We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting adventure for a 7 year-old” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camera Obscura and World of Illusions

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2 ND, Scotland
44-131-226-3709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 203 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Lookouts, Specialty Museums, Historic Sites, Science Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exciting adventure for a 7 year-old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was fun and educational for my 7 year old daughter through the hands-on experience. It was our first stop in the morning and we get to discover the city first through the view of a pin-hole periscope. We each in the family took our own time to read and discover what were interesting to us. A great family trip:)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Emily. What a great title for your review - it’s lovely that you thought of your visit in that way. As you said, this is a great place to start discovering Edinburgh and really get a sense of one of the most beautiful and dramatic cities in Europe. Delighted to hear that the whole family had fun and that you sneaked in a bit of education without your daughter noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,601
    1,009
    217
    36
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

While geared for people with children, it is still a good time for those young at heart. The displays are fun for all and most are interactive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Shawna. Thanks for coming and for your feedback. As you say, we’re fun for all ages and in fact the majority of our visitors are couples without children but with big kids inside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must do!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

It was a fab experience. Fantastic and a defo visit. Only thing is if u feel dizzy easily then u might find it quite sick but overall fantastic. I would defo visit Edinburgh (from Bham) again just to visit this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello – you’re right – we are a must do! You mentioned that a part of the visit might make people feel a little sick – was it the Vortex Tunnel by any chance? It’s an amazing illusion that sometimes works too well! Please come and see us next time you come up from Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good entertainment for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Most of the displays are indoors so this is an ideal place to visit when the weather is mixed. It was really entertaining and informative. The only problem was the access as there is no lift and one of our party was suffering with a knee problem which was aggrevated by the number of steps to climb to reach the 5th floor! The shop had a lot of interesting and not too expensive items on the these of puzzles and illusions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello and thanks both for coming to see us and posting your kind comments. We’d love to install a lift but sadly due to the age and the status of the building, we can’t. We have benches on each floor but if there’s anything else we could have done to make your visit easier in any way, please let us know. As you say we’re very much an All-weather attraction which makes it a great an ideal place to visit with our All-Day ticket! Really pleased you liked the gift shop ranges as well - we’ll pass on your comments to the shop supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
1 review
“A GREAT SURPRISE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A bit old and wise to be taken in by the claims of 'great attraction' etc at tourist sites..but HEY! this was really fun. I think we did it the best way, top floor first then down. Lots to do, laughed a lot and a good view around the City. Excellent light hearted fun, took us a couple of hours & regard it as good value.
After a visit to the more serious Castle ...the perfect way to lighten up.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Colin! Glad we surprised you! That’s exactly what we’re all about – light hearted, fun and full of laughter! Really glad to hear that you thought it was good value for money too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camera Obscura and World of Illusions to your Saves list