We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballantrae West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ballantrae West End Hotel to your Saves list
Ballantrae West End Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Grosvenor Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5EP, Scotland (Formerly Afton Town House Hotel) (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel - excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here with my boyfriend for total of 4 nights on our holiday. Hotel was easy to find, only a few minute walk from the airlink bus stop. I found the staff welcoming and friendly without being over the top. First night we were given a nice spacious room with a garden view. After touring Scotland for few days we returned and were given even bigger and nicer room, no view but a lovely big bathroom. Hotel itself was very quiet, there is a bar but during our stay didn't see anybody in it. However u can find restaurants and pubs only a short walk away and city attractions & shopping in easy walking distance (about 15min). Compering to other hotels in Edinburgh I found the rates reasonable. Would definitely stay here again when going back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    18
    23
    8
See reviews for
10
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I was a little afraid of what to expect, because my experiences at UK hotels weren't good. But this hotel was a nice surprise. It was located about 15m. walk from the city centre, in a quiet road. It was very easy to find it, because de Airlink Bus, from the airport, stopped near by.
The room was big, with a big window with a view to a garden. There was a wardrobe, a table with a mirror, another table near de window with two sofa chairs, and even a table with a lcd and a tea and coffee maker. The bed was big, with big pillows. And there was even a ironing set to the clothes. Nice!
We only had breakfast once, because the other days we left earlier, but it was a good breakfast to the portuguese standards.
One night the room didn't had light on the ceilling, but the problem was soon resolved as we mentioned it to the recepcionist.
It's a good hotel, though it coul be a little less expensive, but it seems everything is expensive in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed one night with my girlfriend beofre Easters. Altough we tought we payed an economic rate, £55, the hotel was not very close from the center for the price.
The room was fine, normal size with TV and a comfortable bed. The lights of the bathroom were not working when we arrived, but the owner solve the problem in some minutes.
It took a lot of time till we were able to have a shower, the hot water didn't work fine and the preassure of the shawor was horrible, no preassure.
No Internet in the building, aprently it was working wrong for the day that we stayed in there.
The breakfast to be honest was very bad, very very poor to be a continental breakfast.
I recommend going to the hotel only if the rate is very cheap, otherwise you can select other hotels closer to the center for the same rate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

The hotel was very peaceful and the staff was friendly. View from the breakfast room and lobby was nice. The location of the hotel was convenient as it is only 10 minutes walk into town and close to the Haymarket for Airbus to airport.

The breakfast was pretty skimpy and only cold food was available. TV is old with only 5 TV channels. Unfortunately there was no lift and my room was on the top floor! Not suitable for anyone with a disability. The windows were uneasy to open and easy to break. The Wifi based internet did not work during the 4 nights we stayed at this hotel.‎

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend and to be honest wasn't expecting much at £60 for the room on valentine's night.
The hotel is lovely from the outside and the entrance hall is absolutely stunning with chandeliers and a big fireplace. We arrived around 2pm and were told we had been booked into the family room, an unexpected bonus! Room was spotless and I was pleased to see we had a wardrobe and a dressing table.
Don't know why others have complained about the distance from the centre, hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from haymarket station and about 10-15 minutes walk to the centre, castle etc.
Breakfast was nice with croissants, muffins, cereal and fruit and we were also given the choice of bacon, salami etc.

Overall I can't fault this hotel in any way. The staff were very friendly and even let us leave our bag until we were leaving edinburgh in the evening.
We will definately book into this hotel next time we visit edinburgh!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Stayed here for one night towards the end of May 2009. Found the hotel very pleasing and a lot better than i had thought it would be. Our room was gorgous with a big comfy bed and clean bathroom! The staff were very friendly apart from when it came to breakfast as they had not recorded that we had paid for a full english and the woman was very annoying and moody even stating - she had to do everything around there! and clearly did not want to make us it! Apart from her everone else was very friendly especially the bar man! and I would recommend to any one! It is also not far away from Edinburgh zoo and the center of Edinburgh so has an ideal location! Unless that is you have a car as the hotel does not have free parking and it is quite far to a car park! (which you have to pay for)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

There were serveral issues with the room already upon check-in. Missing lampshades and a TV with no remote, etc. - gave one the impression that the last guests left with more than they came with. The staff could not address these problems because it was the weekend. No maintance done on the weekend! Waking up with pieces of the ceiling on our bed the next morning was also not delt well with . We were given a choise to move ourselves to a smaller room after sightseeing all day - or forfit any chance we might have had of regress it seems.
The manager did not appear on monday morning as promiced to deal with our issues, therefor they were not delt with at all. Cleaning of room; sub-optimal. Ceiling bits remained in the nightstand and floor until check-out on tuesday, along with dirty glasses, etc. We eventually found the remote to the TV ourselvs, on the floor behind a desk. Alas to no avail, the TV didn't work anyway. We liked the night guy though!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballantrae West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae West End Hotel

Address: 6 Grosvenor Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5EP, Scotland (Formerly Afton Town House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballantrae West End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the centre of Edinburgh, the Ballantrae West End Hotel is ideal for the festival, Edinburgh Tattoo, world heritage attractions, and only a few minutes walk from Princes Street, Haymarket Station, the International Conference Centre, and the financial district. Centrally located, in an elegant west end crescent, we are a small (eleven bedroom) family run hotel, able to offer you a friendly personal service, with an emphasis on traditional hospitality. There is also a comfortable residents' bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ballantrae West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae West End Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballantrae West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.