We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, prime location. The Rutland will be a repeat for us.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great staff, prime location. The Rutland will be a repeat for us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights during the Edinburgh Festival and felt really lucky to have chosen the Rutland from the TripAdvisor description. From the moment we checked in, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and sincerely eager to make our stay pleasant. The staff really sets the tone for the hotel; the tone they set was superb.
Now for the property itself. To say it has a central location doesn't really tell the whole story. It is only a brief walk to anywhere a person visiting the city of Edinburgh could desire to visit. All locales for the Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Castle, shopping along George Street, Old Town, New Town, Holyrood are pleasant walks from 5 to 20 minutes. Public transportation or the ubiquitous tour buses can take you farther afield if you desire. Edinburgh is a stroller's dream and the Rutland puts one right in the middle.
The building housing the hotel is a refurbished heritage-type building. There is an elevator that takes one as far as the 2nd (U.S. 3rd) floor with a short flight of stairs to the top level. Willing help is available to carry bags to the top floor if that's where your room is but there are many rooms on the floor reached by the elevator if the short flight of stairs is too much. The rooms have been designed to modern standards, with air-conditioning, a well-stocked mini-bar, coffee- and tea-making facilities, delightful modern bathrooms with luxurious Scottish Arran bath products, and city views from large, original windows (unfortunately, they have long since been painted shut, but that probably keeps the street noise out). The drapes really shut out the exterior light in case your room faces east and you desire to sleep late. The refurbishment has been really well done. The result is a clean, comfortable room that puts the guest right in Edinburgh's heart.
Every member of staff really seems to recognize that he / she is key to the hotel's wonderful atmosphere. Thank you ladies and gentlemen. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 10 one of the top floor rooms. It is large with a walk-in shower in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Mr and Mrs B!

Thank you so much for such a kind review - we loved having you stay with us!

We genuinely love working hard to ensure that our guests have the best stay we can possibly provide for them - and it really is wonderful when we get such positive feedback!

I'm so pleased that you had a great time in Edinburgh - I hope the rest of your trip was spectacular and that you had a safe journey home!

If you ever come back to Edinburgh, we will have a room ready for you!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    130
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
357
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

4 of us booked into the apartment for the weekend, which was absolutely perfect! So much nicer when theres a group, lovely interior, and absolutely everything you need, (coffee,tea, fresh milk, loads in the mini bar, fully fitted kitchen if you wanted to stay in for lunch or dinner, all your showering toiletries, straightners, hair dryers, gowns) it was like being at home. Girls got ready while the boys sat and had a drink in the living room. Just wish we stayed a little bit longer.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Lillian!

Thank you for such a lovely review!

I'm glad you all had such a lovely time in the apartment - we try hard to make it as homely as possible - we think a fridge full of goodies, good quality shower gel, fluffy robes and a pair of GHD's help!

Hopefully you will get a chance to return in the future!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A rather belated review but only due to my lack of organisation. We stayed at the serviced apartment just a couple of doors down from the main hotel; we opted for the apartment rather than rooms in the hotel as we were five family members who had gone up to Edinburgh for my son's graduation and as we were there thought it would be nicer for all of us to have a communal sitting area, kitchen area etc. It's a lovely 2 bedroom apartment with a sofa bed in the sitting area, extremely well fitted kitchen if you wanted to self-cater, and complementary muffins, tea, coffee, fresh milk etc., plus a well stocked mini bar and crisps etc (at reasonable cost). The rooms are all of good size and bathroom very nicely fitted out. We didnt use the restaurant (but would another time) simply because my son had made reservations at a couple of his favourites, but we used the bar in the hotel which was very nice indeed, as were all the staff we encountered. I couldn't recommend it more highly; far nicer than being in individual hotel rooms somewhere else and at £215 per night, much cheaper to boot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and indeed your son's graduation! The apartment is great for families visiting the city to all relax together!

We would love to welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Rutland on the 9th August beautiful room in fact probably one of the nicest I've stayed in and I've stayed in some lovely locations staff lovely one wee grip for the price it maybe could have included breakfast as it is offered to you anyway for £10 pounds would defo go back and recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Catherine,

Thank you for your review - It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

If we automatically included breakfast we would need to up the room rate a little bit to compensate. Instead we allow guests to include a full Scottish breakfast for £10 per person, or if only a lighter bite is fancied from our breakfast menu, then they can just pay for what they had.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again one day!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great central location in Edinburgh; next to the castle, park and Princes Street and yet despite the central location it was nice and quiet inside. I received a very warm welcome from friendly reception staff who thought of everything to make the stay comfortable.
I stayed on the top floor which I prefer, however if you have any difficulties with stairs you should request a room with access by the lift (which does not go up to the top floor).
My room was absolutely lovely. It was comfortable and clean; very nicely and uniquely decorated with a nice bathroom with a huge shower. Fresh milk was provided in the fridge and a lovely little cake was set out on the table.
I ate with friends in the restaurant which does great steaks and gives guests 20% discount off the bill.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel prior to booking; they are very helpful and will take into account your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your lovely review - I'm glad to hear you had a great time with us!

All our rooms are a little different and we love ensuring that our guests get the room that suits them best!

We are situated inside a beautiful historic listed building; this does mean that we cannot run the lift up to the top floor and therefore there is a short flight of stairs up to some of the rooms. We always ensure that guests are aware of this and have at least one of each style of room on the lower level so that any guest who might have difficulty with the stairs can still enjoy all that we have to offer!

I hope that you had a safe trip home and we would love to welcome you back next time you visit Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrabool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Rutland Hotel. The room was very large and light filled. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Each day when we arrived back they asked how our day had been. There are umbrellas to borrow, and best of all, a taxi rank right at the front door. The location is central.and convenient. The only slight criticism is that in the room we were staying in, the accessibility room, the basin was extremely small, which prevented us doing any washing of clothes. However, apparently, this is the only room with a basin of this size (room 1). This is very important when travelling with limited clothing for a few weeks. I would highly recommend this hotel. I did not find putting the internet code into the computer a problem at all.

Room Tip: Some rooms have castle views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello Linda,

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh!

We are lucky to have the taxi rank right outside as it makes getting around so easy for our guests - and we are in great walking distance of many of the main attractions too. We do need to keep a stock of umbrellas as the weather in Scotland can be so unpredictable.

I'm sorry to hear that you had a challenge getting some laundry done - we are always keen to solve any issue and we would certainly have organised a same day laundry service for you!

I hope that you had a safe trip home and we would love to welcome you back again one day.

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find hidden in the middle of Edinburgh's city centre.

From the street you might not know it was there. Tucked under the shadow of the Caledonian is this delightful little secret with wonderful castle views.

As other reviews mention, the staff really make this place something special. From the moment the lovely Abbi checked us in until the moment she checked us out, nothing was too much trouble for her and we always felt welcome. We received exactly the same treatment in their steak restaurant and over breakfast in the attached bar.

The hotel is a wonderful eclectic mix of personable staff, amazing steak, a casual bar and decadent decor all tucked away in the very centre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for such a lovely review!

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 1 stylish two-bedroom apartment with a private garden. By early summer 2014, we will have added another 2 two-bedroom and 2 one-bedroom apartments to the hotel’s accommodation – all designed to the highest luxurious standards. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill – a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.