We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace of Holyroodhouse

Palace of Holyroodhouse
Canongate, Edinburgh EH8 8DX, Scotland
+44 131 556 1096
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #18 of 207 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Historic Sites, Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Palace of Holyroodhouse is the official residence in Scotland of Her Majesty The Queen and is the country's only working royal residence. Admission to the Palace includes the State Apartments, Mary, Queen of Scots' historic chambers and the ruins of the 12th-century Abbey Church. The special exhibition The Commonwealth: Gifts to The Queen is on display at the Palace until 2 November 2014.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

A really well thought out experience. Good audio tour giving just the right amount if detail. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,413
    794
    199
    29
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I always find these places are very expensive and don't live up to expectation. This was definitely not the case here. The entrance was £11 and was well worth it. The hand held recorded guide was very informative and added to the experience. A beautiful palace with so much history, it would be a real shame to visit Edinburgh and not enjoy this Holyroodhouse.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Real Contrast To The Royal Yacht”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Dark, dour and dismal. This visit was expensive and a true contrast with the compelling story told by the visit to Britannia. For me, it is one to avoid.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Since my son is studying Mary, Queen of Scots, it was an interesting place to visit. There is much to see and you are given an audio guide to tour about. I think it'd have been a better experience with a tour guide since there was so much that we probably missed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Make time to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my second visit to the Palace of Holyrood. And, it was even better than my first. Nothing had changed, but I found myself more able to take in the detail and grandeur of this beautiful building. I am not the sort who is deferent to the high and mighty of this land, but there is no denying that this is a lovely building. The audio guide is so enlightening and the staff dotted throughout the building and grounds are incredibly knowledgeable. It's not cheap at about £12/13 but it's a great way to pass a morning and the price reflects the going rate for many of the attractions in Edinburgh. Finally, go to the cafe. The food is so delicious; authentic, local and home-cooked - yum!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace of Holyroodhouse also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Palace of Holyroodhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace of Holyroodhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.