We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks good but no attention to detail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Edinburgh to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“looks good but no attention to detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed hear for 4 nights while taking part in the Edinburgh Marathon. we had a standard room on a room only basis.
positives were:1. The hotel is clean and fresh looking through out. 2.staff were friendly and helpful. 3,location is very good
Negatives:1, air conditioning did not work in first room so we were moved after one night.2,no hair dryer in second room 3. the rooms have wooden floors and the beds are on wheels so if you so much as brush against the bed it shoots off from side to side!!.4, our bill had extra charges on it at check out! (these were removed when questioned)
in all there were just to many problems for us on this occasion for me to rate this hotel 4 or 5 stars. however it wouldn't take much to make it a lot better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Kev1983,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am glad to hear that you experienced our team to be friendly and helpful during your stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you have experienced during your stay. The air conditioning unit in your room had a fault which had to be rectified by a technician after you brought this to our attention. We have revised the set up of our beds and are in the process of installing bed legs to the beds to avoid them sliding on the hard wood floors.

I have discussed your comments with our managers and we have taken action to avoid your experience happening to other guests.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel to restore your faith in our service.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    203
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
362
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location! All of the staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room was new and clean. We had a room that overlooked the street and it was still quiet.
This is a great place to stay when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Kendra,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all our team were accommodating and helpful. All our rooms have secondary glazing which really helps in keeping the noise of our bustling city center out of your room and let's you relax when you want to.

I will certainly pass on you comments to our team and hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was booked in for an overnight stay and arrived quite late. At first sight the room looked good but after unpacking etc went into the bathroom and found it to be filthy. Phoned and explained the issue and asked for a room change but instead got the impression that they didn't quite believe me and would come and check it out first. After inspection the member of staff agreed it was "horrendous" and agreed to change rooms for me. To be fair he did try to make amends by firstly offering to remove the cost of a drink I'd bought from the bar but when I explained I'd paid cash for it that was the end of that. At another point he asked if I'd ordered breakfast and when I said no suggested they would give me a free breakfast - didn't seem to consider I hadn't ordered it becasue I didn't want it. Next morning the receptionist has no record of my room move and asked if I had enjoyed my stay. When I explained what had happened the only question I got was whether my second room had been any better than the first one! Had this hotel recommended to me and expected a lot more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Jon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on your stay with us.

I am disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay and that your comments weren't dealt with to your satisfaction. I can assure you our housekeeping team are working to a very high standard of cleanliness. Our head housekeeper inspects all rooms after they have been cleaned and it appears that the marks in your bathroom were from water flowing back into the sink.

I have discussed your comments with our managers and we have taken action to ensure that comments like yours are dealt with efficiently and to the full guests satisfaction.

I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail. Should you wish to do so please send me an email to dominic@hiedinburgh.co.uk and I will contact you at a time that suits you.

Stay inspiring,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent time here before and after our wedding. Everything was lovely and the staff could not do enough for us. They were genuinely interested and excited for us. What a refreshing change from some establishments where clearly the staff go through the motions in trying to engage with customers. We cannot fault anything and have no qualms in recommending this hotel..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Suzrr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh and please may I congratulate you on recent marriage.

We certainly do pride ourselves in providing outstanding boutique style accommodation that is unique but also comfortable and personable service. We want our guests to see Edinburgh through our eyes and are as you mentioned genuinely interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

I will certainly share your comments with our team and I hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the near future.

Stay inspiring,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Location is okay, 10 minutes uphill to the shopping and sights of Edinburgh. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming and when we didn't like our first room - it was a small single, not a double - efficient in arranging an alternative.

The second room was of a reasonable size, offered a safe, iron & ironing board, TV, chairs, a desk and a comfortable bed. The aircon was a little noisy, cutting out and restarting at fairly frequent intervals. The bathroom was good, especially the shower - raindrop variety and simple to operate and, a nice touch - the main mirror didn't steam up. The shaving mirror rotated so people up to about 5' 9" could use it without contortions. Taller than that? Use the main mirror!

The bar area was small but comfortable and there were a wide range of refreshments on hand, all served with a smile.

One quirky item - the floor numbers were different in the lift than on the walls; for example, room 305 in on floor 2 but the lift has it on floor 3. Confusing & amusing.

Breakfast was not an completely enjoyable experience, the staff were disorganised and it took longer than it should to be served coffee/tea, toast - not the shade we'd ordered - and the food which was good. There was a limited buffet choice.

Checking out was a breeze, itemised bill prompt and accurate. Our luggage was stored for us at both ends of our stay.

To summarise, a nice hotel but there was nothing remarkable about it.

Room Tip: Be wary of 3rd floor - numbered 4** - rooms, they may be small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Burtonna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your second room and that your request of a room change was dealt with efficiently by our front desk staff. All our rooms come with double, king or super king beds, complimentary mini bars with snack and soft drinks, walk in showers with rainfall shower heads, luxury toiletries, bath robes and other extras to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

I am disappointed to hear that you have not completely enjoyed you breakfast experience and will certainly be reviewing this with our Food and beverage manager. Our continental buffet offers a wide variety of cereals, cured meats, homemade pastries and bread, fresh fruit and fruit salad, yoghurts, hot and cold smoked fish and artisan cheeses from a Edinburgh cheese monger.

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is set behind the Georgian facade of five original residential properties and as such every room has it's own character and size and there certainly is a mix of bedroom layouts and sizes on all our floors.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the near future.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had booked this hotel before it had actually opened as a place to stay when we went to see a comedian at the Edinburgh playhouse. The location was spot on for us, however if you were planning to visit the castle or grass market then you will have a 10-15 minute walk.
The room was very nicely decorated and a good size. It had some nice tech to make a stay pleasurable, including HDMI, phono inputs etc. for the entertainment system so you can check out your stills or videos staright away.
The staff were exceptionaly helpful and very polite, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we encountered.
We will defiantely consider using this hotel again if we stay over in EDINBURGH.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Adrian,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that all our team was helpful and polite. We all pride ourselves in delivering personable service that leaves nothing to wish for. We are in a perfect location for a visit to Edinburgh's Playhouse theatre to see one of the numerous shows throughout the year. We are also just down the road from the Stand comedy club that features some great comedians 7 days a week.

I hope we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon and in the meantime I can recommend our sister hotel Indigo Glasgow and their Limelight Bar and Grill for a visit.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel is in a prime location in the city, rooms are comfortable and well equipped and the staff are exceptionally friendly.

All in all a great experience, and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: There is only one twin room, it is very large and comfortable so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Semour,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh certainly is in a prime location for both exploring the sites of our beautiful neighbourhood and working with our proximity to the offices on St Andrews square. We are only a 5 minute walk from Waverley station and you can take a stroll up to the castle in less than 20 minutes or browse through the designer shops on Multrees walk and George street which are just around the corner.

Thank you very much for your room tip. You are right we only have 1 twin room in the hotel which is one of our largest executive rooms with two king size beds and plenty of space for 4 people. It does get booked well in advance but is always worth checking.

I will share your comments with our team and hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay inspiring,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.