We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent attraction!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camera Obscura and World of Illusions

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2 ND, Scotland
44-131-226-3709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 203 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Lookouts, Specialty Museums, Historic Sites, Science Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Coleraine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Amazing illusions from the beginning! A wonderful demonstration at the end of the tour where you can see over the city. Staff are helpful and friendly and very accomodating!! An attraction for all the family and a must see! If you purchase the Edinburgh Pass it is an attraction included in the free options.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for rating us an excellent attraction and a must-see! We will make sure our staff get the chance to see your kind words about them. Thanks for mentioning the Edinburgh Pass which we will be a member of again next year, so once you have bought the pass you gain free admission here and in many other attractions in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,605
    1,009
    217
    36
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great day out and my 5 year old son and my mum loved it. The Vortex Tunnel was hilarious!! Loved seeing the city from the observatory - amazing!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It’s lovely to hear about three generations coming here together and enjoying the experience so much, so thank you for sharing that with us. That seems real proof that we work so well as an attraction for all ages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“would highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I thought this tourist attraction was great. Very misleading i couldn't believe it was on five floors. The viewing of the Edinburgh was pretty great and both my husband and i really enjoyed it. loved the vortex tunnel and the mirror maze.
would recommend everyone to visit this place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

It's my first time in Edinburgh and me and my other half really wanted to get a taste for Edinburgh so we decided to drop in on our way to the castle! We weren't sure what to expect but we ended up staying there for hours !! It was dark by the time we left !

It's a good all rounder for family, teenagers and adults !! Something for everyone ! From wonderful illusions to beautiful sights around the city ! ( I won't spoil it for you !) The staff were lovely and if you do go check out the talk they put on (top floor) !! Fun, interactive and lovely hearing about the history of Edinburgh city !! We also caught the sun setting on the top which looks so beautiful !

A wonderful Afternoon loved being able to have the freedom to move floor to floor whenever you felt like it nobody rushing you =D ! Defiantly check it out if you can ! It's worth the money ! Great for laughs .. smiles and giggles !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for letting everyone know that you consider us a “must-see”! We are delighted you wanted to spend so long here and that that gave you the bonus of seeing the sunset from the rooftop terrace! It is always a delight to read about our visitors’ laughs, smiles and giggles so thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was good, not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Came here with family while visiting, we decided to go to the show first which was very interesting. we were round the other for floors within an hour, 15 mins per floor, interesting stuff, some more boring than other, a bit over priced. the tunnel was fabulous!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello and thanks for leaving us a review. It is great to hear that you thought the Vortex Tunnel was fabulous and that you found other exhibits here interesting but it is a disappointment to hear you found some things boring. We rely on our visitors to let us know how we could improve the experience so it would be great to hear from you again to find out what didn’t work for you. Also, I hope you were aware of our Money-back Guarantee which we will always offer to anyone who is not completely delighted by the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camera Obscura and World of Illusions to your Saves list