We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Reekie Tours

Auld Reekie Tours
45 Niddry Street, Edinburgh EH1 1LG, Scotland
0131-5574700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 270 Activities in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auld Reekie Tours are a 4 star visitor attraction located in the centre of Edinburgh's old town, and are open all all year round.We offer a range of both historical and ghost tours both above and below ground, with an option of multi-lingual guides when requested, children tours and a tour and dine partnership with one of Scotland's most haunted pub, the Banshee Labyrinth. Our sister company - Paranormal Investigations Scotoland offers overnight ghost hunts in our most hanted location - Niddry Wynd Vaults.
Kent, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a fun tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

we booked the Ghost & Torture Tour as part of our Edinburgh Pass and we were not disappointed. our guide - sorry didn't catch his name but he was an 'older' guy with a beret - was great fun with lots of info and history. he did a great job in the hour and a half that we were with him. the underground vaults, which you climb up stairs to!! were damp and dark but not particularly scary - the torture room though has some very nasty implements in it. Enjoy this tour if you decide to go for it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    118
    61
    56
    92
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Promises more than is delivered...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of the most difficult decisions to make while in Edinburgh is to decide which ghost tour to do. This is made more difficult when you are there for just a couple of days. After several discussions, we chose this company. A big mistake mainly because of the group size. We were 46 of us on the day and while the guide did his best to be inclusive, it was too large a group for an experience like that. The stories were interesting but the experience was far from spooky. Too much time spent on trying to put the group in the mood and the whole session on the church steps seemed too long. Much time was spent inside the vaults telling stories of past tours but most of them seemed made up. All in all, a very disappointing experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ewan our guide was awesome ! Great night tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We did the 8 pm tour ghost an torture on 18th may.Ewan our guide definately made the evening.. Knows his history and presents it in a unique way.. Real entertainin !!
Lots of paranormal activity.....
Well worth the money.

Thanks Ewan .. From the blue eyed brunmies x

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Utter rubbish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Feeling a bit ripped off really, we did the 10pm tour and really had looked forward to it, Ewan was the guide, funny guy, friendly, but we had gone along for scary! Couldn't understand why we met at a lovely old church only to be moved round a corner to queue while we all either paid or handed prepaid tickets over, then, the most confusing part, STAIRS! We went upstairs to "underground" streets? Here, Ewan had a laugh with a few of us, nothing about ghosts or spirits! He punctuated the "fun" with maybe 3 VERY brief tales. End of tour, we exited via the staircase, this time going down it. DISAPPOINTING

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went on the ghost and torture tour, Sunday evening, at 6pm. We had emailed to book this prior to our visit. We were definitely not disappointed. Ewan our guide was really good. He really knew what he was talking about with history of the vaults, and the stories.
I would recommend this to anyone thinking of going on it. It's worth the money and I will be going back to the late one next time I go to Edinburgh. I probably wouldn't take children on this tour, as it was great to hear all the stories in full, and we met a very nice American family on this tour too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auld Reekie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Auld Reekie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Reekie Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.