We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW! Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at The Rutland (a competition win with my work - how lucky was I?!?). From stepping foot through the door to Reception to checking out on the Sunday morning, nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. Lovely Isobel on Reception, to the staff at the Kyloe Restaurant (amazing food) and a lovely breakfast in the Huxley Bar the following morning, everything was just perfect. Whilst dining in the Kyloe Restaurant however, we did experience a power cut (due to the tram works outside) so we didn't manage to have our sweet (probably a good thing given the amount of food we had already consumed!) but this was dealt with very efficiently with the bill discounted as a token gesture and by no means could the Hotel/Restaurant be faulted for this. A truly wonderful hotel in a wonderful location, just perfect for shopping and the many wonderful bars of Edinburgh. Hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    108
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
301
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Rutland in the last week of February and, as a hotel, we cannot fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble (including printing our boarding passes for us, looking after our bags after check-out etc etc.). We received a complimentary upgrade on our room (room 5), which was comfortable, stylish and with all the amenities required (if I was going to be very picky, the only thing it lacked was somewhere to put the tea and coffee making tray). The location was brilliant - central, but not too noisy. With the tram work going on, we did have workmen outside the building from 8am every morning, but this did not pose us a problem. I would thoroughly recommend the Rutland Hotel, and hope we have the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this hotel as a birthday treat and also to watch Wales v Scotland at Murrayfield. Turned up a bit early and this wasn't a problem as our room was ready. Extremely helpful and charming receptionist. Our room (11) was on the top floor with views of the castle. It was large and comfortable with a huge bed. We could walk to the stadium although with all the barriers up due to the work on the tram lines we ended up walking more than normal. Great atmosphere in Edinburgh with no trouble between the fans, In fact quite the opposite even later in the evening with the bar at the hotel being a favourite spot post the match. It was a freezing weekend and when we got back we felt the room was cold especially the bathroom. We asked for some extra heating and this was brought up to our room immediately. My only other complaint was that there wasn't a bedside light on my side which is very strange. Again I asked for one and it was supplied. We had dinner at the hotel which was very good and breakfast was in the bar and that was also excellent. A good stay overall especially as Wales won!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights, a group of nine ladies. We hired both the apartment and rooms in the hotel, of all which were of a very high standard. The service we received upon arrival until departure was excellent and nothing asked for was any trouble. Great location, within walking distance of all the main streets in Edinburgh. When returning to Edinburgh, will be staying at the Rutland again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We two friends, in our 70s, had an excellent three night stay. Chosen through TripAdvisor, we found everything as reported by others; perfect location, very friendly, helpful and cheerful staff throughout; fine, well fitted bedrooms, good to grand food at the attached Kyloe restaurant. Though right at the end of Princes Street and right by the work going on to lay the new tram tracks, our rooms were remarkably quiet, warm and hassle-free with good wifi coverage. We found it easy to walk to the Castle and the new National Museum and to get buses to Leith harbour to visit the R Y Britannia. A nice touch: I left a library book behind, was promptly emailed and the book posted on - with a slip put in to mark the place where I'd left it open! We would certainly recommend - not the cheapest - but we thought good solid value, a nice experience to remember.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Rutland is in a central location, 10 minutes from the railway station and our party of 9 stayed for one night on business. We can highly recommend the Rutland - the service is excellent, from the friendly, efficient receptionist to the bar staff and waiters, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great, a good menu, lovely food, with something for everyone. The bar is very lively but we didn't find it too noisy. The bedrooms are modern, with very comfortable beds. We will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Rutland Hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff couldn't be more helpful, doing everything possible to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Would definitely recommend if looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 1 stylish two-bedroom apartment with a private garden. By early summer 2014, we will have added another 2 two-bedroom and 2 one-bedroom apartments to the hotel’s accommodation – all designed to the highest luxurious standards. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill – a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.