We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£100 (GBP)
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just one night in Edinburgh. Read good things about the hotel and certainly lived up to its reputation. Room 7 (Executive room) is good size and bed is comfortable but with a rather small window (hence not much natural lights) but bathroom is nice and airy. Staff are friendly and helpful - muffins is a great touch. Excellent location but with all the work for the trams etc, Edinburgh seems to have lost its charm......(not the hotel's fault obviously!).

Rutland bar next door has an amazing view if you're quick enough to grab the little corner overlooking the castle. Kyloe restaurant upstairs serves really lovely steaks. All in all, a perfect set up for a one night stop-over in Edinburgh. Everything is literally on your door step.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    134
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
378
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in Room 1 at this hotel from Sunday through to Wednesday morning.

Very very large room. Great extras such as GHD's, IPOD dock station and massive plasma/lcd screen with surround sound.

Tea and coffee making were hid away in large wardrobe/cupboard. Ironing board and mini bar.

Bathroom .... I mean wet/shower room. I wasnt keen on this (I know the room caters for disabled travellers). Shower water ran all through the space which meant drying up if you wanted to use the toilet or sink. Also the sink in this room is tiny and set low on the wall. I had to put water in mug to pour into kettle.

Monday AM had breakfast brought to the room as staff staying here had an early start for conference - pot of tea was no problem. When we asked for same Monday night for Tuesday am were told this was not possible - make your own in your room - just surprised. Apart from this person - the rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Although I was asked to pay 2.00 on check out when I had only used some milk from the fridge.

Room Tip: Room 1 - lots of space (but conscious of noise from the door from the lift hall)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. It was my 60th Birthday and a chilled bottle of bubbly was waiting for us in the room. The rooms are gorgeous, so relaxing, ample tea and coffee (the staff actually went out and bought me a jar of decaff) Nice central location. Restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for a night during our honeymoon and wow. This place is fantastic. Free champagne and muffins. They brought us fantastic drinks and food as well. The bath is also wonderful with jets. We had a great view of the castle and were just so happy. The bed was the most comfortable and the sheets and pillows were so soft! We really didn't want to leave. The staff was also great. For the price we played though, I think breakfast should have been included.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in the Rutland to get married in Edinburgh in August 2012. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help, and even left a card and complementary prosecco when they found out about the special occasion. Room 6, a purple suite, was huge, had a great view, comfortable bed, beautifully decorated, and was spotlessly clean- what more could you want?! It was expensive, but for us it was money well spent for a special occasion

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great 3 days stay - close to the majestic castle and the Royal Mile - but better to get on the green hop on hop off bus in Charlotte Sq close by. There is also a taxinrank right outside the door. Very easy and comfortable stay at The Rutland with its it's restaurant and bar. Spacious room with a glimpse of the castle - great welcome after a long flight from Oz - and amazingly quiet. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Hi Folks,

Just a wee note to thank you for reviewing us.

I'm pleased you had such a nice time, and hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon!

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the Rutland for our wedding night and the first couple of days of our honeymoon and were not disappointed.

Impeccable and spacious rooms, very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast (We received breakfast in bed one day which was also first class)

Would definitely recommend and is worthy of its high trip advisor standing.

Room Tip: we stayed in a corner suite over looking the castle. Excellent view of the festival fireworks from h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Hello folks,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - I'm very pleased that we could help make your stya special, and wish you all the best in your new life together!

Kindest regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.