We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thrums Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added The Thrums Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thrums Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 - 15 Minto St., Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Everything was as good as it could be!
Excellent location, great for buses and taxis.
Warm and well informed staff.
Clean, quiet, spacious room .
Nice bathroom and power shower!
A really great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    28
    16
    27
See reviews for
26
38
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I have never been so disappointed by a guest house. Although the thrums is in a beautiful building with some lovely original Victorian features inside. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and it is on a main bus route into the city which is very useful. That is where the positives finish. The decor in our massive family room was very tired; chipped paintwork, grubby skirtng boards, very old thin curtains. The bed linen was just as tired; flat pillows and see through sheets.

There is a corridor through which you can gain access to some more rooms and the car park. It was in an appalling state, electric wires exposed, large chunks of plaster missing and filthy carpet. If I had to access my room via that corridor I would have refused to stay there.

The breakfast room felt cramped and the staff seemed rather harrassed. What I could see of the kitchen looked appalling and then the breakfast arrived. Cheap sausages and no bacon!!!

We were let down at the last minute by a B&B in Edinburgh in the height of festival season so beggars can't be choosers and the thrums did have a room but at an unbelievably extortionate rate. We felt completely ripped off and would not recommend it to anyone. I cannot believe The thrums was advertised as 3 star hotel, in my opinion it is 1 or 2 star establishment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

we booked three night at the thrums 2 weeks in advance, arrived on due date with our booking comfirmation in hand only to be told that there had been a mistake and they had no rooms available... didnt know whether to ba angry or relieved as place looked and smelled pretty grotty!! the owner phoned over the road to another B&B and said they had a vacancy so we all trooped over to view the room... this place smelled and looked worse than the Thrums! we refused and ended up booking in to a travelodge at Cameron Toll.... basic but clean & comfortable and cost less than the Thrums !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

The dead pot plant in the porch says it all!! I was greeted by the smell of stale cooking on arrival. Carpets are dirty and worn, paintwork is chipped. In my tired room the bedside radio alarm didn't work and the towel rail in the bathroom was falling of the wall.
The lounge area has chairs round the wall like a dentist's waiting room - and the reception desk in the corner .
Breakfast was OK but we didn't take anything but creals, croussants, toast and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Took my money from my bank account without my authorization leaving me on the negative and had my direct debts returned because of this so called hotel

RUN LIKE HELL !!!!!!

Worst experience I ever had, I would never go back there again, I'd rather sleep on the streets

BE ADVISED

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The lady who met us was very pleasant and helpful, however the following morning the breakfast staff were rude and only interested in smoking and chatting. We never did get our cup of tea with breakfast. Our room was OK but the shower holder was broken and the tap wobbly and no door handle on the bathroom door.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Only stayed for one night, on arrival we were told our room was not ready so we walked into town. this took around 20 mins. the gentleman who greeted us was pleasent and looked after our bag for us. on return we were met by another member of staff who gave us our key. he asked us to settle our bill which i found strange as normally when we visit guest houses we pay on leaving. our room was in the annex, number 8 which was plenty big enough with a lovely walkin shower which had recently been refurbished. our room over looked the carpark so didnt hear noise from road. unfortunatly we were woken at 4am as loads of drunken guests returned to there rooms. breakfast was a little disappointing as the "full english" had no bacon, it consisted of one sausage, one egg, one hashbrown and spoonful of beans with about 4 mushrooms and half a tom.
when i went to had my key in there was no-one around so i asked the staff in the dining room if i could leave it with them, they just held out there hand and said nothing. no thanks or goodbye. pleasentg enough but would not return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thrums Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thrums Edinburgh

Address: 14 - 15 Minto St., Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thrums Edinburgh 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Thrums Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thrums Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thrums Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.