We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just returned from a week in Scotland and we stayed in the Rutland Hotel for one night while in Edinburgh. Our room had a view of the Edinburgh Castle and although this boutique hotel is on a busy street our room was VERY quiet. The young lady who checked us in and out was so helpful and nice (Sophia). We would definitely stay here again and hope to visit Edinburgh again soon...there is just so much to see and do!

Room Tip: as for the room with the castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello there!

Thank you very much for such a great review! We really are very lucky to in the beautiful West End of Edinburgh's city centre, with a castle view and within walking distance to a long list of attractions, bars and restaurants.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyeed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Suzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    129
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
355
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Rutland for five nights during our European honeymoon vacation and had a fabulous time!! The hotel is in a great location at the end of Princes Street and is just a quick (although steep) walk away from Edinburgh Castle. The hotel itself only has 12 rooms, which allows for personable service -- Sophia, one of the front desk girls, was always asking us how our day was. We stayed in room 8, which I loved -- it doesn't have a view of the castle, but it was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We got complimentary wi-fi, daily newspapers, and muffins upon arrival, which were DELICIOUS. We also dined at Kyloe our first night, and it was spectacular (the cow artwork is hilarious. I wanted to steal the Starry Night one). And, we ate at The Huxley several times, which was superb -- get the spicy beef tacos, the potato wedges, and the Mexican burger. Overall, our experience at The Rutland was extraordinary! I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm so pleased to hear that you and your husband had a great time with us on your honeymoon!

We are very proud of both Kyloe and The Huxley, and personally, I think I could eat the Spicy Beef Tacos every day and never get bored of them!!

We wish you both all the best in your married life! Perhaps you will come visit us again one anniversary!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The first thing to say is please don't be put off by the outside appearance of The Rutland, as once inside you'll literally find an absolute gem of a hotel at a very reasonable price. We stayed in room 6, which had a view of the castle, a spa bath, air conditioning, a plasma TV on the wall and beautiful decor and bedding. We visited Edinburgh to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and upon arrival we found a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room on ice!
All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and polite, to be honest most of Edinburgh's people were the same, the breakfast was five star standard served in The Huxley, a fantastic start to both our days. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel, an amazing place.

Room Tip: Speak to reception and tell them the kind of room you are looking for, I did this and room 6 was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Nick,

I'm so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your wedding anniversary here at The Rutland!

We love to ensure that our guests have the perfect room to suit their needs and I'm glad we got it spot on for you both!

We would love to welcome you back the next time you come to Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I had a one night stay at The Rutland before our Windsurf cruise. A boutique hotel, it is small, but our room was comfortable and a nice bar and restaurant was an added plus. The staff was extremely gracious. A stay here was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for such a wonderful review!

We genuinely enjoy making our guests' stay with us special. Our staff endeavour to fulfill high expectations in every aspect of your stay. This ranges from The Huxley bar, Kyloe our in-house gourmet steak restaurant and ofcourse our The Rutland Hotel itself!

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to see you next time!

Kind Regards,

Suzy McGhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited for the Festival, this is a great location right at the end of the park below the castle, so great views as you stroll back and easily within walking distance for everything. It is also near a hop on and off bus stop and other transport, although a cab ride from the station. The entrance is a bit tucked away but don't be put off once inside the staff are really great and very welcoming.
The modern décor inside was a surprise, as my husband had booked it and usually likes a more traditional feel - but we both loved it. The room was large and comfortable with great amenities - only odd thing, despite having a restaurant on the first floor, breakfast is taken in the bar. We couldn't get into the restaurant - so take note if you like steaks, this is apparently great but you'll need to book.

Room Tip: The tram works are a bit of a shame but we were in room 4 and they didn't disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Reseptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello!

Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We always appreciate feedback from our guests, so it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed both, your stay with us at The Rutland Hotel and Edinburgh.

You are absolutely correct in saying how convenient our transport system is here and hopefully it will be even more so once the trams are completed.

Our delicious, gourmet steak restaurant Kyloe is certainly popular with our guests, locals and visitors alike! We always reccommend our guests to let us know so that we can try and book a table for them in advance, if possible. Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy dinner with us too!

We thank you again for such positive feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Suzy McGhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Perfect pick for visiting Edinburgh. Stylish rooms and friendly staff in a building with history. Central to everything and all transport. Restaurant and pub downstairs with even friendlier staff. What else to hope for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello! Thank you for such a lovely review! We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We truly are spoiled for choice being situated directly in the West End of the city center and having our own bar, The Huxley and Kyloe our steak restaurant too, it means you don't have to venture far for a great drinking and dining experience. Our staff really do enjoy making sure that each of our guests enjoy their time spent with us so it's great to hear our efforts are working. We hope to see you again soon!

Suzy
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights during the Edinburgh Festival and felt really lucky to have chosen the Rutland from the TripAdvisor description. From the moment we checked in, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and sincerely eager to make our stay pleasant. The staff really sets the tone for the hotel; the tone they set was superb.
Now for the property itself. To say it has a central location doesn't really tell the whole story. It is only a brief walk to anywhere a person visiting the city of Edinburgh could desire to visit. All locales for the Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Castle, shopping along George Street, Old Town, New Town, Holyrood are pleasant walks from 5 to 20 minutes. Public transportation or the ubiquitous tour buses can take you farther afield if you desire. Edinburgh is a stroller's dream and the Rutland puts one right in the middle.
The building housing the hotel is a refurbished heritage-type building. There is an elevator that takes one as far as the 2nd (U.S. 3rd) floor with a short flight of stairs to the top level. Willing help is available to carry bags to the top floor if that's where your room is but there are many rooms on the floor reached by the elevator if the short flight of stairs is too much. The rooms have been designed to modern standards, with air-conditioning, a well-stocked mini-bar, coffee- and tea-making facilities, delightful modern bathrooms with luxurious Scottish Arran bath products, and city views from large, original windows (unfortunately, they have long since been painted shut, but that probably keeps the street noise out). The drapes really shut out the exterior light in case your room faces east and you desire to sleep late. The refurbishment has been really well done. The result is a clean, comfortable room that puts the guest right in Edinburgh's heart.
Every member of staff really seems to recognize that he / she is key to the hotel's wonderful atmosphere. Thank you ladies and gentlemen. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 10 one of the top floor rooms. It is large with a walk-in shower in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Mr and Mrs B!

Thank you so much for such a kind review - we loved having you stay with us!

We genuinely love working hard to ensure that our guests have the best stay we can possibly provide for them - and it really is wonderful when we get such positive feedback!

I'm so pleased that you had a great time in Edinburgh - I hope the rest of your trip was spectacular and that you had a safe journey home!

If you ever come back to Edinburgh, we will have a room ready for you!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 1 stylish two-bedroom apartment with a private garden. By early summer 2014, we will have added another 2 two-bedroom and 2 one-bedroom apartments to the hotel’s accommodation – all designed to the highest luxurious standards. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill – a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.