We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect date night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No. 11 Brunswick Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added No. 11 Brunswick Street to your Saves list
No. 11 Brunswick Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Myself am boyfriend visited No11 wih a voucher 2 weeks ago and it was everything we hoped for and more.... Great value for money, great service, great food an great wine! The place had a great cosy feel to it even though it was horrendously bad weather that night. This was the perfect date night and can't wait to go again. In fact, booking up for next month with another voucher to go with friends this time! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    107
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
55
213
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely Georgian hotel close to city centre and all attractions. Breakfast very good with polite staff at all times. Only issue was room not made up on one of our 3 day stay, very disappointing. Spoke to reception who apologised and subsequently was offered discounted rate on next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

One of those Georgian terrace hotels that do boutique " on a budget " in terms of decor. The bathroom was modern and stylish but the room and communal areas were just under par and the bedroom window overlooked a courtyard and storage shed. The mainly Eastern European staff were very friendly. Lacking in attention to detail the management could do so much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hotel great rooms and lovely bathroom in a good location. Service patchy. A a small boutique hotel much more effort is required on service. Staff look bored and inconvenienced with some requests. Nice cooked breakfast but fresh juice v warm carton juice would be nice. And at £160 a night I expect a cappuccino to be included at breakfast without extra charge. So overall good but could be great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, NC USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at this hotel that was centrally located for easy access to Edinburgh castle and the Royal mile. The stay was a terrific help and the rooms were very nice. Highly recommended for a moderately priced hotel sightseeing in Edinburgh. The restaurant was very quite and good making it easy not to search for outside restaurants. we would definitely book again!!

Room Tip: Both room 5, the suite and room 2, a double, were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in the Georgian Suite (Room 5), When we arrived we were worried about parking but plenty of spaces around, although you do have to pay during certain hours but we stayed on a sunday so was free, just had to pay in the morning for a few hours! We were quickly shown around and then taken to our room, the pictures of the room do not do it justice, its beautiful everything from the rolltop tub to the little hot chocolate satchets was amazing! We went to a restaurant at the end of the road Vittoria which was ok not the best we have been to then walked to the Edinburgh Playhouse which taken all of 10minutes so excellent location. We arrived back at 11pm from the show and the staff has put candles and rose petals all over the room which was lovely to come into, I did however went to shower before going to bed to find the water freezing and tried the bath which was cold. We complained to the night portsman who said wait 10mintues then try again as he had put the hot water back on (????) 10 mintues later no hot water, he then came upto the room and tried for himself still not working he said he would be back up as he needed to speak to someone. 20 mins later no sign of him and no phone call, was now nearing midnight so my partner called and said to leave it and mark a note in the book that we had a problem as we are going to bed and will deal with it in the morning with the manager. Was awoke in the morning at 7am by the shower leaking really loud for ages (maybe when the turned the hot water on??) so we got up and i checked the water which was hot??? Strange! We went down to breakfast which I personally felt was ackward as there was opera music on very very low and you could hear people trying to be quiet around each other. Maybe a radio station or tv would make the atmosphere better. Breakfast was fabulous with a good choice, a bit of a mix up at first but was quickly sorted by the staff (she was rushed off her feet poor soul) all was fresh produce. We went to check out and told the girl about the problem/complaint we had and was told were we shown how to use the water (?????) yes you turn the tap on and off its simple???? then another two girls one called Ella (whom is lovely to deal with) came over and this time we were told the hot water is on a timer so wasnt avaible at that time of night. You are a hotel the faciltites to have a wash should be availble at any time of the night, so this should be looked into. We payed alot of money for a room with the amazing bath and shower in it and we couldnt use it (yes i know it was maybe late on in the night 11pm but each to there own). Ella did take money off our bill for the rose petals and candles. To sum it up wonderful hotel and would recommend to anyone if the above small problems were fixed. Very romantic room number 5!!! Thanks again!

Room Tip: Go for room 5 if you can cost a little more but worth every penny!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Front Office Manager at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your lovely and honest description even though we have disappointed you:(
I know you both were for romantic stay with us, where every single detail should have been tip top.
Your comment remarked on few positive changes in our hotel, as we always want to improve and provide outstanding service and facilities.
Hope you accept my apology and will return at least one more time!

Wish you both all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked this as a wee Anniversary treat. Stayed in the Georgian Suite (room 5) as it was a special occasion and have to say, we loved it! The informal atmosphere in the hotel was just what we were looking for. Too many places in Edinburgh are snooty and over the top but this place was perfect! The staff were lovely and very welcoming and seemed genuinely pleased to have you staying with them and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room itself was beautifully decorated and the big bath and huge shower was just amazing. Breakfast was great and very relaxed and informal with a nice choice. We were able to sit for a while just chatting and enjoying coffee without having to rush away. We will definitely be staying again - hopefully sooner rather than later. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Front Office Manager at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Amanda,

So happy you've loved us:))
Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 11 Brunswick Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.