We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for just one night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Merith House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Merith House Hotel to your Saves list
Merith House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok for just one night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The merith is not a bad place to stay but it is badly let down by little things for example no wardrobe in bedroom, no mirror, nowhere to hang clothes in bathroom. I would recommend room only as breakfast is not worth the money and there are plenty of places to eat localy and watch you don't bang you're head on the glass shelf whilst trying to wash you're face





Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    29
    21
    58
See reviews for
14
57
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed in Feb 2014. Great stay. Clean basic rooms. Simple breakfast... With a smile. The lady manager was really helpful and completely Scottish. It's nice to see Scottish people rather than eastern European.....! Definitely coming back. Old building but has been modernised. If ur looking for exclusive you should go 5*. Other reviews are not like they state- u need to pay a LOT more if u want that. Safe walking area with plenty of local shops. 24 hr access and wifi worked brilliantly. Coming g back in July, I can't wait!!

Room Tip: Great room at great prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had an ensuite room on the top floor. It was warm and clean with a comfortable bed, coffee making facilities and TV. The room was small but fine for a short stay and great value for money. The two guys we spoke to on reception were both really friendly and helpful. I can't comment on breakfast as we had to leave at the crack of dawn but I would certainly stay here if we come again.

If you have time, the hotel's location is perfect to discover the Water of Leith walkway. It's a really lovely path by the river which takes you into the centre (albeit on a bit of a roundabout route).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We Booked a room priced at £60 per night, for this we had room only with a shared bathroom. I didn't think that the price was bad until we arrived and were shown to our room. Basic was an understatement!
The bedding had holes in, the mattress had springs practically sticking through it and there was a distinct lack of plug sockets, 2 in total, one for a bedside lamp and one in the form of an extension cable (found usually on building sites) with a limescale covered kettle attached. There was no hairdryer provided in the room and only 1 medium size towel was provided making hairwashing and drying quite a difficult task. The towels were frayed around the edges, but were surprisingly soft.
The shared bathrooms weren't dissimilar to those found in museums showcasing the best of the 70's household designs. Cracked sinks, hair covered bath mats and broken toilet roll holders were just a few bad assets. Unfortunately, for the money, this 'hotel' is over priced.
Would I stop there again? NO.
Would I recommend it to others? NO.

Sadly this hotel does not do such a beautiful city justice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed for several nights with my boyfriend. Expected it to be basic because it was so cheep which was fine as we were on a budget holiday. Terrible bed and pillow though. Acceptable breakfast. And everything needed a deep clean and makeover. Very cheep and easily get to from the centre. Fine for a place to rest your cap at night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We chose this hotel as a compromise between location and value. This one came up on top so we went for it. It is in a pleasant location alongside a large park. Bus stop right outside but city centre and Ocean Terminal within walking distance. The room was very small, but the high ceiling helped. There was nowhere to unpack our stuff, but we had packed light so not a problem. The room was clean, fresh and warm, but was in need of a lick of paint and maybe a picture on the wall to break up the blank decor. The walls are thin and squeaky floorboards got us up earlier than we had hoped. There were tea and coffee making facilities, but nowhere safer than the floor to use it. Breakfast was basic but did the job, they do offer a cooked one at a price. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Would of got an Average, but gota mark down for the teaspoon covered in chocolate left in our room and the ridiculosly thin single pilllow each.

Room Tip: not number 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights when we went to Edinburgh to see the Mary Queen of Scots expedition. The price was exceptionally cheap, so we were prepared for adequacy rather than luxury, however we were pleasantly surprised. We were booked into a large room, the beds were very comfortable and clean, clean towels were laid out each morning and tea and coffee restocked. I was especially surprised to see negative reviews on tripadvisor relating to the staff - our experience was that the staff couldnt do more for us. They were exceptionally polite and friendly, very eager to help if we wanted to know anything, and when we needed our taxi booked to the airport at 5am in the morning, the staff were happy to take it our of our hands and deal with the booking themselves so that we didnt need to worry about it! I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone whos heading to Edinburgh for a break. It doesn't pretend to be anything that its not, If you want 5 star luxury then you should probably pay more that the £53 for two people for two nights that we paid. If you need somewhere to stay that's cheap, friendly, accommodating, clean and central then go here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merith House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: 2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merith House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.