We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Edinburgh to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just spent 4 nights in Sept 2012 here and was thrilled with the hotel. Very friendly yet professional staff from the front desk to the Turquoise Thistle restaurant. Daniel at the desk gave me great tips for restaurants near the hotel, and another staff member loaned an umbrella for the day when it rained. My room was compact to the point where it was difficult to pull out the chair at the desk without hitting the bed, but it was beautifully furnished with all the amenities. I loved it!

I had breakfast every morning, one dinner and afternoon tea in the restaurant. Delicious and great service. I highly recommend the hotel and would love to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    222
    52
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
410
35
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for a 2 night stay on the Indigo Indulgence package in September 2012. The service was absolutely incredible and check in was fast and easy. The rooms are lovely with complimentary mini bar and tea and coffee facilities and a massive bed. With the indigo indulgence package a 3 course meal was included on your chosen night. The food was to die for, and I am a really fussy eater and still managed to clear my plates. The drinks were quite expensive but I expected it for such a fancy hotel. Breakfast was a full Scottish breakfast, only thing was on the first morning we went for breakfast I would say they were slightly under staffed and did over-hear a few mix ups with breakfasts and coffee but the next morning the staff had increased and they were a lot more organised. We had tickets to see Phantom of the Opera and the theatre was a 2minute walk from the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is close to the shops, theatre, bars and restaurants.
Overall it was a fabulous stay and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Ibiza2010274,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your two nights with us. Our Indulgence package is great as you do not only get to stay in our amazingly stylish and comfortable rooms but you also get indulge in a three course meal at our Turquoise Thistle restaurant. Dan our head chef takes great pride in only using the most local and fresh produce and you can certainly taste this in the excellent dishes we serve.

I will certainly discuss your comments with our team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon, maybe for Dirty Dancing at the Playhouse.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great new hotel. We arrived early with the intention of leaving our bags until the rooms were ready but the receptionist swapped our room so we could check in early. The room we were given was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom had an excellent shower. Complimentary snacks were tasty and had plenty of gadgets!

Breakfast was delicious. It was almost a shame the buffet had so much choice because we didn't get to taste everything and the full Scottish cooked breakfast was excellent

I would have given this 5/5 except for the fact we had a knock on the door at 1:30am asking us to keep the noise down which spoilt the experience a little bit. We did get back late but myself and my partner were quiet and respectful of other guests. We were surprised to get disturbed 10 minutes after we got back to our room informing us a complaint had being made against us, we were already in bed by this point. It's a little bit harsh marking the hotel down on this point as the manager was only acting on another guests complaint but for us, it detracted from our overall experience which was a shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear SafeNath,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and is great to hear that our freshly cooked breakfast set you up perfectly for your day in Edinburgh.

Please accept my apologies for being disturbed by our night manager. As you say he was acting on the comments another guest has made and I have since discussed this with our night team.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in the near future.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent location within walking distance to lots of city sights and very close to range of interesting New Town restaurants. Some reservations when booked as it is part of large hotel chain but you would not notice this. Attention to detail was notable - eg local biscuits and variety of tea in room, very quiet and comfortable room, accomodating reception staff and delicious breakfast. Slightly complicated TV/Radio system but we got there in the end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything about this hotel is lovely. The rooms are very nicely decorated and full of extra little gadgets. Mattresses are soooo comfortable and pillows you just sink into. The breakfast was lovely with black pudding and potato scones that melt in your mouth. The little tray of nibbles in the room was very tasty too. Staff are very approachable and cannot do enough to help you. A definite must for any visitor to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a brilliant stay last Thursday at the Indigo. We booked two rooms and even got a comp upgrade to an executive room. What was a pleasant surprise was 10 minutes after check in, the porter arrived with strawberry’s and shortbread (what we didn’t order). We had tickets for the theatre and was literally a 2 minute walk. Everything else was with in such a close proximity. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. Only downside was the parking was difficult to find, but this is an issue Edinburgh wide with the current construction work. All in all would definitely stay again.

Thanks :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our Family booked us into the Indigo to celebrate our Golden wedding anniversary the hotel was absolutely superb. The staff and every thing was as you would hope from a hotel of this sort.
they (the staff )were exceedingly helpful and the Conseage collected and even took our luggage to the nearby carpark for us, Nothing was to much effort.( the Hotel was in the area being installed with the new Tram services)
We only stayed the one night wich was which was as I said a present from family for our Golden wedding celebrations. All the Staff were aware of the occaision and each and all offered their congratulations.
The Resturant and other facilities were excellant and I would recomond this Hotel to anyone visiting this great City.

Room Tip: If available choose one of their Special 00- roomsthey are the Dogs ______ I was so inpresssed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.