We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - very bad service, flooded bathroom, disturbed sleep.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£100 (GBP)
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing - very bad service, flooded bathroom, disturbed sleep.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I stayed in The Rutland with my boyfriend for a weekend before Christmas. It looked like a luxury hotel from the description and photos on the hotel website, and the prices suggested the same. We thought, from the website, it looked similar to The Twelve Hotel or The G Hotel in Galway (both great hotels). It wasn't!
We stayed in an executive room, with a kingsize bed and jacuzzi bath. I was highly disappointed by many aspects of my stay and will not be returning.

The negatives -
The staff (except one Australian girl) were rude, unfriendly and inefficient. We arrived after a long journey and travel delays. We looked clearly exhausted but barely got a smile, let alone a "welcome" at check in.
At breakfast, I asked for some butter to go with my dry toast and the waiter looked as though I'd asked him to do something depraved. The butter arrived a good 5 minutes later (they weren't busy) and I realised that there were no condiments so asked (very nicely) for salt. He replied "You JUST asked me for butter!". Charming!

The bedroom was very, very small and quite claustrophobic. The tiny window didn't shut properly and the blind didn't reach down to the windowsill so I had to put a towel across the bottom of it to keep out the draught and the street-light.

The shower leaked and flooded the floor and the bathroom door-handle fell off (on the inside). My partner would have been locked in if I hadn't been there.
We reported the problems to reception and were told "Oh, we knew about that leak but couldn't fix it while you were here"!

We wanted a lie-in on the first morning and so put on the Do Not Disturb light, however we were woken by continued kocking on the door, shouts of "housekeeping" and finally someone bursting into the room.
When reporting the leak and broken door handle that same day I mentioned the disturbance and got no apology. Someone DID come to fix the handle but no-one bothered to clean the room or change the towels (half of which had been used to mop up the flooded floor).

The positives -
Fairly central location.
Comfy bed.
The jacuzzi was nice after being out in the freezing, snowy weather.

Overall, the hotel was overpriced, the service was appalling, the attention to detail was non-existent, and I did not have a pleasant stay. Next time I think I'll stay in one of the Apex hotels. The Rutland management really need to get their acts together.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    134
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
378
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Albans England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

Located at the end of Princes Street near to the castle and with lots of restaurants nearby. The bus from the airport no.100 leaves from right outside the terminal every 10 minutes and costs £6 return dropping you within 50 yards of the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and cleaned to a high standard. Ipod docking and huge flat screen TV with Freeview, ironing board, hair straighteners and hairdryer, tea, coffee and fresh milk daily in minibar. There is a restaurant which we didnt try but a very nice bar on the ground floor.
Breakfast not included but available Continental room service (£2 for croisant) or full Scottish in restaurant. Was cheaper through Trip advisor link than direct but hotel price matched.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

This was absolutely awesome!!!! Elegant and spacious guest rooms with state of the art technology in rooms and bathrooms. Stunning Decor throughout the hotel. Select this one for a central position in Edinburgh with easy walking access to EVERYWHERE of note!!! Excellent restaurant and delicious food!! Service was brilliant.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Believe the hype - this is a great hotel, in a fantastic location. It looks good, has nice touches, really good fixtures and fittings, spacious room and hearty breakfasts. All in all a great find and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the lake district
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We booked last minute and got an executive room which was £225 for one night not including breakfast. The location is great and bar lively, staff v friendly but we did not feel the room was good value for money, it was nicely done but was not really worth that money - if breakfast was included then maybe it would be.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My wife and i recently stayed here, and it was absolutely amazing. We had room number 1, which was huge, and so was the bathroom, and very chic. Every detail was really well thought out, down to the ipod docking station, which was a really nice touch. The staff is warm and friendly, and the hotel just has a great vibe to it. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I booked a standard room here for a Saturday night in September for a special occasion. The hotel is located right on the end of Princes street above the Rutland Bar and restaurant which are attached to the hotel. The bar is the more visible part of the Rutland and the hotel entrance is tucked down the side street.

The hotel is small - I think only 12 rooms - but it is lovely and has just recently been refurbished.

Each of the rooms is different and decorated to a really high standard. They are contemporary and stylish but comfortable and not minimalist in any way.

Each room has an ipod docking station, flat screen tv, mini bar, ghd straighteners and some great snacks and nibbles. The bathrooms are also lovely. If there wasn't so much to do outside, these are exactly the kind of hotel rooms you'd fancy holing yourself up in for a weekend with your loved one.

We ate in the restaurant which was nice but not overly special and there are better places around.

Although the hotel is right on Princess Street and above a busy bar there is no noise whatsoever which is a surprise.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel for a romantic break if you like your hotels small, plush and cool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.