We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annie Lennox Exhibition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish National Portrait Gallery

Scottish National Portrait Gallery
1 Queen St., Edinburgh EH2 1JB, Scotland
44 131 624 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 209 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit one of Edinburgh’s most iconic buildings and explore a fascinating overview of Scotland past and present though a wealth of imagery encompassing painting, photography, sculpture and film. Meet the people who have helped shape the nation’s identity at home and abroad from Mary, Queen of Scots and Bonnie Prince Charlie and Robert Burns, through to more recent pioneers in science, sport and the arts.. See this outstanding national Collection in its newly refurbished 19th century home, from the suite of grand, top-lit galleries to smaller, intimate rooms, and discover the new Photography Gallery and the atmospheric Victorian Library. Round off your trip to the Portrait Gallery with a visit to our new café. Serving a delicious menu of fresh dishes and classic recipes, our team are passionate about sourcing the very best local ingredients and seasonal produce. A great place for lunch or even just a coffee break, our family-friendly venue is one of the best cafes in Edinburgh. Admission is free. Charges may apply for special exhibitions.
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Annie Lennox Exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great wee exhibition charting the life and times of Annie Lennox. She's been about a bit. Done many things in her career that most people would not be aware of.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    297
    53
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice to be able to sit at peace for a while, and admire the work of talented artists in pleasant surroundings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Upgraded and reopened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is one of my favourite galleries which gets good exhibitions. It's recently been renovated and now has a very modern shop and cafe. To be honest I preferred the original style of cafe it was friendly and homely with good food. For me the cafe is now too upmarket and pricey and there's not the same cosy atmosphere there used to be. When you visit the galleries in Edinburgh PLEASE make a donation as you leave. Too many people just walk out without a thought of what it costs to bring exhibitions for our pleasure. We can only keep our galleries free admission if people make a donation. Thanks

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The faces of Scottish history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As a Scot with a working knowledge of the country’s movers, shakers, artists and writers over the centuries I found the revamped museum absolutely riveting and my Canadian companion was also fascinated by the detailed Jacobite gallery and the portraits of big hitters like Mary Queen of Scots, Bonny Prince Charlie, Walter Scott and Rabbie Burns. It was the first time I’d seen the Jacobite glassware and it was a highlight of the visit. The busts of still-living politicians and writers briefly disconcerted me though: I’d been out of the country for just two months! The café sold the mandatory scones and cakes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

the Stand Comedy club is next door also..... its a nice place to have a wee donder around........... nice building which has recently been renovated.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish National Portrait Gallery also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Scottish National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish National Portrait Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.