We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Haven Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added A-Haven Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Ferry Rd, Edinburgh EH6 4NS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
lancashire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

As all the previous reviews say this is a good place to stay.
Excellent welcome with very helpful staff, car parking great.
Didn't move the car during our 3 night stay.
There is very good public transport.
Overall a quaint, quiet property.
Our double room (zip link) was lovely and warm with everything we needed.
A good breakfast even when we asked to vary the choice on the menu there was no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    59
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
83
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Arrived very late at night, warm welcome. Comfortable and clean for what we paid. Really good breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Would recommend for short stays. Four of us in one room as our choice and we had a great time, staff could not do enough to help.

Room Tip: We had 3 + 1 in room number 8 not lots of space but comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed there for two nights (8th & 9th October) with a friend.
We had an en-suite twin room - it was a bit tiny, but very comfortable, very well equipped (tea+coffee making facilities, sewing kit, trouser press, TV, cotton buds and nail files in the bathroom), the windows were facing the back of the hotel, so it was really quiet.
The staff were very helpful and lovely, didn't seem bothered by any of our requests, the hotel itself looked absolutely adorable and quaint.

Breakfast was satisfactory, with plenty of choice and the location is good - bus stops across the street and a few steps from the front of the hotel.

Highly recommended and well worth the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on 26th & 27th September. We were able to park the car in the secure car park at the rear of the property where we left it for two days. Nice friendly staff were very keen to help and served up a lovely 'Hearty Breakfast'. Our room was ok if a bit small and with thin walls. We could hear everything going on next door. The city center is only a short and very cheap bus ride away with the bus stop right across the road

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great time in this hotel! Our room was just fantastic (big, clean, well decorated). The walls seem to be a bit thin though and we could hear our neigbours speaking (but they were very loud)... We really enjoyed staying there. When we left, I even forgot that we were in a hotel! I thought we were in a B&B. We have been welcomed by David who gave us all needed info (buses and so on). The breakfast is served in such a lovely room! It was a delicious and generous breakfast. We have been able to park our car very easily in the hotel private car park. When we left, David went to open the gate for us and to say goodbye. It is very easy to go to the city center by bus (approx. 15 min journey). The bus stop is in front of the hotel. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends/relatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two night while on vacation. Getting our car into the secured car lot was a little bit of a hassle- thankfully one of us could run inside and ask for the electronic gate to be opened. No problem accessing our car thereafter. The staff are friendly and offer a very nice breakfast spread each morning. We found the stairwells and halls very tight for maneuvering with luggage as are the bedrooms. The baths are also really small but workable. The decor could really use some updating. There is patterned wallpaper everywhere and the lighting throughout is very dim. I started to feel claustrophobic the first day but got used to the tight halls and stairwells by the second day.The location was excellent- very close to grabbing a bus ride downtown. In the evenings we walked down to some really nice restaurants down on the waterfront in Leith. Overall, it was a nice stay but we will likely look for a roomier place next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was in Edinburgh for a week, funded by a modest research grant. The A Haven was one of the few places that was available and within my budget (it was during the Edinburgh Fringe!). I received a really warm welcome from the owner and detailed explanation of all amenities - in particularly bus services, which was very helpful. It was explained (almost apologetically) that I was in the 'small single' room at the top of the house. I was a bit concerned, but it was great. The room had everything that you could want and was cosy, clean and very comfortable. Even had WIFI. A perfect little hideaway after a long day at work! The staff were all so kind and helpful. I was made to feel really safe and welcome. As a female travelling alone, this was really appreciated. Don't be put off by the distance from town - the bus connections (there are 3) are all great and it is very quick. I didn't have time to explore the surrounding area, but there were recommendations for restaurants etc. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the 'small single' if you are travelling alone. It's a good opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A-Haven Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Haven Townhouse Hotel

Address: 180 Ferry Rd, Edinburgh EH6 4NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Haven Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A-Haven Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Haven Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.