We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Rutland and it was perfect.

From the second you walked in the staff were friendly, always happy to help and nothing was too much effort.

We stayed in the Castle View room and it had a superb view of the Castle, room was modern, well designed and the bed superbly comfortable.

Breakfast was spot on as was the location at the top of Princes St with everything in walking distance. They only have 12 rooms which enabled a personal service.

We had to check out at 7 am and the night porter brought us toast at 6 30 which was 30 mns before they start serving breakfast!

The bar is really good as is the restaurant, will we return? 100% we will

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    128
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
351
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

4 of us stayed in the basement apartment and just 1 night was not long enough to fully appreciate it all. There were 2 double bedrooms, with plenty of storage space, a hairdryer and ghds. There was also a sofa bed so could quite comfortably house 5 adults. The kitchen was well equiped, with complimentary milk, muffins and a nespresso machine and as much coffee as you could drink! All possible mod-cons you could need for a 2 week stay were provided including dishwasher & washing machine. There was a lovely little courtyard at the back which would be lovely to sit out (weather permitting). There was ample space to relax & the decor was lovely & finished to a high standard. My only criticism is that it is down some steep spiral stone steps so is out of bounds for anyone in a wheelchair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Rutland Hotel is set in a fantastic location less than a minutes walk from Princes Street and only a few minutes from many of Edinburghs lovely attraction and eateries.
We, as a family, booked three rooms and found them all to be clean but very cold on arrival.
In one room the TV was temperamental at best and the shower seal above the bath was broken which meant that the bathroom floor got soaked each time you had a shower. The other rooms were fine in this regard.
The lack of a residents bar was disappointing as it meant a family with kids under 18 are effectively confined to their rooms whilst in their hotel. Having swapped a few e mails prior to booking I did feel this could have been pointed out in the course of our correspondence rather than when we were headed for the public bar attached to the hotel.
Room service was prompt and mini bar well stocked. The in room snacks plentiful although fairly expensive for what they were.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall the experience was a bit disappointing and the treat of a boutique hotel failed to live up to expectations.

Room Tip: There is no residents bar, but direct access to a public bar,which means that children under 18 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here one weekend at the start of November. The location is superb, we had a beautiful room, the staff were very friendly and the room service was exceptional. The free muffins were a lovely touch. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Yummy_ch0c0late,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Rutland Hotel.

We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, and found all the staff very friendly.

I will pass on the message to the kitchen about the exceptional room service, they will be pleased to hear that.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Hannah McKnight
Hotel Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Rutland for a wedding for a couple of nights in September so didn't really have the chance to relish the room as much as we might have! The location of the hotel is great, everything within walking distance and despite being above a bar (very nice it was too), you could not hear this or the street below.
Our room was spacious and very opulent, I loved the muffins when we arrived and the staff at the front desk were really friendly, great with directions and tips.
Had we stayed a bit longer, I might have given it 5, but I just don't know if we made the most of it for the price, our own fault I guess!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful visit to Edinburgh in mid-November and loved our 3 nights at the Rutland Hotel. The room was fabulous and the staff were all completely friendly and professional. We felt like we were visiting with good friends or family - but in a fantastic hotel in a fantastic city. Thanks for making our visit to Scotland perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the red brocade front room overlooking Princes Street and the tram construction. But we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Amy 29494,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel.

We are all very pleased we helped make your visit to Scotland prefect and hopefully you will be back to visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,

Hannah McKnight
Hotel Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We viewed The Rutland Hotel after being very disappointed in the hotel we were staying in. We were shown round the rooms by a member of staff who could not have been more attentive. The rooms were really beautiful and individually decorated. There was also the big plus point of having a jacuzzi bath in the room we chose.

We decided to check in and arrived the following day. All the members of staff were so friendly and had left us some complimentary gifts in our room (we were on honeymoon). It was in direct contrast to our previous experience. We visited in the hotel's restaurant that night and, again, the staff knew who we were and congratulated us on our wedding. The food also was excellent.

Overall, I could not recommend the hotel highly enough. I was everything we were looking for: it had character, warmth and a huge king sized bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Polly, or rather, the new Mrs C!

I wanted to write and thank you both very much for taking the time to review The Rutland Hotel.

I'm delighted that you had such a nice time with us, and am only sorry we couldn't improve the weather any for the time you were here!

I'm very pleased that you found our staff to friendly and attentive - all our staff work very hard to put our guests first and foremost, and it's great to know that they have achieved this during your stay. I will make sure they all read your review too, so they can have your praise first hand!

Congratulations again, and hopefully we'll see you again, maybe this time next year.....

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 1 stylish two-bedroom apartment with a private garden. By early summer 2014, we will have added another 2 two-bedroom and 2 one-bedroom apartments to the hotel’s accommodation – all designed to the highest luxurious standards. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill – a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.