We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2ND, Scotland (Old Town)
+44 131 226 3709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 476 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
hx
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I visited Edinburgh over 20 years ago, and have a hazy recollection, of visiting the camera obscura, but the visibility wasn't very good, so I was charged a nominal amount to go to the top and admire what view was visible.
I'm assuming that the other attractions in the building have been added since.
On arrival we were sent straight to the top to see the camera obscura, which combines the view and knowledge of the guide.The views from the landing are stunning. We then browsed the other the other floors in descending order.
Some areas were quite busy, but it's all good fun, playing with optical illusions and the like.
Worth the money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,717
    1,511
    324
    74
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A unique attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a unique attraction - educational, informative, fun and imaginative.
The staff were friendly, and there's plenty to do and see. Some of the exhibits and illusions are pretty amazing. Kids and adults alike can find lots to do.
Great views of Edinburgh from the tower.
It was busy due to the bank holiday weekend, but not excessively.
The Camera Obscura show is at pre-scheduled times, and unfortunately our allocated show was two hours away, so we missed this in the end as we had to see other things in Edinburgh, but I imagine that the shows are usually timed closer if it weren't for the busy day.
Overall, pretty cool!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The best part is your ticket is valid for entire day ..you can go out , grab your meal and come back again as per your convenience !! Had super awesome fun and view from roof top is beautiful .. Must go if you are in Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Really fun!!! Well worth the money! Five floors of adventur and experiments plus a view over Edinburgh seen with a special camera

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great place to visit. Very interesting and lots of fun for all ages. Every floor has something great. Especially liked the 1st floor. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.