We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Regent House Hotel to your Saves list
Regent House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very clean throughout hotel staff very polite and helpfull even booked our taxi vast range of breakfast more than adaquate room as i was a family of 2 adults and 3 kids was warm and well located and no noise from streets all in all was very happy with my stay.jacqueline nelson.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    36
    28
    30
See reviews for
26
37
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algarvia, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for three nights. The hotel is clean and is quiet but If you have a question to do there is nobody in reception to help you, We wanted to ask a few question about our trip to the highlands and my surprise was when I realised that the same girls (really nice and kind) who serve breakfast have to clean the rooms being receptionist at the same time!!!Runing up and down all the morning...Manager no show at all, we only saw him once, to pay on arrival. He needs to improve his way to run the hotel and take care about the customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Conveniently located for tourism and shopping. Small room and bathroom, but that's pretty normal for that part of the world. No elevator, of course, and the stairs are really steep. Ok breakfast. Nice staff, but they're hard to find sometimes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The room is cosy with clean sheets. The only problem we had was the confusing staircase leading to our 4th floor which was also quite narrow for big luggagges. The Manager and his staff are very friendly. Breakfast is good and the location of the hotel is ideal as its just walking distance to the town center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I would give the place three stars, because it's not the cleanest place, but considering the location and price, it's acceptable. The problem is the level of disrepair. The lights are out in the stair well to the flat, and in the interior hallway of the flat. To make things worse, the carpet on the stairs has holes to catch shoes, and some of the steps are broken. Two (sober) people independently tripped in the stairs. One injuring her foot and requiring a visit to the hospital. The owner said it wasn't his fault, because it was somebody elses job to replace the light bulbs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stopped here for 2 nights on the top floor with a front view window which was good, and it opened so that was an immediate bonus! They had a working TV which is nice when you don't feel like walking aound in the sun all day. Bear in mind im only 22 and have been well travelled the service at the check in was poor, I got looked at for a second as if to say Im not sure if i should give you a room. but then proceeded... Ive learnt that there is free wifi? Wasn't told about it so obviously missed out.

The kettle and tea facilities in the room were ok... however it looked like i had been left someone elses shaving cream on the tea tray?! WHAT?! unhygenic for a start! The light above the sink was broken so you had to stick your finger all the way in to turn it on (a bit dangerous) the toliet and shower were outside which I already knew. This was overly small but did it's job afterall it's a toliet! I used the shower once, too small and not very nice to be in wouldn't reccomend it. Although it was clean!

The handyman was laying on the stairs painting and there were no wet paint signs...?!
Also the fire extinguisher was missing from outside out room... promising if there was a fire.

SO THE NOT SO GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP! There was a boiler outside our room in a cupboard that just HUMMED and GROANED all night long, sometimes it sounded like an aeroplane taking off! NOT GOOD AT ALL...

Breakfast was a bit crap. 1 Egg and 2 slices of toast with no option for more. No beans or anything and a selection of cheese and ham... The service was a poor and we were greeted by a pointless host behind a counter? She didn't do anything!
There was also a very kind lad offering tea and cofee and egg but he could use a few more people skills I think it's a ok stay if you have nowhere else to stop.

Good for younger generations like myself. Nothing more.

Room Tip: Any room but the one next to the toliet, or on the top floor on the right! Just don't do it! Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotels are generally expensive in Edinburgh. Regent House was one of the cheap places we found so went with it. Some awful reviews had us worried but unnecessarily. We arrived to find we'd been given a family room just for the two of us complete with piano. The staff were pleasant enough. There are a few little details the hotel could improve on to make the experience better like complimentary toiletries and a better hairdryer but overall it was good for the money and the location is great. Breakfast was adequate - cereals, toast and an assortment of other continental items plus eggs if desired. Given it was marathon it could have offered better options for the runners (porridge wouldn't be hard) but no real complaints.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.