then book a suite room!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Lou14Manchester,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you and your husband have enjoyed your birthday surprise stay with us. All our boutique bedrooms come complete with Egyptian cotton bedding, luxury Aveda toiletries, fluffy bathrobes and spa inspired rainfall showers. You also get a complimentary min bar with snacks, soft drinks and fresh milk.

Please do recommend us and I do hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We chose to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in Edinburgh and opted for the hotel as we have stayed at the Liverpool one previously and loved it there too. Stayed for 2 nights.
Reception staff were very welcoming, as was the Manager who took the time to say hello to us-a welcome change from the norm in some "chain" hotels.
Reception escort guests to their rooms and show where things are etc-another nice touch.
Rooms not huge, but perfectly adequate. Very stylish and the attention to detail shows.
Breakfast also great-plenty of choice and the waiter's service was excellent-he made sure that everything was to our satisfaction. Would highly recommend-along with the afternoon tea in the restaurant. We had a lovely stay and will return there for sure-well done to all who work there!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Tequilamax,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your 2 night stay with us, especially since it was for such a special occasion.
Our Turquoise Thistle Restaurant team take great pride in sourcing only the best local produce and you can certainly taste this in your full Scottish breakfast cooked to order.

I will certainly pass your comments on to our team and I do hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel part of the new generation o offerings who are modern and get the small things right. Beautiful room with great furnishings, sound speaker in bathroom, effective lighting, free mini bar of non alcoholic items. Service very friendly and willing. Located near many local restaurants that aren't tourist focused but rather frequented by locals

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Jacksodp,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of our hotel and the service of our team. We pride ourselves in looking after our guests in a personable manner to ensure your time with us is both comfortable and memorable. All of our boutique bedrooms come complete with complimentary mini bar with snacks, soft drinks and fresh milk.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the near future and for your next stay I can recommend our Turquoise Thistle restaurant. My favourite is the 35 day aged Buccleugh Sirloin steak.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and were located a room over looking the street on the top floor. The room was very spacious with a large comfy king size bed with room for an extra bed. The decor was really funky and it was spotlessly clean. I really could not fault the room at all other than some very nasty scratch marks on the wooden floor near to the window which were not attractive. The bathroom had an amazing power shower and I loved the Aveda amenities. Dressing gowns and fluffy towels were provided. The complimentary mini bar was a very nice touch. The restaurant was very pleasant and the food very well presented. There is no parking outside of the hotel but if you call ahead and book parking with the hotel there is a carpark very conveniently located just around the corner. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and we will return. Many thanks to the gentleman on reception who carried our luggage all the way the car and then took the time to look up the best route for us to take on his phone. Lovely staff, super service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Greatholsasia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your 4 night stay in our beautiful city. We certainly are in a perfect location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer. Whether you want to see the world famous castle and the royal mile or indulge in some retail therapy on Multrees walk and George street you will find all this on our doorstep.

I will certainly pass your comments on to our team as it gives us all a great boost when our guests enjoy their stay.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and would definitely come back again.

The room was absolutely amazing....beautiful attention to detail and gorgeous features which gave the room a real elegant yet quirky vibe. The bathroom was equally as good with the best power shower ever!!

Breakfast was really good too. Lots of variety and quite simply delicious!

It's only 10 mins walk to the shops and restaurants so what more could you want....goodbye Harvey Nicks until the next time.......



  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your long weekend with us. We certainly are in a great location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer. Within walking distance you will find the boutiques and designer shops on George street and Multrees walk and of course Harvey Nicks and Jenners are just around the corner.

Our Turquoise Thistle restaurant team take great pride in only serving the fantastic local produce Scotland has to offer and you can not only taste this in your cooked to order full Scottish but also at afternoon tea or dinner.

I do hope that we can welcome you back soon, maybe for some more retail therapy or a visit to Edinburgh's Playhouse theatre.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend business trip and both its location and the facilities were ideal. It's within a five minute walk of the east end of Princes Street and the main train station and though the street it's on is a major bus route was surprisingly quiet at all times of day and night. The hotel itself is contained in what looks to have been two or three terraced properties, though unlike a lot of places like that the rooms in the different original spaces seem to connect without having lots of internal corridors and uneven staircases. The room was spacious and comfortable, but the bed didn't feel as big as I would expect a king size to be (though I didn't measure it). Food in the restaurant was well cooked and attractively presented, and all the staff were pleasant. The only downside I could identify would be for visitors with a car, as there is no parking though there is restricted street parking not too far away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Theologyprof,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of your weekend business trip with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope you have had some spare time to explore a little bit of our neighbourhood. All our rooms have excellent secondary glazing to ensure the hustle and bustle of our vibrant city centre stays outside and you can enjoy a great nights rest. All our Standard and Executive King bedrooms come complete with UK standard king or superking size beds and luxury Egytpian cotton bedding.
We do have 5 car parking spaces available a short 200m walk from the hotel and these need to be prebooked with our reception tea. Should our car park be full we can offer a 10% discount on the St James car park just behind the hotel.

I do hope that we can welcome you back soon, maybe for a visit to Edinburgh's Playhouse theatre.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.