We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace of Holyroodhouse

Palace of Holyroodhouse
Canongate, Edinburgh EH8 8DX, Scotland
44-131-556-1096
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #18 of 204 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Historic Sites, Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is an official residence of the Queen and the Royal Family.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

As long as the Queen is not in residence, the palace is open for a guided tour. All the state rooms and private rooms are included in the tour as well as the bedroom of Mary Queen of Scots with an excellent narrative of the bloody history. The bedrooms and the Victorian collection room are of special interest where you feel that you are a witness to past and current history. The portrait gallery is unique in that all the portraits were restored and all reframed in the same plain frame, a very strange sight. You exit the palace into the ruins of a 13th to 14th century abbey that has enough dramatic arches and walls to keep you well occupied. When you step out onto the exterior of the abbey, notice the impressive wall decorations which are in excellent condition. The pathway back to the entrance gate is through the Queen's private garden. A nice touch to end the tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,332
    750
    189
    27
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rich history and over-the-top interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

In terms of interior decor/furnishings Holyrood really was over the top. As you progress further in your tour, the plaster work ceilings become ever more grandiose. Downside is that you are unable to take photographs. Upside is that there are many willing and enthusiastic docents available to answer your questions.
Very interesting to see where Lord Darnley was murdered in front of Mary Queen of Scots - I know, gruesome, but this is history!
The abbey ruins are also quite compelling. Overall, we are very glad we visited and enjoyed this just as much as Edinburgh castle, perhaps a tad bit more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I am glad I went...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I wasn't so sure if I wanted to come here, having said that I would now say it is not to be missed.
So much history, such beautiful artworks and old tapestries, and such a beautiful garden.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not really that much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Palace is ok if it's a rainy day with nothing else to do.

There's not that much to see and what there is isn't that thrilling.

Signage is poor and you get lost quite often.

Don't blink or you might miss it.

We were expecting sumptuous rooms (the Queens bedroom was good) and fine jewels, ornaments and table settings.

It all looked like it had been done on the cheap. I've seen grander hotels in Edinburgh where you can pop in for a look free!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Nice historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We made an audio tour through this important building. There the Queen lives in August. You can visit also the big dining room and the interesting paintings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace of Holyroodhouse also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Palace of Holyroodhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace of Holyroodhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palace of Holyroodhouse to your Saves list