We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Edinburgh to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A somewhat modest frontage in a quiet but very central location gives way upon entering to a real delight of a hotel. It is small but extremely stylish and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent, the bar area cosy and the staff were among the best I have ever experienced. A great location for a short leisure break. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    191
    49
    10
    6
See reviews for
50
338
32
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a most interesting boutique hotel located in central Edinburgh and a great base. Rooms are most comfortable and beautifully decorated. Staff are friendly and efficient and you are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. As it was raining in the evening I decided to dine in the hotel and I'm glad I did. The kitchen is run by Chef Daniel Mellor whom I understand was a finalist on TV's 'Master Chef'. I dined on Hot smoked salmon served served with a caper remoulade and melba toast, followed by a 35 day aged Bucclveuth rib eye served with bearnaise sauce with caulieflower/brocolli gratin - all excellent. This was washed down with the house pinot. Breakfast the next morning was a treat with everything cooked to order rather than the usual tired breakfast buffet most hotels insist on serving. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here in April13 on a Saturday night, parking, use the ncp at greenside place in the omni centre, nothing outside the hotel at all, will cost you £15 ish for the night. Check in was swift, staff very polite and courteous. Room passed the mrs' spotless test , so we were good. Bathroom was big with modern fittings and a large walk in shower, the media unit was a little over the top, but it might amuse some people, I was just happy that everything worked well. The little annex room contained the complimentary fridge that had water/coke/irn bru, biscuits, just little nik naks you dont get for free in other places. The bed was comfy and the breakfast in the morning was very very nice, we had a couple of beers after our night out in the bar as well, no complaints. Location,, just down the road from the Conan Doyle pub and around the corner from the Omni centre/playhouse, almost perfect. When you factor in the price, which was comparable to Prem Inn/Travelodge prices, this really is a gem of a hotel that I am reluctantly giving 5 stars because I don't really want it to get too busy as we will def be going back. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good:
- Great central location
- Friendly staff
- Clean, well-decorated hotel
- Comfortable bed
- Complementary mini fridge
- TV (and remote) works like it should! No missing channels or bizarre settings.

Bad:
- Could hear neighbours showering
- Had to request soap
- Shower door didn't fully close - water everywhere
- Temperature in shower quickly fluctuated just enough to be noticable
- Speaker output in shower room broken

Overall I liked this hotel. The shower was mildly annoying but tolerable. However, I was lucky to notice there was no soap beforehand. The speaker in the shower room is a great idea, just a shame the one I had didn't work. The fact that the TV worked properly blew me away; never before have I seen a hotel TV setup that isn't broken, crazy or both. There was a USB power socket which I found useful.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to vary drastically in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here in the Easter holiday. It was clean, Quiet and in very good location. The room perfect size for a solo traveler. The staff were nice. Easy and fast check-in and check-out. definitely in my list when i visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a fantastic time recently in Edinburgh and stayed at wonderful Indigo Hotel in York Place. ,
Staff at the the hotel were very polite and helpful. Room was absolutely fantastic and we only had breakfast at the hotel but the Traditional Scottish Breakfast was superb apart from the Haggis!
Really recommend Edinburgh for a visit as it's truly fantastic, cultural, interesting, absorbing. The weather was poor but what do you expect in Scotland! The City is not that big actually and Rose Street and George Street are good for bars and restaurants whereas Princes Street is ideal for shopping. Grass Market is a very interesting area with bars, restaurants and shops too. Arthur's Seat was a no-go because of the weather but maybe next time?
You have to do the bus tour and visit the domineering Castle which is outstanding.
On arrival get the Airport Link return bus NOT taxi into central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed one night on business, and the hotel is well located for central Edinburgh. The hotel has a nice welcoming feel to it, and the staff are very helpful and attentive. My room was large with a desk area to the side, which was useful, and the wifi was free. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel, and both were very good. There is also a small, but nice, bar area. The only issue was the car park, which was a five minute walk away, and is separately located behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.